We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gourmet Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna - CLOSED

Luna
Price range: $21 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: twitter/Lunapanama
New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gourmet Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I took my wife for a special dinner and this place is 'truly special'

The AC was a bit cold , so next time would go a bit overdressed. The restaurant is very spacious and gives you feeling of privacy and not the usual 'factory assembly line'

We both ordered Beef Carpaccio as starters and these were absolutely ' the best Carpaccio De Res' we have ever eaten - tender , great flavours , colour , presentation - full marks. The wine list is quite extensive and we found a good chilean cabernet sauvignon to go well with our food.

For Plato Fuertes, we had Yellow Fin Tuna Steak Teriyaki style and Filete de res with Salsa Vino Tinto - both were cooked to perfection.

The service is a bit clumsy and waiters seem to be novices - our waiter was pouring us wine while looking at other guest tables.

But from food point of view - great place and highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    61
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for special dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Chicharrones were great, friuti de mare and grouper were wonderful. Service was outstanding. Only downside was table of loud Americans that acted like it was their first time out...embarrassing.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

When my friend's son managed this place it was great. Fusion food and good service. A bit pricey for Panama City, but great for cocktails.

Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprising good food, classic ambiance, a bit too much a/c”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

really had suprising dishes. need to look good for the restaurant as it looks like a regular house; good food, pleasant service and well priced Take some long sleaves ;) I notices a lot of people knew eachother so looked like a lot of locals eat here, which is a good sign!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food combined with useless service and bad Champagne at $15 a glass.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Waiters are all beginners and none of them are professionals. We had the Salmon and salad and food was exceptional but the two glasses of Champagne at $15 each was a rip off as the Champagne had no gas and it was from a bottle that was for sure open a day or two before. Atmosphere and decoration of the restaurant can be compared to some of the classiest restaurants in New York. The terrace is beautiful but the view of the rubbish bins across the road is not great. After all I will still give them 4 stars.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing