We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Ranked #45 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

No complaints about the service staff or food. Employees were always helpful; they often took care of a question by showing you, not just giving an answer and sending you on your way.
The facility's guest rooms were sadly disappointing. We stayed in two different rooms during our three nights. Both had excessively noisy air conditioners. The refrigerators in neither room kept items sufficiently cold. In one room the safe didn't work.
If you want to shop at high-end boutiques the huge mall is close by. Otherwise, the neighborhood is unattractive and pedestrian unfriendly. If I were to visit Panama City again, I would try to locate in the Casco Viejo neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockwellL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are currently reviewing the issues you reported in the entire Hotel so we may correct this as soon as possible. We are glad to hear our team was always helpful.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in Panama soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    177
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
126
98
34
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Best courtyard i stayed, staff is great, breakfast has a lot of diferent opcions. Gym is big with, good brand new machine. Right next to metro mall, you can walk and do some shopping wild you are there for business.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Restaurant, our food and our staff. Having our lobby just steps away from the most modern shopping mall in the area is always a big convenience for our guests.
We hope to see you again when you come back to Panama.
Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

As the closest nice hotel to the airport it would have been great to have more reasonably priced or free hotel to airport shuttle. Otherwise this hotel is up to Marriott standards and a fine location.

Room Tip: No difference we could see between upgraded and normal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for your feedback and please know we are taking into consideration your recommendation to add shuttle service. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was outside of the city, near the airport and we had an early morning flight. The plan was to check in at the hotel, drive to the airport, return the rental car and take a taxi back to the hotel. It was a good plan. The only problems were that we got lost getting to the hotel, even with GPS, so we got there late and tired. Then there was a huge amount of metro construction between the hotel and the airport. It would normally be a 10-minute drive from hotel to airport, but it took us at least 1/2 hour. Anyway, there was no traffic coming from the airport back to the hotel, so the taxi ride back to the hotel was fine (cost $15). We did have concerns about getting to the airport the next morning, but the staff assured us there would be no traffic at 6:00 am on Sunday morning.

We decided to experience the MetroMall food court for dinner. For Norte Americanos, that was super interesting. The food (fresh fish) was as good as in any restaurant we went to during our trip and the shopping atmosphere was frenetic to say the least. We really loved watching the little kids driving around the mall on giant stuffed animals!

The room was excellent after our long and tiring trip and the beds were great. We set 2 alarms for 5:30am and the hotel gave us a wake up call. We departed by 6 AM, unfortunately missing our free breakfast, but fortunately the staff was correct, at that time on a SUNDAY morning, there was no traffic, so we got to the airport by 6:15. The Courtyard was a great place for us to stay and definitely lives up to Marriott quality standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property and the convenience of being integrated to the most modern mall in the area, Metromall. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the traffic, but please know those projects will end soon and will improve the overall traffic in the area.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here on night after a cruise that ended in Colon, Panama. Our flight was early the next morning. This hotel is about 5 minutes from the Tocumen Airport (PTY) with no traffic - about 10 minutes in traffic. The front desk was very helpful and arranged for a taxi to the airport early on a Sunday morning - which was waiting for us when we checked out ($15 for the taxi ride). There is a huge mall across the street, but most of the food choices were food court type places. We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was pretty good food at a reasonable price. The hotel is very well maintained and comfortable. The only downside is that is it quite a ways from the City. Great if you are just passing through the airport or have an early flight, but probably not so good for sightseeing. It is a long way ) (opposite side of Panama City) as the Miriflores Locks on the Panama Canal.

Room Tip: Five story building, but no real view to be seen (other than the mall). Set back far enough from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagleman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Having the mall Metromall just a few meters aways is a great advantage.

Some tips to avoid traffic are the highways such as corredor Norte that can get you faster to the Panama Canal or Corredor Sur if you want to visit to Panama city center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

bad service. terrible traffic. I did miss my flight because of the very bad organization of shuttle in this hotel. And they do not care about this!
bad service from all the staff.
I DO NOT recommend this hotel. next time I will select other Hotel near the airport.
poor breakfast

Room Tip: all has a lot of noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We appreciate you feedback and will take follow up with the issues you have reported.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Almost everyone who travels with Copa Airlines to Central/North America or the Caribbean is stuck for a night in Panama, because of the time charts of its flight connections. Maybe it's on purpose to promote local tourism, who knows... So, Courtyard Metromall is the perfect hotel for this night stay. It's near the airport (timing depends of the frequemt traffic jams in Panama). The rooms are clean, internet very fast, breakfast good (not included in the price), staff very polite and helpful. A few meters away is located the Metromall, with plenty of stores and restaurants. If you're lucky, will find sales season (we found it in a travel in July). We've stayed three times in this hotel and definitely will be again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurMombach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
It is a pleasure for us to have you as a loyal customer and to hear the good experiences you have had at our property.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#44 of 114 in Panama City
463 reviews
3.4 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#35 of 114 in Panama City
1,187 reviews
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#86 of 114 in Panama City
107 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
505 reviews
6.6 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 114 in Panama City
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall

Property: Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Address: Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#28 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This shopping hotel is just 4 miles away from Tocumen International airport and it's the only hotel located within the Metromall shopping complex, where you will find more than 260 shopping and entertainment venues including department stores, boutiques, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and bistros. This unique shopping complex also offers a free shuttle to Multiplaza Mall, with more than 350 venues for your enjoyment. Our hotel amenities include room service, a fully equipped fitness center, spacious garden pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or select a la carte in our restaurant Centro which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 32" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, soundproof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. Costa del Este, Panama Viejo, the Panama Canal and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama Metromall Hotel Panama City
Courtyard Panama At Metromall Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing