We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Antigua
Ranked #14 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and would highly recommend Casa Antigua. It is on Calle 9, right as you enter Casco Viejo. Right next door is the Relic Bar (part of Luna's Castle hostel) that has a great outdoor bar. It is mostly tourist so if you are looking for "local" that isn't the place.
The room was clean and really large. It is more like an apartment. It was really nice to have a fridge and wireless interet. We also had cable tv. And really important was HOT water!! Downstairs is Ay! Carmela, their little restaurant. We didn't eat there a lot, but when we did it was very good! Pablo, the manager of the place is awesome!! Very helpful and friendly. He lives on sight, so I felt as if he is concerned about safety as well.
The neighborhood is on the edge of the "safe" part, but we never felt unsafe walking to or from there. As most posts say, there are plenty of police on the corner and the British Embassy is right across the street with a guard out front at all times.
This place is more expensive than the hostels, but a great price for an apartment type room. Better than a hotel. If we every went pack, I would book here!!

Room Tip: Charges room has a great view of the city, overlooking the ocean. Not really a full kitchen, but doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
26
125
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Casa Antigua for 4 nights during our vacation in Panama. It was our base to which we came back to from a few days in Santa Fe and from the beautifull San Blas islands.

The rooms/apartments are very large and tastefully decorated. In each apartment there's a kitchen, 2 ACs (!), WiFi, flat screen tv+cable, safe and a dinning area. There's also a terrace with great views of the rising skyline of panama city from across the bay.

Pablo, who runs the place, is incredibly nice and helpful. His english is great and he helped us book airport transfers and flights which we struggled with because of our poor Spanish. He let us store bags we didn't need when we left for a few days to tour different places around the country. Always with a smile and a "yes, and" approach.

The Resturant in the building is excellent which was very convenient too. The house is located across the street from the president's buildings so there is police 24/7, which helps with feeling safe. Anywhere is casco Vieja (the old town) is easily accessible and The location is also great to catch a cab anytime in the day.

To summarize: very comfortable accommodation and great value for money, especially the studio apartment on the second floor.
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giladdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Cruces apartment. The views are breathtaking, looking out over the bay at downtown and out over Casco Viejo's colonial architecture. Our room was clean and comfortable with a very tastefully done combination of the old construction and modern design. Casa Antigua stands right at the entrance of Casco Viejo and is within a few minutes walking distance to all the sites and restaurants in the neighborhood.

It's a nice room (full kitchen, excellent bathroom, air conditioning, sitting area), but there aren't a lot of other frills (no pool for instance), which is fine if you know that's not what you're looking for. It is an apartment building that offers prices per night or per week. One shouldn't come here expecting daily housecleaning or laundry services, just as you wouldn't if you were staying in an apartment elsewhere.

Pablo's help was indispensable when we first arrived. I'd forgotten my guide book at home and we were clueless about where to visit, where to eat, where to steer clear of, etc. He pointed us in the direction of some very good restaurants, explained where to find the tourism police, and encouraged us to explore the neighborhood while still pointing out the area to the north that we should avoid. The free wireless internet was also very helpful and worked well in helping us plan other parts of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lchap717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at Casa Antigua. It was a home base for our entire Panama trip, and Pablo, the manager, was incredibly accommodating. We stayed in two different apartments for a total of five nights. The apartments are absolutely beautiful and provide a wonderful place to stay in a great part of town.

A few things to note:
The location, although in Casco Viejo, is right on the edge of some areas tourists aren't recommended to visit. At night, during the week, you may feel a bit uncomfortable walking around, but we never felt completely unsafe.

The apartments weren't serviced each night., but we didn't stay long enough to learn how often they were serviced.

The apartments are large and include well equipped kitchens. We were able to cook a full meal without needing additional utensils.

Pablo is fantastic and helped us make our trip to Panama that much more special by recommending places to eat, things to do, and allowing us to keep a bag with him while we traveled the country.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed in the Chagres Room. It is a very well sized apartment, with a great decoration and very comfortable. It is located in a very nice building at the entrance of the Casco Antiguo. As the Casco Antiguo is small, the apartments are walking distance to everything around here.

Remember, these are apartments and not a hotel, so no room service, laundry etc.

If you're looking for a very nice time at Casco Antiguo, with a more local flavour to it, this is the place

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicanGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Finding a place to stay in Casco Viejo that was neither too expensive nor too shabby was not easy. But, I happened upon Casa Antigua (on-line) a few days before we left for Panama City and decided to take a chance on staying there even though the place was so new there were not yet reviews on Trip Advisor.

The location was exactly what I wanted in the small neighborhood of Casco Viejo. The apartment was spacious and clean with a Living / Dining area, Bedroom, Bathroom and small but equipped Kitchen. The roof deck also has amazing views of the whole city and waterfront.

The hotel manager was also very helpful in letting us know where the safe places to go were be it day or night.

Please understand this is not a normal hotel with amenities, but more like having your own apartment in the city. And therefore, the manager is not always available

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gala09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Casco Viejo. It was very clean, loved the roof top views, and you cannot beat the location for exploring. The air conditioning worked and was very welcome after walking around. I never had any fears walking around day or night. We stayed for an entire week and Pablo was kind enough to wait up for us when circumstances made our arrival late at night. It was very quiet .
The only thing we missed was a washer and dryer - but hopefully they will at least have a community one installed soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auroralady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 113 in Panama City
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 113 in Panama City
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#39 of 113 in Panama City
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 113 in Panama City
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 113 in Panama City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Antigua

Property: Casa Antigua
Address: Street 9 | Between Avenida Eloy Alfaro and Avenue B, Panama City 0815, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Antigua Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of Casco Antiguo. It is a boutique hotel with 7 comfortable suites and 2 cozy rooms. Each room and suite is equipped with stove, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker, toaster, and kitchenware.At a walking distance, you will find the Coastal Strip (Cinta Costera), as well as all the historical buildings, churches, plazas, museums and enchanting narrow streets, which will take you back in time. The hotel features a rooftop terrace with views of the city skyline, the Bay of Panama, the colonial buildings and the Amador Causeway. Inside the hotel, you will find the original stone walls and tiles. Its spaces evoke the architecture of the 17th century merged with 21st century touches.In the Casco area you will find plenty of nightlife and dining options, like the recently inaugurated Pips Restaurant (located on the ground floor of the hotel), and the Grapes Restaurant, with high-quality international cuisine and steak house, located a few steps away from the Presidential Palace. We have direct access to the famous Cinta Costera in Ave. Balboa, features 6 km of seaside walking track ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel Panama City
Casa Antigua Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing