We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panama Trails is unsurpassed”

Panama Trails Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Panama Trails offers numerous day tours in and around Panama City. Our guides are experts in the history and nature of Panama and receive constant training to improve their knowledge. All our guides are completely bilingual (English & Spanish); upon request we also arrange guides in German, French or Italian. The Panama Trails Guides are specialists in personalizing tours depending on the needs and interests of our clients and even on transfers there is always something special that our guides can show to the clients. Our priority is to assure our customers a 100% safe and comfortable trip. Therefore, we continuously invest in new fleets of Toyota Hi-Aces which are given daily maintenance. All of our drivers are experts of the Panamanian roads and practice strictly secure driving. All our vehicles are equipped with GPS tracking devices to monitor our drivers and clients at all time.
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Panama Trails is unsurpassed”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was the second time we used Panama Trails. Obviously I was happy with the first time. Daniel is the best travel agent I have ever met. He went out of his way to make everything we did simple. He worked hard for us and did not let us down in any way. He chose the best of the guides in the city I'm sure. He went way above and beyond what can or should be expected from a travel agent.

Ricardo was our guide on our tour of Panama City and he is like a walking encyclopedia. We learned things that most people don't know. He met us several times and was very professional and a great driver. He knows how to get you the best place to stand at the Miraflores Locds and will put you there at exactly the right time to make sure you have the best spot to see that there is I felt safe the whole time and feeling safe on the roads in Panama City is a feat in itself. Thanks Ricardo my son!!!

Another driver we had was Melvin and he was fantastic also. He got us to where we were going safely and professionally. He was where he was suppose to be with no delays at any time.

We got all of this for a very reasonable price and everything we did was very neatly put into a coupon book that eliminated any confusion.

I will use Panama Trails again probably next year and can recommend them very highly without any reservations at all.

Visited August 2011
2 Thank DTB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing Trip in an Amazing Land”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had an amazing trip that was organized by our travel agency Latin America Collection and by Panama Trails. Latin American Collection Luxury travel identified our needs, likes and dislikes and Panama Trails delivered exactly on what was promised. It is refreshing to meet two companies that really cater and care for their clients. I felt during the whole planning process they were not trying to up-sell us in anyway but instead were truly trying to find the best trip for us based on what we wanted. We are not "birders" per se and we were given nature yet not too much birding but not too little either (we saw some Tucans, some Macaws and some Hummingbirds among others). The sailing of San Blas islands on the chartered sailboat was INCREDIBLE... Now, like with anytrip, not everything went flawless, our EARLY (urgh) flight from Panama City to San Blas was cancelled - but Panama Trails responded quickly and they were able to transfer us by land and we did not miss our Sailboat! They even stopped along the way for a round of cold morning beers! ;-) All in all - we were very satisfied with the trip - so much that we are planning our next one already! We highly recommend Panama Trails, Latin America Collection and San Blas Islands!!!

Visited August 2011
1 Thank TravellingTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed 2 weeks in Panama, and used Panama Trails as our travel agent/guide service. I have not one complaint. The drivers were always on time, always treated us like long lost friends, shared a lot of information about Panama while we were driving, and the vans were very comfortable with working air conditioning. The drivers in Panama City are CRAZY, but our drivers were very good and safe. We also used Panama Trails' for a tour of the ruins, old Panama City, and Miraflora Locks. Our guide Ricardo (employed by Panama Trails) was a walking encyclopedia. He knew so much about the city and it's history, and answered all of our questions with a smile. You can tell he loves his country, and wants to share it with everyone. Our agent was Daniel Carbone, and he went above and beyond the call of duty several times (both before the actual vacation and while we were there). Daniel took what could be some very stressful situations, and made sure our vacation ran smoothly and safely. I would, and absolutely WILL, use this service in the future.

Visited August 2011
1 Thank DeanaW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfavorable Review”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our trip to Panama ended with a bitter sweet experience... our flight to the Pearl Islands was cancelled on the second day we were in Panama. Needless to say, non one from Panama Trails ever picked up when we called their emergency phone number. We left voice mail and waited at the airport for 30 minutes... We were not successful contacting their office. We didn't have access to a cell phone. Their office didn't seem to be flexible about reimbursing us for one missed night at the hotel in Pearl Islands. We ended up paying out of pocket $100 for acommodations. We expected a full refund for one but no success. Only the taxi fare was reimbursed. What a nightmare! When you're touring internationally you're at their mercy.

Visited August 2011
1 Thank francisco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabianObrist, General Manager at Panama Trails Day Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
First of all thank you for traveling to Panama with us. Your comments are very much valued and appreciated.
We care greatly about customer service and providing our clientele with first class vacation experiences in Panama. We apologize deeply if in this particular case we didn’t live up to your and our own expectations.
This situation occurred because the domestic airline had to cancel the flight to Contadora Island due to bad weather. At this point you tried to contact us which didn’t work. First I would like to state that three of our office staff were at the office until noon and neither of them received any phone calls from your side. Second, the person on call did not receive any phone calls from you on our 24h emergency cell phone. I personally requested the call logs from our cell phone provider and no call is registered for the time in question. Also, did we not receive any messages from our phone provider, that a voice message has been left for us. I therefore have to assume, that our cell phone provider is not providing us with the quality service we require to guarantee, that our customers are able to contact us anytime. We are taking your feedback very seriously and will change to a different telephone provider in order to avoid a similar situation from happening again.
Again, my apologies for the inconveniences you suffered during you stay in Panama and thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panama Trails Day Tours also viewed


Been to Panama Trails Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing