We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bahia Grand Panama
Nearby Hotels
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
$135
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$109
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$230
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
$164
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$97
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,160)
Filter reviews
2,160 results
Traveler rating
1,211
571
206
90
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,211
571
206
90
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrump ocean clubtrump hotelbarcelona restauranttejas restaurantinfinity poolpunta pacificaroom serviceocean viewwine barbeautiful hotelturn down servicehotel lobbybreakfast buffetfree shuttlemultiplaza mallrooms are nicecasco viejo
Filter
Updating list...
1,289 - 1,294 of 2,160 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The hotel itself is nice enough (I wouldn't say five star), the beds are very comfortable, and the shower is fantastic. Be comfortable with your travel partner if you share a room as they are not exactly private. I would say most of the staff is very friendly & accommodating (especially all employees by the pool). For a hotel that promotes itself on assisting guests with whatever they need the daytime concierge is perhaps the worst person I've interacted with. He did nothing but BS us, never followed up on anything we asked of him (all of two simple requests), made up odd excuses like he threw out people's phone numbers, and basically told us to visit Cerro Anco repeatedly. We are a rather young couple and I felt very dismissed and rather over-looked by the concierge. Be prepared to book your own travel as he did nothing. It was a huge turn off and will be staying elsewhere, there are nicer hotels in Panama City.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Tmupitt2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCGM, General Manager at The Bahia Grand Panama, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear Tmupitt2007,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our associates. We are saddened, however, to hear that you did not have a positive interaction with one of our concierge. Please be assured we will follow up on your feedback with additional training for our associates.

Mark Stevenson
VP & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

A very modern upscale hotel and residential property that's great for business traveller and tourist..Once all aspects of hotel complex such as shopping mall and casino open , it should be terrific

Room Tip: Higher Floors have better views of City..Pool area was first rate ..We found prepaying for the breakfast and building it into the room rate when you book turned out to be a great value and very convenient
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txmfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCGM, General Manager at The Bahia Grand Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear txmfeld,

Thank you for your kind and concise review of our property! We strive to be attentive to the needs of both the business and leisure traveller. The building is the largest and tallest in Panama and while the hotel itself is completed, we are continuing to add new shops to the ground floor commercial spaces while construction continues on the casino. In the meantime, there are excellent options for shopping and gaming nearby, accessible by a complimentary daily shuttle service provided by the hotel.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I'm not a fan of big box hotels, generally speaking, but, when traveling to a new country, safety and comfort move up a few notches in comparison to the US. For the previous reviewer, I was there when you were there, it was slow, they were done at 12am, maybe 1am. Anyway, this place was so cozy, the bed, the shower (OMG, love the rain shower), the wine bar, the brunch (it's nice when you are just getting acquainted to the county). The staff aLL act A+, dress A+, and god bless them, work their butts off trying to use English, why would anyone expect another country to use THE ENGLISH language (Panama is not the US, but Trump makes them bend over backwards for us). Please don't come to Panama thinking they all know English! Back to Trump, the rooms are spacious, quiet, at least for me on the 33rd floor, a million different ways to light your room, and a balcony! Granted, there are some flaws...the construction guys whistling at the women was annoying, the construction of the buildings next door was a bit of an eyesore, the pool area seems too structured, just let us sit without staring at us while we drink (that felt uninviting), and the walk to nowhere, other than 1 grocery store (which if you want to save $ on the booze, get your wine there and walk back in 4 minutes to your room!) I stayed at Doubletree later in the week, and to be honest, the extra $50 per night at Trump was worth it (the elevators at Trump can be an ADD nightmare early on, have fun with it). Overall, stay at Trump, if you are a 5 star person, and that is the way you live, well...I can't say much, but if you are a 3 star person, go here and be happy you spent a little more cash!! ps. Careful about the Cab Scam, my last day there the "white Trump Cab" said he did not have change for a $20, for a $5 dollar ride...so, have small bills ready.

Room Tip: Walk to the Grocery store 4 minutes away, save tons of $ on booze and food!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enfp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCGM, General Manager at The Bahia Grand Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear enfp66,

Thank you for sharing your frank review and unique point of view. We strive to provide excellent service and value to all our guests. While we appreciate your positive feedback about our staff and facilities, we are saddened to hear about your experience with the current construction and the taxi service provided by the hotel. We select our vendors based on their ability to comply with Trump standards of service and it is unfortunate you were left with a poor impression. We will certainly address you concerns with our transportation providers.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I believe in 2nd chances, 3rd chances and sometimes even 4 if the right thing is done. If I even attempt to start counting on how many times Trump Ocean Club has failed us on this occasion, I’d run out of space. In short, it was highly disappointing. The property itself looks quite unique from the outside, the pools are nice to lounge in or take a picture in as it’s one of those that look like it goes over the edge, staff are well dressed but the service is quite something too.

During our weekend stay, our room was not made up (apparently they were at full capacity and couldn’t get around to everyone on time. We returned at 4.30pm), Room Service got our order wrong, we were charged for snacks from the minibar (turned out they didn’t fully stock our bar initially so we were essentially charged for their mistake), the TV requires a human manual or at least a guide to turn it on (even with that, everyone who helped had a different solution).

We provided this feedback when we were checking out to the most senior person who was able to attend to the matter at the time, the Front Desk Supervisor. We were assured that our feedback was important to them and it would be reviewed at the daily management meeting as our comments are ‘opportunities for us to improve’. In addition, we were told that they would have Mark contact us directly regarding the matter. There has been nothing but radio silence since even after Mark Stevenson responded (through a review) to ask for a contact number.

Poor execution, broken promises and a weak attempt. We haven’t heard from them since even after two further emails with our contact details. Highly unimpressed and disappointed beyond belief, was a complete waste of our money and efforts. Mark, please don't bother responding.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PPST1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCGM, General Manager at The Bahia Grand Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear PPST1,

As we discussed by phone, we truly appreciate your taking the time to write about the poor service you received during your stay. We shared your feedback with all of our department leaders as a learning tool. Subsequently, we have increased our staffing levels; reorganized our leadership team; improved our technology throughout the hotel; and implemented additional training with our staff...all with the purpose of better serving and anticipating our guests' needs.

We sincerely apologize again for the challenges which led to the delay in responding to you by phone. I hope during the conversation that we were able to convey our deep regret that we failed to deliver a quality product and service during your stay. We hope that should your travels bring you back to Panama, you will allow us another opportunity to deliver on our promise of improved service as befitting the Trump Brand.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I read the reviews on various sites and read mixed reviews about this property. In my opinion, it was an awesome 5 star experience at traditional 4 star prices. The rooms were plush and decadent with no comfort spared. There are 3 pools that are immaculate with great service. Even the restaurants were delicious. The only downside is that there is construction ongoing on both sides of the hotel that can be a bit noisy, especially at the pool. This did not detract from the whole experience. I would highly recommend trying this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souzaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews