We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great half day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xplora Panama Day Tours

Xplora Panama Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.40*
and up
Hidden Waterfall Hike From Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer small group tours with a focus on culture, nature, and adventure. All our tours are guided by local Panamanian guides with 10+ years of professional experience leading safe and informative tours in Panama. In them you will find a great sense of responsibility, safety awareness, and a keen interest to offer every single one of their guests a top quality personalized experience.
seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a great half day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The four of us middle agers were picked up at 5:30 am to enhance our chances of seeing wildlife. An angry white faced monkey leaped around and scolded us like crazy - he did not like us in his territory. Later some howler monkeys lived up to their names. A good selection of birds. Luis explained the eco system and told about each animal and insect we encountered (the leaf ants are very interesting), Just cruising around on Lake Gatun was very enjoyable. Do start early in the morning as by mid morning it starts getting hot and muggy.

thank you Luis for a great morning. We want to return next trip and do a nine day tour around the country.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kerwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis C, Tour guide at Xplora Panama Day Tours, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you very much, it was a great morning... monkeys during the boat ride and monkeys in the rainforest trail. It will be excellent if you can make it back to do our 9-day adventure, I will be looking forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Wildlife Safari Boat Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were able to extend a 2 hour layover in Panama into a 2 day stay there, so we wanted to squeeze in as much as possible since it was our first time there. I did my research and found this 1/2 day Eco-Tour to be our best bet. The process for booking it went very smooth and as promised, got picked up promptly at the lobby of our hotel to start the tour. The tour was amazing! Even though we were only able to do this 1/2 day tour, it was still something I will forever cherish. Briant was so full of knowledge and had a great eye for seeing species that none of us could spot with our naked eye. Riding on this boat on the canal and coming up close to these large ships and also the wildlife, especially the white faced monkeys made for some great pics and never forgotten special memories! I really wish I could have extended my stay and done more tours with Xplora! I highly recommend to anything visiting Panama, it will definitely give you different perspective and provide such a special experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas_Alee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis C, Tour guide at Xplora Panama Day Tours, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We do our best to make sure you have a wonderful time in Panama. Needless to say, it makes us extremely happy when we read reviews like yours, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trip in Panama, lead by fantastic tour guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Panama. Most of our week was spent travelling with Briant from Xplora. What an amazing experience. He was so knowledgeable and tought us about everything from local culture and traditions to the amazing species and plants that inhabit the rain forests. His knowledge added so much to the trip. You can tell he loves what he does as he is so eager to share his beautiful country with those who visit. I would recommend this tour company to anyone considering "adventure" as part of their Panama experience. I wouldn't have changed a thing! Thank you for an amazing opportunity to see and experience so much of beautiful Panama!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Syd503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briant D, Tour Guide at Xplora Panama Day Tours, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We enjoy and appreciate receiving feedback after our tours, we love hearing your comments because we know there is always room for improvement. However, you made it sound as it if that wasn't the case this time and that is awesome. Thank you very much, it certainly feels good to know that what we are doing here is having such a positive outcome for those experiencing Panama with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Night time in the jungle and Bayano Lake/bat cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently had our family vacation in Panama and did two tours with Brian; the after dark jungle hike and the bat cave. Both of these were excellent. During the evening walk, Briant could find all sorts of things to show us which we never would have found. Being in the forest when it's dark is a totally different experience which we would only consider doing with a knowledgeable guide such as Brian.

The Bayano trip was the epitome of excellence. I was not sure if I could handle the "moderate" classification since I am not terribly athletic but it was no problem at all. The pace was perfect and Briant was there if needed. This was a once in lifetime opportunity and I am so glad we did it Old tennis shoes were the right shoes to wear. The boat ride there and back was beautiful. Bats were creepy and fascinating at the same time. Food and refreshments were just fine. There was also some opportunity for interaction with the Kuna who seem to help regulate visits to the cave. You can buy molas and change your clothes in a Kuna house. Yes, our time with Briant was a highlight of our Panamanian trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rnmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briant D, Tour Guide at Xplora Panama Day Tours, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank YOU for giving me the opportunity to do what I love for a living!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Panama City Day Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Based upon a friend's recommendation, we chartered a day tour of Panama City (plus a stop at the Panama Canal) to see various parts of the city and suburbs. We were interested in learning more about the city as a place for extended stays rather than as a tourist. For this goal, we asked our guide (Briant) to show us the pros and cons of each area so that we could get a feel for what works for us.
A Panama City native, Briant is an expert on the subject and provided us with invaluable information. Based upon the tour, we were able to narrow it down to 2 locations we'd be comfortable staying in the area.
If you speak little or no Spanish, it's great to know that Briant is bilingual. Some of our family spoke no Spanish. Briant's ability to convey key facts in English too was essential for everyone to have the information necessary to make an informed decision.
As an aside, we took almost 400 photos during the day tour. If for no other reason than that, the tour was absolutely worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briant D, Tour Guide at Xplora Panama Day Tours, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Panama City is a very interesting city, and we enjoy doing tailor made tours like the one you requested, so it was my pleasure to help you out with this. I'm very happy it worked out great for you, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xplora Panama Day Tours also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Xplora Panama Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing