We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small but Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Tua

Casa Tua
Ranked #564 of 888 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "This is a lovely, quiet restaurant with excellent Italian and European food. I'd love to get it onto Trip Advisor! It is reviewed on Degustapanama.com".
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Small but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is definitely not a fancy place - very small and the owner visits each table, which is a nice touch. Food and wine menu are limited but we all found a plate that we were happy with. Service was above average for Panama, which is a plus. Eggplant parmesan was excellent! We will be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BHarris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had a wonderful parmigianna eggplant as an appetizer and great tiramisu as dessert, but my seafood risotto was so-so...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinorahpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The two best things are the service and the atmosphere. Don't expect anything fancy in terms of the decor of the place. What appeals most is that it is kept simple and it gives you the feeling of sitting in someone's home. The place is small and cozy.

The owner is fantastic and knows how to make guests feel welcome. The food is good italian fare at a very reasonable price. It has the best coffee in town. Finally a barista that doesn't burn the beans and knows how to foam milk.

This is the place to go to if you have a hankering for a home cooked meal in a homely atmosphere with decent service. A nice break from all the pretentious places that never manage to deliver the same experience more than once.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really good Italian food, the only problem is the space, little bit small. The owner is there,attending the clients which you don't see very often in Panama. Very friendly staffs and overall, we love the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Igorotak06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Panama City, Panama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our first trip to PC so I did my research on restaurants on Trip Advisor before departing. I liked the reviews for Casa Tua, especially since we arrived on Friday, the only night they prepare Osso Buco.

The owner seated us and made recommendations in perfect English. We started with a bottle of Orvieto which was good and not too expensive at $32. We shared appetizers of Cabrese Salad and Pulpa (octopus) Salad, both specials that evening. For our entre course my wife had the Corvina (a white fish like sea bass), and I of course had the Osso Buco served with a mushroom risotto. Both meals were well prepared and delicious. I'm a hearty eater, and I could not finish my meal. For dolce we shared a delectable passion fruit mousse.

We observed other dinner guests enjoying pasta meals. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Many patrons seemed to be regulars well known to the owner and staff.

Our total dinner tab with tax and tip came to $128. We thought the meals were fairly priced.

The restaurant is located in the San Francisco district, about a ten minute taxi ride from the commercial and casino district bordering on Via Espana. I highly recommend Casa Tua Gastromique Italiano.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Tua also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Casa Tua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing