We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Panama” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Ranked #21 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Panama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is by far the best hotel in Panama. Everything about it spells luxury. The only thing they would have to do would be to improve the quality of the food served in their restaurants. I am sure that will happen. In the meantime, we loved the ambiance, the pool, the rooms, everything about it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yap H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    500
    184
    79
    73
See reviews for
294
656
105
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I think I'm as qualified as anyone to write about this hotel as I live here. I have also stayed in the hotel and paid for my clients to stay in various rooms here while in town numerous times. I use the facilities on a daily basis and know what is going on in Panama and this hotel as I've been to many of the hotels here.

First, the rooms. The beds are soft, my friend with a bad back had to sleep on the floor. The rooms are not huge, actually pretty small, unless you upgrade. The bathtub is in a very odd location right in the middle of the room which a lot of people don't like. The problem with the rooms is that they are low in the building and on Friday's and Saturdays and whenever there may be a party the noise from the pool area persists until at times past midnite. I live at near the top of the building and I can hear the noise unless I close the doors. The have a DJ who plays regularly so it's noisy. They also entertain private parties in the pool area (can happen anyday) which can cause quite a loss of sleep if you are there for business.

The hotel service is not top class on an international scale but for Panama it is very good. The reason is that turnover of staff is high here and Panamanian standards are not world class when it comes to service. Therefore don't expect somebody to arrive to your room promptly or even speak English all that well. You have to deal with it and not expect the same as you would in New York. Due to staffing issues some people will not be very helpful and some are just outright incompetent which is not unusual in Panama.

The pool area is beautiful but it is extremely windy especially on one of the sides. At times the wind is so strong it is unbearable that the cushions and towels will fly off. It does not get sun all day and there are a lot of non-hotel residents here as well. A lot of the people in the pool area come from nearby buildings and get in despite not being a resident nor a hotel guest. Although the staff are supposed to check, they rarely do. You will also see the occasional prostitute/pimp around here who are allowed in because they know a member of the team there. Service is good but food is expensive which is to be expected.

The gym is spacious and well equipped. Machines need to be wiped down a bit more frequently though.

Tejas and Barcelona - good restaurants - on par with other good restaurants in town but certainly not a top-class dining destination. There are better restaurants in the city. Desserts / pastries are excellent as they are prepared by the hotel. The hotel bar Cava 15 is nice though it's not always open.

There is no Spa here, nor a casino which is advertised in some places. They'll send you to a nearby spa if you request one and they'll always tell you it's coming soon but in fact nothing is finalized or even in the works as it appears. They are not going to get a casino anytime soon as well despite what they say.

The hotel lobby is small but quaint and the location of the hotel is somewhat central but you'll need a cab to go anywhere. It's in a residential neighborhood which has at times awkward access. There are two neighboring buildings next door under construction which blocks the sun and causes some noise. The workers also constantly make catcalls to relax.

Business center is adequate though it often gets leaks from the upstairs kitchen. Internet is available though not very good in the pool area and is best in the lobby area.

The restaurants and services on the main level? Many places are not occupied and are covered up. An ice cream shop is good and on the deck there are 3 decent restaurants with nice ocean views. Food is above average for Panama but expensive.

Prostitutes? I see them every day. Although they try to prevent it, there is little they can do. Not as bad as the Veneto but they are definitely around. I've even been solicited a few times.

Transport to and from the hotel is $35 by private hotel taxi. Local transportation has to be by taxi though a hotel shuttle does exist which is rather unreliable as they never pick up from locations other than the hotel.

A lot of the bad comments on this site are due directly to 3 reasons:

1. Ongoing construction in the building and surrounding (noise, wind)
2. Staffing issues (service)
3. Design flaws (rooms)

Would I stay here? It depends on the price. At under $160 for a regular room, not a bad deal considering what I know about Panama. More than $200, would be iffy. More than $300..no way!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank will678021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

It is an architecturally interesting hotel with all of the Trump bells and whistles; fantastic art, a hotel with stylish feel, and all of the elegance you'd expect from the Trump brand. The rooms are spectacular and the beds are as comfortable as they get -- I believe all of the rooms look at the ocean and have balconies, and the room was very nice. The hotel has several restaurants, a wine bar, a nice outdoor terrace, and a mini-mall so you never really have to leave the premises.

But keep in mind that this hotel is new and you don't find the "crispness" that you'd expect from the Trump brand. The staff seems confused at the check-in area, when you call the front desk for something the line will ring for over a minute before someone picks up, and the day I was there housekeeping didn't clean my room until 5pm (hotel was fully booked and there were operational issues). I could never figure out how to navigate through the hotels and elevators, the property flow was not intuitive. Also, the hotel has a "soft opening" which means it isn't quite ready yet (to charge full rates); loud high-rise construction surrounds the property, the so called "ocean club" is not ready yet, and the fitness center was completely unacceptable --- it was not staffed, TVs were blaring (unable to change volume), and in a corner was a serious condensation leak; the spa is not yet open and the whole fitness thing is unacceptable..

A few things to keep in mind about this property is that while it is called an "ocean club" there is no beach there nor a path to stroll along -- the ocean tides make it a property that is not an "ocean club" like one would expect.. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel consists of high-rise slabs overshadowing each other.

all in all, though, a nice hotel -- give them some time to sort out operational issues..

Room Tip: note, there is a construction project adjacent to the hotel -- expect loud noises early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFFfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Trump hotel in Panama City is what you would expect from the name - modern, luxurious and over-the-top. Great swimming pool / bar area. Rooms are modern and also a little over-the-top, with huge bathtubs in the rooms, mood lighting and all amenities one could wish for. Easy to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Trump Ocean Club is truly a hidden gem. The luxury is there in so many ways, the beds are like clouds, the Attache service that truly meets expectations and then they moved out the bedrooms on the 16th floor and turning it into a luxurious SPA for our guests, well done! Hats off to the hotel GM and VP, Mark Stevenson who was always available not only in the hotel but made "Survivor Island" happen in a luxurious way for our guests. You can't buy that in brochure and there makes for the ideal incentive experience for your top performers.

Room Tip: As all rooms are Ocean View, ask for "closest to the ocean"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This place is one of the most disorganized hotels I have ever stayed at. I travel 30 times a year and this will be my first and last visit to this hotel. The place looks good, but at all times during the day your are disturbed by people walking through trying to be sold condo's in the building. Although the staff are very nice, they are innefective. Just yesterday my room was made up with no towels. When I called it took 45 minutes and 3 phone calls to get them delivered here. The breakfast buffet was decent and the restaurant was good, but that is not what makes a 5 star hotel. Additionally, the concierge is non existent and the front desk staff are indifferent. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank admiral911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear admiral911,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand your needs as a business traveller since that is a large segment of our guests. Unfortunately, we failed to impress you during your recent stay. Since your visit we have implemented new procedures and training to track and improve our service delivery time. We have also ensured every department is properly staffed according to occupancy levels. We are very upset and surprised to hear that you felt our front desk agents were indifferent to your needs. We are very proud of our wonderful and passionate associates; each very eager to please our guests. We sincerely hope your travels will bring you back to Panama and specifically to Trump Ocean Club to experience our warm hospitality and high level of service as it was intended.

Sincerely,

Mark Stevenson
VP & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I arrived with my wife who was being rewarded as one of canada top realtors with Royal Lepage The entrance was grand, the lobby was very nice but the experience went downhill after that.
Seems like nobody spoke English, the rooms were badly designed no room to put your clothes away, surrounded by construction, lots of noise, falling debri, some lady lady even caught a hork on her balcony from a construction guy. We didnt enjoy the food, couldn't turn on the tv, etc. We said, would never return.
This hotel is literally sounded by other 70 Storey buildings all side by side. Not for us!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear rmassaar,

We are saddened to hear about your negative experience at the hotel as we were very honored to host the elite guests from Royal Le Page. Panama City is thriving and experiencing construction throughout the metro area. While we cannot control the progress taking place around us, we hope to improve our service and deliver a flawless stay for all our guests. We tried very hard to attend to any guest needs from the group and did receive some great comments on the hotel, the events and the experience at Saboga Island which we arranged and catered.

However, unfortunately, we failed to deliver the expected level of service to you and your wife during your stay. Your feedback ensures we will work harder to impress all our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly at the following email:
GeneralManagerPanama@TrumpHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
5.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
1.2 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#14 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Address: Calle Punta Colon | Punta Pacifica, Panama City 0833, Panama (Formerly Trump Ocean Club International Hotel & Tower Panama)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising seventy stories above Panama Bay along Punta Pacifica's pristine peninsula, Trump Ocean Club® International Hotel & Tower Panama unites exclusive amenities, innovative accommodations and the signature services of Trump Attaché™. Steps from Punta Pacifica's sophisticated shops and nightlife, just five minutes from the financial district and minutes from Panama City—you have found the perfect setting to unite business with pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Ocean Club International Hotel And Tower Panama
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing