We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay....”
Review of My Home in Panama

My Home in Panama
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
My Home in Panama
Reviewed March 16, 2012

For our last night in Panama, we stayed at My Home. We picked it, based on the photos of the property, which didn't really give us a good idea of what to expect. The hotel is right on a very busy street, with traffic roaring by day and almost all the night. The room we were given was just off the balcony, and as a result, we heard talking from people sitting outside our windows for quite a while after we went to bed. There probably were quieter rooms, so ask for one on the back of the house if this is a concern. You need to be rung in and out of the hotel; you cannot get a key to the outside door.

The room had one large bed and two bunks; the bathroom had obviously been retrofitted, but was very strangely laid out. Upon opening the two double doors to the bathroom, the toilet was right in front; turn left into the shower, and then right into the room with a sink.

Breakfast is included, and was simple: eggs and two pieces of toast with jam. Unfortunately, the water in Panama tasted faintly moldy, so the coffee was unpalatable.

After we'd booked the room, friends looked at the website and saw something I had not, as I'd booked through booking.com - the hotel appeared to be very religiously themed. The website mentioned Christian music piped into rooms, bibles in the rooms, etc. etc. Much to my relief, religion was not obviously on display, though this may appeal to other travelers.

The people at My Home were friendly, and the check in and out process was simple. If you are a woman traveling alone, or with another woman, this place might be fine, but there are probably other more comfortable places to stay for not a whole lot more money.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the rear of the building, as traffic passes by until late hours and begins to pick up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank parrotheadnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maicillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 86nano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jc558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ednasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 115 in Panama City
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,764 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Valencia
#41 of 79 in Panama City
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.7 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Home in Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Home in Panama

Address: La Alameda Calle del Cerro, Casa 57B, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Home in Panama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Home in Panama is a family hostel. We offer reasonable priced and comfortable accommodation, in the heart of Panama city, for tourists, backpackers and long staying guests. Shared accommodation is at $12 and private rooms start at $30. We have cozy rooms with air con, hot water, cable TV, WiFi, orthopedic beds and own service kitchens. Some of the rooms are with private bathrooms and others are shared. Management and staff are hospitable. Our home is clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your My Home in Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Home In Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing