We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Sunday Brunch”
Review of Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very charming facility, especially the outdoor garden. Although the fixed price menu for Sunday Brunch seemed a bit high, it isn't when you consider that you get an appetizer, two drinks, entre, dessert and coffee. The food is good, and the service is friendly. Be sure to make a reservation, especially if you want to sit in the outdoor garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SteveKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed our brunch. It can get a little crazy on Sundays, but the garden is a perfect place to enjoy a relaxing Sunday with good food and mimosas. We hope you come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 289 of 497 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food was delicious. We went with a group of eight. The staff put together a table of 4 and two smaller tables of 2. The table for 4 was unstable and rocking back and forth. We asked the staff to see if they could fix/adjust it or change the table. They made a lame effort to fix it and we had to manage the shaky table all during dinner anytime someone put their elbows on the table. The grilled pork chop were amazing with a citrus gooseberry sauce. The appetizers were tiny... not big enough to share. The location of the restaurant a bit sketchy.

Thank mfg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we are glad you enjoyed the food, we're so sorry you felt our restaurant lacked ambiance. It's one of the things we're most known for. The tables can be a little rocky sometimes, mostly due to the fact that they are custom made from reclaimed wood from buildings in the immediate area. We will keep trying to keep them steady, though! Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staying at the hotel Las Clementinas I decided to give the restaurant a try. Nice setting with opportunity to watch the interesting live in the old town just passing outside the window. Cozy bar with excellent bar staff. Friendly waiters. Good food and wine menu. Excellently prepared dishes from hamburgers to more fancy stuff. Definitely worth a try - and not only when you stay at the hotel. Valet Parking available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FranzinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for the review! We're always thrilled when our hotel guests come to dine or have a drink at the restaurant. We're very glad you enjoyed the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We walked in without knowing anything about the place. It turned out to be a nice surprise. The food was excellent and the service was hospitable. I definitely recommend this restaurant and you can count on it that we will go back soon.

The restaurant is part of a boutique hotel. We had a chance to see one of the rooms, very fancy. This place has a very romantic atmosphere, great for a date night.

Cheers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magellan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Wow! Great review! Thank you so much for the kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed yourself and will be returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had lunch here recently, lovely interior and the courtyard garden was lovely. I can imagine eating there in the evening would be great. Food was good but after hearing such good reviews had expected something spectacular and was a little bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, tasty and good just didn't "wow" us. Good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MuhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for writing about our restaurant and your experience here. We're very glad you liked the atmosphere and service, but are disappointed we didn't Wow you with the food! We do hope you return and give us another crack at it. I promise you will not be disappointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing