We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Ranked #20 of 978 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our small group stopped in for lunch, were seated and taken care of right away. Located at the edge of what we were told is the safer zone, this cafe is charming, like it could be a set from the movie Casablanca. We ordered the pre fix meal and were not disappointed in the least. The chef is creative, each course was delicious, and perfect. Las Clemetinas is well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BatonRougeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food and ambiance, and hope you make your way again to us some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    140
    34
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We ate here one night during our stay and enjoyed it. The restaurant was quiet and didnt have many people in it. I recommend the passion fruit ceviche and the short ribs starter. both had amazing flavours. I enjoyed the seafood risotto. price was reasonable but a little more expensive than the other very good restaurant we ate at the night before. Would go back for that ceviche! No outdoor seating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela_SAKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for writing! So glad you enjoyed our signature ceviche! We do have outdoor seating in out lovely garden. We're disappointed that you were not able to see it. Hopefully another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a great place for a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Went once for brunch and once for lunch. Love the feel and ambience. It's as if you were going back into time, yet without feeling dated. The food is well made and carefully selected. A truly memorable experience. Now I wish I could have dinner there

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the review, amanwarre! We're really happy you enjoyed your time with us, and really do hope you can make it back for dinner some day! Cheers, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solid every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

What I love about this restaurant is that every single time I go, the service and the food are flawless. Consistency! Prices are entirely reasonable and the selection is great, love the veggie burger.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobeDaughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello and thank you! Your review just made our day! We love our regulars and returning guests and are so delighted to hear that your experiences at the restaurant continue to be great. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Gorgona, Panama
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A real find in Casco Viejo. Someplace special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

It was our last night in Casco Viejo...after a horrible lunch at Tequila, we wanted something memorable to end our weeklong holiday in CV. We found it at Las Clementinas. It is a small bar and restaurant, but more than just a cafe, in my opinion. Nice decor, and part of a boutique hotel, the ambience is upscale but relaxed. No loud music, no hustle and bustle. This is a place you can go and have a great meal and a conversation. The servers were friendly and attentive, but not overly sot. You can tell they take pride in making sure you enjoy your dining experience,
Las Clementinas changes it's menu slightly, every few of weeks.now that's the sign of a creative chef. I was looking forward to the shrimp corn dogs, but it wasn't on the new menu. But there were other dishes to-die-for...we loved the plantains and brie, and the pork rinds starter. Both were scrumptious. Not large portions, but enough for two or three to share and get a taste.
We had three different main courses: sea bass and rice, goat tacos with homemade corn tortillas, and, my favorite, the Panamanian seafood stew with coconut rice. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented!
The ambience in Las Clementinas is lovely, relaxed, and low key, not at all stuffy. Nicholas, Misty, and John were welcoming and efficient. The service was outstanding. At the end of the meal, Nicholas played the piano. A perfect end to a perfect meal, and a wonderful stay in Casco Viejo. Las Clementinas is not cheap, but worth every penny and good value for money. Starters were around $8 or $9, and main courses ran around $15-25. They have a delicious looking hamburger on the menu, too. Go to the website and check out a sample menu, but keep in mind it might be different when you go. And I highly recommend that you go! It's a special place, and I'll be back some day when I return to Panama.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank maryama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Wow, what an amazing and detailed review! Thank you so very much for all your kind words about our food, staff, and ambiance! We did, indeed, recently change the menu and while the corndog was one of my personal favorites also, we do endeavour to change things up a bit sometimes. I know everyone in the kitchen, as well as the waitstaff, will be so thrilled to read this review. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing