We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to revive an exhausted part of Panama City”
Review of Central Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Park Hotel
Ranked #87 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the dark, hired a cab to this hotel. The cab driver was not familiar with it so make sure you have the area (el dorado), and the address handy! Expect a $25-30 cab ride from Tocuman! Prior to our arrival we emailed the hotel about transportation and they offered a driver for $32, i would suggest this for ease of arrival! Our first impression was that the area was a bit scummy, which on second look wasn't far off! We were out during the daylight and night hours and felt safe at all times despite the appearance! We booked through hotels.com weeks in advance but on arrival they did not have our reservation but gave us a room without question once we showed them our confirmation! Our room was on the 12 floor and provided some really nice views of the city and swimming pool, elevators are fast and sound like slot machines! Swimming pool is in a separate building but we weren't there long enough to utilize it:( Rooms are very spacious and plain, with a small kitchenette. Only mirror in the room is in the bathroom where it's really small! Water pressure good and hot showers if wanted! Fast wifi everywhere in hotel, TV worked well, channels mostly in Spanish! Hotel was quiet, doors let some noise in but walls and windows seem sound proof! Beds are comfortable with lots of comfy pillows! Linens are clean, lacking face and hand towels. Continental breakfast was your typical north american foods, fresh fruit, toast, French toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs with a Panamanian meat dish! Coffee was strong and yummy! The hotel is in a small plaza with a bunch of failing businesses which is a shame because the plaza has huge potential. There are a couple of restaurants around the hotel that look respectable, Lenos and Carlo and TGIF, otherwise there are several Chinese restaurants to choose from and a chic pizza place! Lots of choices within a few blocks including McDonalds! For independence there is a Super 99 grocery store a block away with everything you would ever need! If your adventurous you could walk downtown via the main road, Ricardo J. Alfaro Way, in 45 minutes, pretty good eye opener of what the city is like! Otherwise there are local buses, red devil's, that run up and down this main road all day, price unknown! Other local attractions in the area is the El Dorado Mall....mostly a local shopping center, very interesting and fun, and 5 minutes by cab is the Albrook Mall (North American shops) and Albrook Airport, domestic flights with Air Panama! All in all, this hotel has easy access to downtown, Marina's and airports! All in all, this is not a bad hotel as a short stay place to get your bearings, downtown can get very busy and this spot is a good alternative to that hustle and bustle!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LockK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkPTY, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Mr Lock: Thank you for your comments, their are very important for us and for our future guest. During your next trip to Panama City we invited you to stay again in this your Central Park Hotel Casino & Spa - "The Perfect Harmony between Business, Nature and Pleasure".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently made a reservation through AA.com Car/Hotel. The hotel was offered as a 4 stars hotel. Nothing far from the truth. The facilities are very bad kept, the room was awful, the bathroom dirty. On top of hat is is far away from the business center, and the area does not look safe at all. Even when I left the hotel immediately they still charged me for one night stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkPTY, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear mr. Jose, we appreciate your opportunity for improvement and in fact we have started a procedure in order to make the correctives necessary for this situation. We apologize for any uncomfortable situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

very nice hotel, good service.
Has everything you need for about $100,-/night/room (2 double beds)
Swimming pool, breakfast, roomservice, airco,

Allrooms are luxurious, have balconies with view over the city, good restaurants are near, hot showers, kitchens, everything is there

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvanthof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkPTY, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thanks for your comments, are very important for us and for our future guest. During your next trip to Panama City don´t hesitate too stay again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I returned recently from a 7-day stay at the Central Park Hotel. The staff were wonderfully helpful, the amenities were superb, the room was well set out, clean and a very good size with a nice balcony overlooking the tree tops in the national park. The breakfast was great, and the rooftop pool was beautiful. The location of the hotel is very central; it was easy to get to everything and everyone we wanted to visit. All in all, a great value for what we paid. I'd stay there again anytime!

Room Tip: We loved the room with the balcony that a view of the treetops in the national parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkPTY, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank´s for your opinion. During your future trips to Panama City, don't hesitate to stay in this your Central Park Hotel Casino & Spa Panama. Also invite your friends to live the "Perfect Harmony Between Business, Pleasure and Nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, very friendly personnel. We enjoy the hospitality of the Panama people. Thanks to PANAIDIS. Although all days rained, we were able to go to malls, and excellent restaurants. The trip to the Parque Nacional Metropolitano was incredible.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkPTY, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank's for your opinion, are very important for us. During your next trip to Panama City, don't hesitate to stay in this your Central Park Hotel Casino & Spa Panama, we will be very glad to have you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We decided to get away for the weekend. After doing research, this was our choice. The fact there is a TGI Fridays next store made me happy. Our room was on one of the higher floors, so there was no sound from the traffic outside. There is a Spa & Casino which I highly recommend. The rooms & hotel was very clean. Front desk was helpful and friendly. There is also Valet parking. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dpt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkPTY, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thanks for your comments, are very important for us and our future guest. We are very happy that you like our hotel and the service. Our goal is to make our customers feel at home. Also we want to invited you to stay with us again in your next trip to Panama. You can contact us for your next bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.5 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 115 in Panama City
118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 115 in Panama City
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Panama City, Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#62 of 115 in Panama City
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel
2.6 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#73 of 115 in Panama City
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Hotel

Address: Calle Miguel Brostella | El Dorado, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Panama City
#11 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#21 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $48 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Park Hotel Casino & Spa features first-class services and modern facilities, spacious and comfortable rooms, with options of Superior, Deluxe and Junior Suite full equipt with kitchenette (microwave, coffe maker and mini fridge, dining table, working desk, safe box, balconies with Panama City Views and Metropolitan Park Views. Other Facilities: outdoor pool, lobby bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, casino, Spa, front desk and security 24 hours.Central Park Hotel Casino & Spa Central Park Hotel give you the best option for executives and travellers who want to be in Symphony between business, nature, and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing