We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bahia Grand Panama
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Paitilla Inn(Panama City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama(Panama City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Panama(Panama City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,150)
Filter reviews
2,150 results
Traveler rating
1,207
570
205
88
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,207
570
205
88
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrump ocean clubtrump hotelbarcelona restauranttejas restaurantinfinity poolpunta pacificaroom serviceocean viewwine barbeautiful hotelturn down servicehotel lobbybreakfast buffetfree shuttlemultiplaza mallrooms are nicecasco viejo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,292 - 1,297 of 2,150 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at the Trump Ocean Club last summer for two nights and were blown away! We found the service over the top in a good way. It really was comprable to staying at a Four Seasons without the price tag. We had spent a week on Boca del Tores and ended the trip on a high note with our stay at the Trump.
The only negative thing is that the Trump taxis charge more than a regular taxi. Just walk about the street and find a taxi if you want to go to the Canal or the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubagirl302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've read a number of reviews on this site and I'll give credit where due....The facility is beautiful, well laid out and full of nice ammenities. I found the staff to be courteous and welcoming. The problem.....The construction on either side of the hotel. You can not get a room without close and constant construction noise. What's worse and totally unsettling to me were the construction goons on both sides of the building (we moved from the north side to the south side after complaints). The weekend was not bad but first thing monday am, the creeps just hang out on the decks of the adjoining building or peek out of the small windows on the other building and stare, for hours on end. A number of times they made obscene gestures, yelled and one actually had a pair of binoculars staring at us on the balcony! The front desk advised they've tried but can get no results from neighboring construction management.

So, I give the place high marks but I would not stay there until the construction is complete.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Skifungolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is by far the best hotel in Panama. Everything about it spells luxury. The only thing they would have to do would be to improve the quality of the food served in their restaurants. I am sure that will happen. In the meantime, we loved the ambiance, the pool, the rooms, everything about it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yap H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I think I'm as qualified as anyone to write about this hotel as I live here. I have also stayed in the hotel and paid for my clients to stay in various rooms here while in town numerous times. I use the facilities on a daily basis and know what is going on in Panama and this hotel as I've been to many of the hotels here.

First, the rooms. The beds are soft, my friend with a bad back had to sleep on the floor. The rooms are not huge, actually pretty small, unless you upgrade. The bathtub is in a very odd location right in the middle of the room which a lot of people don't like. The problem with the rooms is that they are low in the building and on Friday's and Saturdays and whenever there may be a party the noise from the pool area persists until at times past midnite. I live at near the top of the building and I can hear the noise unless I close the doors. The have a DJ who plays regularly so it's noisy. They also entertain private parties in the pool area (can happen anyday) which can cause quite a loss of sleep if you are there for business.

The hotel service is not top class on an international scale but for Panama it is very good. The reason is that turnover of staff is high here and Panamanian standards are not world class when it comes to service. Therefore don't expect somebody to arrive to your room promptly or even speak English all that well. You have to deal with it and not expect the same as you would in New York. Due to staffing issues some people will not be very helpful and some are just outright incompetent which is not unusual in Panama.

The pool area is beautiful but it is extremely windy especially on one of the sides. At times the wind is so strong it is unbearable that the cushions and towels will fly off. It does not get sun all day and there are a lot of non-hotel residents here as well. A lot of the people in the pool area come from nearby buildings and get in despite not being a resident nor a hotel guest. Although the staff are supposed to check, they rarely do. You will also see the occasional prostitute/pimp around here who are allowed in because they know a member of the team there. Service is good but food is expensive which is to be expected.

The gym is spacious and well equipped. Machines need to be wiped down a bit more frequently though.

Tejas and Barcelona - good restaurants - on par with other good restaurants in town but certainly not a top-class dining destination. There are better restaurants in the city. Desserts / pastries are excellent as they are prepared by the hotel. The hotel bar Cava 15 is nice though it's not always open.

There is no Spa here, nor a casino which is advertised in some places. They'll send you to a nearby spa if you request one and they'll always tell you it's coming soon but in fact nothing is finalized or even in the works as it appears. They are not going to get a casino anytime soon as well despite what they say.

The hotel lobby is small but quaint and the location of the hotel is somewhat central but you'll need a cab to go anywhere. It's in a residential neighborhood which has at times awkward access. There are two neighboring buildings next door under construction which blocks the sun and causes some noise. The workers also constantly make catcalls to relax.

Business center is adequate though it often gets leaks from the upstairs kitchen. Internet is available though not very good in the pool area and is best in the lobby area.

The restaurants and services on the main level? Many places are not occupied and are covered up. An ice cream shop is good and on the deck there are 3 decent restaurants with nice ocean views. Food is above average for Panama but expensive.

Prostitutes? I see them every day. Although they try to prevent it, there is little they can do. Not as bad as the Veneto but they are definitely around. I've even been solicited a few times.

Transport to and from the hotel is $35 by private hotel taxi. Local transportation has to be by taxi though a hotel shuttle does exist which is rather unreliable as they never pick up from locations other than the hotel.

A lot of the bad comments on this site are due directly to 3 reasons:

1. Ongoing construction in the building and surrounding (noise, wind)
2. Staffing issues (service)
3. Design flaws (rooms)

Would I stay here? It depends on the price. At under $160 for a regular room, not a bad deal considering what I know about Panama. More than $200, would be iffy. More than $300..no way!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank will678021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It is an architecturally interesting hotel with all of the Trump bells and whistles; fantastic art, a hotel with stylish feel, and all of the elegance you'd expect from the Trump brand. The rooms are spectacular and the beds are as comfortable as they get -- I believe all of the rooms look at the ocean and have balconies, and the room was very nice. The hotel has several restaurants, a wine bar, a nice outdoor terrace, and a mini-mall so you never really have to leave the premises.

But keep in mind that this hotel is new and you don't find the "crispness" that you'd expect from the Trump brand. The staff seems confused at the check-in area, when you call the front desk for something the line will ring for over a minute before someone picks up, and the day I was there housekeeping didn't clean my room until 5pm (hotel was fully booked and there were operational issues). I could never figure out how to navigate through the hotels and elevators, the property flow was not intuitive. Also, the hotel has a "soft opening" which means it isn't quite ready yet (to charge full rates); loud high-rise construction surrounds the property, the so called "ocean club" is not ready yet, and the fitness center was completely unacceptable --- it was not staffed, TVs were blaring (unable to change volume), and in a corner was a serious condensation leak; the spa is not yet open and the whole fitness thing is unacceptable..

A few things to keep in mind about this property is that while it is called an "ocean club" there is no beach there nor a path to stroll along -- the ocean tides make it a property that is not an "ocean club" like one would expect.. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel consists of high-rise slabs overshadowing each other.

all in all, though, a nice hotel -- give them some time to sort out operational issues..

Room Tip: note, there is a construction project adjacent to the hotel -- expect loud noises early in the morning to interrupt your sleep
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEFFfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews