We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place with very solid, tasty food!”
Review of La Forchetta - CLOSED

La Forchetta
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A decent place with very solid, tasty food!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Restaurant is located on the pittoresque Plaza de la Catedral in the historic city of Panama, the Casco Antiguo. It has a small, but very carefully designed indoor dining area and uses a part of the center of the plaza as outdoor dining facility.
As everywhere in the Casco Antiguo in panama you might get bothered by (foreign) street vendors or (local) begging kids, so we prefer to eat inside.
In various visits now we have always received good and qualified service. The pizzas are tastey and really italian. Try the Calzone! The Lasagne was a little mild, but the Corvina with Portobello mushrooms is a real hit, absolutely beautiful.
The price level is acceptable and dining in a historic city center is not that easy in Panama...
4 Points from us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbDurchDieMitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great italian style pizza”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I LOVE italian style pizza and this restaurant got it right! The pizza was delicious and the staff are very nice. We even came back on our last day and ordered a pizza to go before we left Panama and it was well worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok Italian but good location”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Had an ok meal here and there are better places in the old town for dinner. Great location though with outside seating on the square with lots of people watching opportunities - when we were there another time just for drinks, the drama of the day was an escaped pet iguana in the nearby trees that the locals were trying to get back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good portions, good service.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice location in Casco Viejo on the Square. We even managed to park within a block. Large pizzas large salad we ordered too much and the bill was not outrageous. Everything was served quickly and by friendly staff who seems to change with each dish. Nothing special about the atmosphere but we enjoyed our meal and would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiaMiaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best pizzas in town”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

There are restaurants making pizza in Casco Viejo with better reviews, but I would definitely disagree. This restaurant makes the best thin crust pizza with the freshest ingredients. The atmosphere is nice, very modern. There have ample outdoor seating in the adjacent square at night. Definitely worth the visit!

They also have amazing lunch specials.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Discocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forchetta also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing