We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the location or service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Dreams
Ranked #16 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed a full week at Mediterranean Dreams and based it on the previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The one downside of Panama City is price gouging by taxi drivers...you can save a lot with Alejandro's help. He even sent a cab to "rescue" us when we ended up far from town (take his phone number with you when you travel). We easily would have paid double the fare if anyone else had taken us back. This is a perfect place for travelers who want to get out and do things. You will get up to a hot breakfast, coffee and juice and get some tips for your excursion out.

While nothing is for sale within the hotel, it is a very short walk to a nice modern supermarket where you can get anything you need, from snacks to liquor. The nice thing being a street back from the main thoroughfare is you will not hear traffic or noise at all. The only thing you hear in the morning during breakfast are birds chirping.

Restaurants are everywhere (but shame on any American going to McDonald's or Taco Bell). ATM's, casinos and anything else you may need are very close, less than a three minute walk. The neighborhood is safe. When traveling back, jot down the location...the street and address itself may not be known to cab drivers. The area, El Dorado, and the nearest restaurant, Don Lee were enough to tell them how to get us there. Three of us travelled, and we enjoyed it immensly.

American travelers: if you haven't seen "Karate Kid" where the mother thinks there is no hot water in her apartment, you may have the same problem. The hot water control is on the shower head, not the knob.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

We booked our room at MD based on the outstanding reviews here on Trip Advisor and we were more than satisfied. Just as most everyone else had said - Alejandro and his wife are absolutely wonderful and incredible hosts. We were impressed even before we got the Panama by his prompt and professional email correspondence. He arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport. Alejandro was at the front door waiting for us to arrive and immediately let us know that this was our home. A. and his wife are incredibly gracious and always always always there to help out. He was always willing to call us a taxi, negotiate prices and offer any Panama City touristy advice. The breakfast in the morning was also good. (: They have a nice patio and seating area along with a backyard and a hammock. We loved our stay there.

With this said, I would recommend you think about what you are looking for in a hotel before booking. If you are looking for: a big chain hotel, to be in the center of the touristy stuff, to be surrounded by a bunch of other tourists, to have a more "Americanized (or foreigner) experience in Panama City, don't stay here. We chose to stay at Mediterranean Dreams because we wanted the personal touch that Alejandro and his wife offer. We didn't want to be in the midst of a bunch of other tourists and American chain restaurants. We wanted to stay at MD because it was in an actual neighborhood and we could walk to the supermarket and buy snacks and experience Panama City outside of the tourist areas. We wanted to stay in a place that was a quick cab ride to the Panama City sites we wanted to see.

Thank you Alejandro - you made our first Panama City experience extremely memorable and lovely. Remember, whenever y'all want to visit Texas, you have a place to stay!!! (:

Room Tip: We stayed in the uvas room and it was just fine! (: If you are a light sleeper, you might not want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank km m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dannetta W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

From the moment we walked into the door Alejandro made us (in fact insisted) that it was our home. We stay one night before our travels to El Valle and one night upon our return. While Mediterranean Dreams is not a high rise fancy, luxury hotel. It is a sweet, clean , inexpensive and cozy place to visit while in Panama City. Irene made sure we had a nice breakfast before our departure and Alex was up bright an early to see that our taxi was there to pick us up as we headed back to the airport. Nobody will treat you any better than Alejandro and Irene while visiting Panama City.

Room Tip: The lemon/lime was plenty large with air conditioning and a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nanajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed there for 4 nights. I picked this place because of the good reviews and I gladly confirmed all of them.Owners Alejandro and Irene fulfilled our expectations with flying colors. They were extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast (available every morning), was really good.

Location is very good, only a couple of blocks away from a main road where public transportation is easy to reach (Give the old, crazy painted buses a try, only US$0.25 per trip, yes, 25 cents of a dollar). You will also find all kinds of restaurants in the area as well as a grocery store. The house is located in a safe residential area, so feel free to walk around at any time.

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay, this should be your choice, don't expect any luxury, remember, it's a Bed and Breakfast, but be sure to remember my words when I say that NOBODY will treat you like Alejandro and Irene anywhere else in Panama.

Room Tip: 5 rooms have a private bathroom, 2 have to share one, make sure to get the one that better suits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicolaspr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great place to stay for a few nights. Very nice guy who owns it. Got some good tips for my stay. Only stayed for one night. Good standard, but its not a hotel though, shared bathroom, but clean and cheap:)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My best friend and I actually had a hard time getting there to the hotel, but the staff Alejandro, wife and relatives were amazing. it made are stay increadible. We were only planning to stay for two night but Alejandro suggested to visit "La Isla De San Blas" so we did, and had an amazing experience. Thank you Alejandro and wife for the increadible welcome!! Saludes desde California las dos Mexicanas: Elsa y Ana!!! lol

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVELYN333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
3 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#99 of 116 in Panama City
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Dreams
Pacific Dreams
#21 of 78 in Panama City
48 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#7 of 78 in Panama City
126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Ramirez
Casa Ramirez
#11 of 78 in Panama City
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Dreams

Address: El Dorado, Av 15B Norte, Casa N 037. | Calle detras del Rest Don Lee del Dorado, Panama City 0819, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: $25 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mediterranean Dreams 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Dreams is a Bed and Breakfast located in the center of Panama, have seven bedrooms, two with shared facilities and five suites with private bathroom each one is a fruit. Breakfast is included in the price and have dinner an additional service based on Mediterranean diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranean Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Dreams Hotel Panama City
Mediterranean Dreams Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing