We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peruvian dinner in Panama”

Restaurante Machu Picchu
Ranked #39 of 1,005 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
261 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Peruvian dinner in Panama”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had dinner here that was excellent. I had Grilled shrimp and my husband had sauteed seafood with an excellent "semi soy sauce". Both our meals were cooked well and reasonably priced. We decided to be brave and ordered a "new-to-us" appetizer, Grilled Octopus. It was very tast and not chewy at all. The lime it came with added a great touch. I ordered the Classic Pisco Sour, which was made with an egg white and it was very good. My husband ordered a Passion Fruit Pisco Sour (he loves Passion Fruit) and the sweet clashed with the sour. He would go traditional next time. We tried to order dessert but they were out of our two top choices, Passion Fruit Pie and Lemon Pie-and this was early in the evening (Tuesday). This is the first restaurant that had my beloved Chardonnay since the Hard Rock Cafe, so it was great for me. Recommend this place as long as you enjoy seafood. We ate outside which was very pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    123
    58
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
506 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good food in a popular neighborhood”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I really have no complaints about Macchu Picchu. I ate at their sister restaurant in Boquete and had a wonderful corvina. Decided I just wanted an appetizer and a glass of wine and chose ceviche in a chili sauce. It was fine. No real complaints. Came with very nice garlic bread. I sat outside because the air conditioning was turned a bit too high for my taste. Service was fine, especially for Panama City, where things tend to be rather relaxed. They have an extensive menu and almost anyone can find something to please. I'd eat there again, to be sure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Decoamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Nothing spectacular but overall good food. Pretty good service. We got seated right away & they have menus in English as well as Spanish.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TwoLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food great but service poor”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were recommended by our concierge at Toscanna Inn and we walked over there. The food was wonderful! The Corvina was great as well as the specialty sampler for two that was served flambe. The Peruvian seafood dish was excellent. The only complaint was the service was very poor. The restaurant was full and there were only a few waiters. The waiters were going inside and outside waiting on tables. We were served our salad with our meal. It took a long time for the drinks to be served and only one of us received our drink. We had to flag down the waiter to bring the other drink and it still took awhile. The food was so good but the entire experience was diminished due to the lack in service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lak5312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
188 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Popular restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Walked to Mach Pichu restaurant from the Crowne Plaza. Peruvian food. Specialties fish and seafood. Nice décor; Peruvian themed. Very busy. Good idea to make a reservation. Lots of choices. Spanish menu and English Menu. Lots of choices. We both appetizers had fish main courses. Service a bit slow but restaurant was very busy and two large party groups. Wines by the glass,are well priced around 6$. Bottle prices are pretty good too. If you are in the area give it a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mas1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Machu Picchu also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing