We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good city spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Villa Vento Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good city spot”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Free pancake breakfast included. Option to buy a cheap community dinner (I was there for a $4 taco night). Hot water and clean. Swimming pool in the backyard! I just wasn't crazy about the location. It is right in the middle of downtown Panama City, which is cool, but not very scenic. If you're looking to be in the middle of the city, and not somewhere more scenic or relaxing, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    78
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
41
136
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My stay at Hostel Villa Vento Surf was very relaxing. The best part was the cleanliness of the place. The beds were made with cleanest smelling sheets first thing in the morning. The bathroom was scrubbed thoroughly, with the comet and lysol smell. Gotta love it. There was a constant breeze blowing through the place and there is a pleasant atmosphere all together. Music, swimming pool, cool guests from all over the world.

The location is great! Next to the ocean and downtown at the same time. Burger king, mcdonalds, wings togo, subway, and pharmacy all within walking distance.

Great internet fast fast fast.

Laundry room with plenty of washers and driers.

The staff was amazing. Very helpful. Daniel and Hania were available at anytime to help with whatever you need.

Plus + you can park a motorcycle under the gated carport!

One of the guests from Japan even made home made sushi for everyone! How often do you get that!!!

Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Take an air conditioned dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowSoloTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hostel Villa Vento is a nice and friendly hostel close to Calle Uruguay, shopping areas and within walking distance of most sights in the city. The hostel is clean and tidy but can be very noisy - you have to walk through one dorm to get to another so there can be a lot of traffic.

The pool is a blessing during the day when temperatures can get very high and it's a very sociable area. Breakfast is pancakes which you make yourself and the kitchen is well-stocked for self-catering.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the dorms at the back which have less traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meanderingcailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Laid back hostel in the center of PC. Walking distance to Calle Uruguay (nightlife) and the Hard Rock Cafe (Hotel, Restaurant and Mall).

Upstairs are rooms with bunkbeds, downstairs is a large chill area, flat screen TV, book exchange, kitchen, porch, pool etc. The crowed are all young backpackers.

The have one private room with fan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Villa vento surf is a great chilled out hostel with brilliant helpful staff and very comfy beds!!!

Its in a safe area in the banking area, a short walk from the multicentro shopping centre. The kitchen has everything you need and somehow it was ALWAYS clean (something i have yet to find in a hostel!). There is a free pancake breakfast (cook your own). Showers are hot and powerful.

There's a really nice pool and they also organise a few hostel outings to bars in the city if you fancy that kind of thing. We booked our san blas tour here to Franklins island which was amazing, it really I true paradise!

The only problem we experienced was that we arranged an airport pick up for early hours of the morning which didn't actually arrive. It wasn't a huge problem as we just got a taxi from the airport and the staff were apologetic that it happened - there seemed to be a mix up with the transfer people.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Villa Vento Surf one of the best hostels we stayed in during our central American trip, and definitely the best in Panama City! It was very clean, the atmosphere was laid back and friendly, and the pool area was a great place to meet people and cool off (I also heard it was the only decent hostel in the city with a pool). They had a BBQ one night and free pancake breakfast every morning. The staff was very friendly and so knowledgeable about the city, and even how to travel between countries in central America. This hostel is a must if you are in the city, I great place to experience Panama City!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here longer than expected. It was kept exceptionally clean for a hostel and is right in the middle of town. Helpful easy going staff, good music, good food (they have group meals a couple times a week), lots of interesting people, over all a rad vibe. Pura vida. Weither you are just arriving from home or have been on the road for months, this is a great place relax by the pool, meet new people, and plan the next leg of your journey. Can't say enough good things. It was an absolute pleasure to stay at Villa Vento Surf.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 113 in Panama City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 105 in Panama City
479 reviews
2.0 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
606 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 105 in Panama City
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Villa Vento Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Villa Vento Surf

Property: Hostel Villa Vento Surf
Address: Calle 47, Casa 7, Panama City 0811, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Villa Vento Surf! A great place to meet other travellers. Our hostel is located in the beautiful and safe neighborhood of Marbella. We have a swimming pool in our garden, a great lounge where you can watch TV (new 50 plasma), listen to music, drink a beer. and just relax! Also we organize fun activities during the week. We offer the perfect balance between a fun and a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are separated from the social areas for those who want an early night. We want you to feel like a traveller here, and not a tourist. You can come at any time (24 hours reception) and if the rooms are not ready yet, you can relax in the social areas. Last but not least, we arrange trips to San Blas and sailing trips to Cartagena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Villa Vento Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Hotel Panama City
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing