We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wake up call”
Review of Hotel Terranova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Terranova
Ranked #50 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No wake up call”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I just stayed there one night and I now for sure they overcharged me because I didn't have a reservation.
The warm water didn't work.
I asked for a wake up call since I had to go to the airport early in the morning, they never called me. Good thing I don't need a lot of sleep otherwise I would've missed my flight.

Room Tip: Make a reservation and bring an alarm clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurucostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    45
    59
    34
    29
See reviews for
30
52
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playas del Coco
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an overnight stay so needed something not too far from the airport.
Our flight the next morning was at 7 am so we asked for a 5 am wake up call. We woke up at 5.30 and had to rush, when we asked what happened to our wake up call, the only answer we got I will do it at 5.30. Lady, it is already 5.45! This was not a language barrier cuz we spoke Spanish.
$90 for this hotel is way over priced as well, but a taxi driver dropped us and when you only have an overnight you don't feel like shopping around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Derby, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not bad... not great either. It works if you're just there for a night or two, very central if you want to be in the part of the city with the clubs and bars. Good bed, clean room, good aircon. Shower was unfortunately lukewarm, wouldn't run hot. Reception staff weren't friendly or unfriendly, just indifferent. Bear in mind that because of the area you're in, any female friend you bring to the hotel will be assumed to be a prostitute, which is not a very nice attitude. Overall just a concrete box hotel with no atmosphere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank amstelodami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Located in the best area of Panamá City, near bars, restaurants and discos where you can walk and leave tha car in the hotel parking (it's very difficult at night to find a place to park in the street). The hotel rooms are well decorated and clean, with A/C. The only detail is that there was no minibar, so no cold drinks were available at all hours. Service was good and although the breakfast included wasn't buffet, it was abundant, with a lot of options.
A good place to go with friends or couples at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Do not choose the rooms next o the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I had booked 'Casa Ramirez'. After taking us 55' to find it we had to leave because the hotel door was locked and no one to welcome guests! Unheard of, never happened to me after several years of travelling.

As no one here speaks English, the driver brought me to Hotel Terranova. It's very basic, the Internet is hard work, my mattress and sheets are damp and, worst of all I am finding it hard to breathe as the room wreaks of moth balls they have put in the closet. Reception does not speak English, is unfriendly and simply passed me the hotel registration form after promptly requesting payment.

Not at all what I was expecting from Panama. Very disappointed and you can find incredible hotels with only $50 extra/per night within walking distance. But I was never really given the option as the driver probably gets kickbacks and left me here with no room for no negotiation or search for alternatives due to the language barrier.

Can't wait to board my flight to Vegas tomorrow. Please avoid.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Have been staying here once or twice a month since the hotel opened. Not the finest construction or finishes, but the rooms are big, there's a rooftop pool, a restaurant bar, friendly service, free parking, wifi, and the location is unbeatable. All I need.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colombus1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great place if you plan on going out around the town and partying and drinking. Its really close and conveniently located to Calle Uruguay, which is the happening street! The rooms are big, with HUGE bathrooms, and perfect for a one night stay to pass out after partying. The A/C is excellent and Free Wifi and delicious Breakfast included! If you only need the Bare minimum and aren't a luxurious traveler, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faviplysccr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 114 in Panama City
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#54 of 114 in Panama City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#64 of 114 in Panama City
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 114 in Panama City
773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panama Central Loft
Panama Central Loft
#18 of 107 in Panama City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terranova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terranova

Property: Hotel Terranova
Address: Calle 49 entre calle Uruguay y Ave. Federico Boyd Bella Vista, Panama City 0857, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terranova 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Terranova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terranova Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing