We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not only excellent, but consistent and professional”

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Ranked #21 of 980 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not only excellent, but consistent and professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having great food is a start. Having great service can make up for mediocre food, especially when drinks are involved. The thing we loved about Las Clemantinas was, we were not guests at the hotel, but we were treated as if we were. We came in ten minutes after they opened, and we were welcomed in, seated, and immediately given excellent service. These things are not exactly common in Panama, even in the city.

EVERYTHING measures up to the fine dining standards I have from working in the service industry for years. The server did quality checks after each course, offered refills on beverages and refilled water without asking. They preset silverware and shared plates. Clearly the manager, Maria, who also stopped by, is running a tight ship. We ordered simple dishes and they shined with the layered flavors of a professional chef, not just some glorified line cook who has some control over the menu.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, but spend some time in Panama, and you will especially appreciate how professionally they go about their business. And, its right around the corner from the Rana Dorada, so you can have a pint after dinner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nathanialwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Wow, what an amazing review! We are delighted you found our service and food excellent. Those are the things each of us works towards every day here. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    140
    34
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Possibly our favorite restaurant in Panama City. Beautiful room, courteous, attentive service, and amazing food. Have been there a couple of times and loved it. No specific dish is our favorite, loved everything. It is the type of restaurant that serves some things I don't actually like, but they find a way to present it that I end up loving it. I won't bore you with everything we ate, but suffice it to say that every single thing that was brought to our table was enjoyed thoroughly. Very romantic and worth every cent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChandiGourmet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
What a wonderful review! We are so incredibly touched that you found our restaurant enjoyable and had such nice things to say about our food. Thank you! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to dine is Casco Viejo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was one of the nicer places I have dined in Panama. There seems to be a real chef in the kitchen, who has put together a thoughtful and delicious menu. It was on the pricey side, but you get what you pay for. The atmosphere is casual, but elegant. The music just jazzy enough. The wait staff attentive and accurate. I had a double thick pork chop that was so good I had to fight my husband off. He tried the tenderloin, which was a smaller cut then he was expected, but served with a lavish serving of creamy, cheesy rich potatoes - so he certainly did not leave hungry. They served a non-alcoholic drink that I loved - sort of a virgin mojito. So refreshing that I would stop in for that alone when I am wandering the street of Casco Viejo. We also stayed in the attached hotel for the night. Beautiful and spacious accommodations that have been so lovingly restored that every nook was a pleasure to experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
What an absolute pleasure to wake up to this review this morning. Thank you for writing about your experience with us, both in the restaurant and hotel. It is absolutely guests like yourself, who make working at Clementinas such a joy for all of us. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson B.C Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Liked the atmosphere, cool little spot. Has nice outdoor garden area as well. Rooftop seating and view was amazing. Food was very good. Had Calamari salad, small but good. Husband had Classic Burger, yummy! Service was good. Only draw back was the pricing. $12.00 for a burger is a little much, but $6.00 for a small glass of wine is outrageous , considering how cheap alcohol is here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kootenaygrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice review of our restaurant and food. We're very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your experience here. I'm very sorry you found the $6 price per glass of wine expensive. You are right, domestic alcohol is cheap here, but decent wine is not since it is all imported and taxed. Whenever I visit the States, it totally throws me how inexpensive the wine is there compared to here. Regardless, we are so pleased that with that one exception you had a good time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing and cool breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I went here for breakfast to take a break from the heat on a Sunday morning. Great food, I sat at the bar and loved the environment and feel of it all. I would return the same time of day for a great start to the day before touring the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your kind words! So few people realize we are open for breakfast, and the bar or garden is such a nice way to start the morning. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and hope you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing