We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
117
86
40
16
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
117
86
40
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace casco viejo old city la muralla complete kitchen split level huge apartment direct access an older building great bars and restaurants full bath adjoining restaurant police presence great ac construction work location was perfect living room
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 278 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The hotel did tell us in advance that the elevators were being refurbished but we didn't expect to have to step around a construction site. The room (No. 1) was very spacious and comfortable with a good kitchenette and the adjoining restaurant served good food. There was no water in the morning, but it did come back - apparently a municipal problem but we were surprised the hotel didn't have water storage tanks. Give it a few months, hopefully this little hotel will blossom.

Room tip: Room no 1 had a super little balcony with great views.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bookings C, Director de Recepción at Casa Antigua Panama, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Mrs Tracy J.

It was a pleasure to have attended at the time of your registration, they are a very nice couple, it is a pleasure to know about your experience with us. We finished the construction the next month, we hope to see you again.

Kinds Regards;
Eny Quintero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

What a disaster! Dirty, stinky, under construction (so not safe at all for the guests), should be closed immediately!
Few days before our stay we received a message that the lift is out of order. But actually the hotel is out of order however still receives reservations... the entrance is through the back door and kitchen of the bar next to the hotel. The staircase is dirty because there is a HUGE construction everewhere! It is just not safe! The room was big but we booked a room for 2 adults and a kid and there was only one bed. The towels didn’t look good (clean) as the floor, especially corners. We needed to leave early and the lady at the reception told us that somebody will bring breakfast to our rooms but nobody did. We left the hotel through the bar again. There was nobody there, nobody at reception. Just a nightmare...

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Bajonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bookings C, Director de Recepción at Casa Antigua Panama, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Good Evening Miss Bajonka

Thank you for choosing us Casa Antigua Hotel.

We deeply regret the inconvenience caused during your short stay with us and we appreciate your comments to improve this type of detail.

We understand the inconvenience caused by the remodeling, we are very satisfied of already being in our final stage of our new elevator and Rooftop.

Every day we continue working on the improvement of our services and facilities, since our main objective is to make your stay unforgettable.

We hope you continue enjoying your stay in our beautiful Panana.

Best Regards
Franco Mascolli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Usually I am fairly generous and may overlook some issues, but in this case, the hallways and rooms were filthy. There was dirt in all the corners. There was a really gross, greasy-looking couch. We ran out of toilet paper. Not a positive experience. Service was also poor. I had a feeling that nobody really cleaned or cared.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Pirwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

First leg of my first solo trip ever, first time in Panama. The hotel is perfectly located to visit Casco Viejo. They are doing renovations so to accomodate me for the daytime noise they gave me a better room. As I was about during the day none of the noise bothered me. That said, if you are a light sleeper you want a "back" room. No views but the day starts early here, cars like to honk and on a Friday/Saturday night people head out and it can be a bit noisy. I live in a club area downtown in my town so it doesn't bother me but I can see some having a hard time. That said, anywhere in Casco will encounter that problem. Evelyn was an absolute darling, in a genuine way. She's a credit to the hospitality industry and i've been around enough to say she's top of a list for me. The rooms are cleaned daily, a cute coffee maker that looks like an angry penguin. If you like to drink copious amounts of coffee there is Cafe Sucre 1 mini block away. Review to come. There's a full mini kitchen which i only used for beer and water given food is really inexpensive here. Shower only, and temperature control is a little finicky but it was the same in the other 2 hotels so i think it's a Panama thing maybe.

No elevators, so you will have to climb stairs to get to your room. But it helps burn off all the yummy food you'll be eating :). Walking distance to the Mercado de Mariscos if you are planning on visiting that as well. AND last but not least there is a bar and restaurant attached so if you don't feel like straying far then it's perfect!!

Really a great first experience with the city at this hotel. Safe, clean, hospitable, comfortable. Great place.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank AugustaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bookings C, Director de Recepción at Casa Antigua Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Hi good day!

We thank you in advance for your visit and for choosing us as your place of stay in Panama. Thank you very much for your comments and we continue working to continue offering you our services and to serve you in the best possible way ... We are very pleased to have you with us and we hope in the future to have you back here in our House ....

For me it was a pleasure to have attended to her. Augusta I hope to see you again and I feel comfortable that you liked the room.

regards

Evelyn Bethancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

The worst of it is mostly the fact that they did not inform us of ongoing renovations. The place was filthy. Things thrown all over the place, contractors working full time, water and dirt on the floor. No elevator, had to walk up 5 floors through grim and dirty and smelly staircases. Finally get to the room and it looks and feels disgusting and grimy. Two ladies come in to bring towels which were also filthy.
Needless to say, we connected to their wifi and quickly booked another hotel, which was cheaper and with all the basic accomodations that were clearly missing from this hotel.
Still working on a refund.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ErikaA1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bookings C, Gerente at Casa Antigua Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the trouble to share your experience and we welcome the feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused by urgent necessary works that unfortunately could not be avoided and we are truly sorry for the resulting disturbance

Regards

Hotel old house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews