We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“life saver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super Gourmet

Super Gourmet
Avenida A y Calle 6, Panama City, Panama
+507 212-3487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 803 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
unguidedmissal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“life saver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a deli like place centrally located just off the Cathedral Square. We ate breakfast there every morning. They open at 8. You order at the counter and they bring you the food. Well prepared. Adequate variety. Eggs, meat, porridge, granola, fruit, yoghurt, good coffee, etc. They serve lunch but we never ate there. They sell some light groceries as well. Staff nice and friendly. Don't speak much English but that's no problem. Right now the view is of street re-cobbling. Kinda interesting to watch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    66
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a small delicatessen worthy of NYC, it is so good. Their sandwiches are freshly prepared, their salads are excellent. Good, strong coffee. This is the place to come if you need a good, quick breakfast or lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChandiGourmet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Western style, food and prices (skip the chicken empanada)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have to say I was surprised to see such a swanky place- mind you I hadn't done much research so there was a bit of naivete. This is THE place to hang out, meet clients, and do work on your laptop. We had yummy breakfast sandwiches, coffee, and fruit in a nice a/c filled and sunny space (I'd skip the chicken empanada- it was hard and cold). We preferred to go to the coffee place around the corner for cafe con leche and pastries, although this is a nice change and especially nice if you are looking for a bit of "home." Service was not that pleasant as compared to other places in the area- they seemed very rushed. Apparently this place was started by guy from Mississippi and I was little disappointed not to have the chance to hear his story-

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank megmcnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good sandwiches, strong coffee and the chocolate banana Batida was gooood! Worth a visit if you are peckish and in the area!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonCouple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor, we found Super Gourmet and made it a mandatory stop on our neighborhood prowl today. We were SO happy with this place - the BLT is supreme, with crusty bread, the freshest avocado, quality bacon, and super thinly sliced red onion. Truly it was a special sandwich. We enjoyed some wine as well - very well priced. And, how could you not love the gorgeous architecture, the ambiance (reminded me of some older institutions I've spent time at in Cambridge MA as well as parts of England) and the free WiFi. We had a very pleasant chat with the owners as well, which made it extra special. Highly recommend - and we're going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brookecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Super Gourmet also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Super Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing