We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place in a quiet, green part of Panama City.”
Review of Jamraka Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jamraka Homestay
Ranked #37 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a place in a quiet, green part of Panama City.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Jamraka Homestay for a total of five nights on two occasions, at the beginning and end of our month in Panama. By the end we felt we had got to know Ciro and his mother really well (a testament to how friendly and welcoming they are.) Ciro's English is flawless, and he gave us some great tips on what to see locally, as only someone born and bred in the city could. We were able to leave our main luggage here while we went to Contadora Island for a few days, which was a big help, and we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble.
The room was comfortable with a good fan, and we had the run of the kitchen and use of two shared showers, as well as a cosy lounge with cable TV. The garden is large and pleasant, and the area is an oasis of green calm in what can be a noisy, built-up city.
We arrived on a late flight, and Ciro's directions from a local pizza restaurant didn't mean anything to the cab drivers at the airport. They got us to the right neighbourhood eventually, and we found the house after a while, but it wasn't easy in the dark, and getting a map printed off in advance, or very clear directions might be a good idea.
We really enjoyed our time here, and would thoroughly recommend it to someone looking for a safe, quiet home-from-home in a bustling city, but within a short cab ride of the old quarter and within walking distance of the causeway. A great find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richrob68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern NH
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Jamraka homestay a step above a hostel. Casilda and her son Ciro own and run the homestay, and they do make it feel like home. They were absolutely wonderful hosts and made us feel like we were part of their family. Ciro is a gem, speaks beautiful English, and was incredibly helpful with every aspect of the house and in getting around Panama City. He offered wonderful suggestions about things to see and do. Casilda is a delight, and was absolutely wonderful. She is learning English and would be delighted to practice on you. In addition, the neighborhood is wonderful--safe, beautiful, interesting, and quiet. Jamraka is not fancy but has all that non-traditional travelers need. If you are looking for a great experience with wonderful people, Jamraka is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank girlybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This place is a cross between a hostel and a homestay, located in a residential neighborhood. Very comfortable, with wifi, a washer and clothes line, kitchen use, bath towels, a place in the room to hang your clothes and put your belongings, with accessible hosts and a nice backyard, walking distance from little grocery stores and restaurants. I stayed here for several days with my son and would stay again if I ever found myself in Panama City again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have been staying at the Jamraka Homestay for two of the three months I have been in Panama.
The owners, Ciro and his mother Catchi, are the sweetest people! I was worried about finding an affordable place to stay with my little dog while buying a boat in Panama, and I found this gem!
Its like staying with your family, they are so helpful and welcoming, they do so much to make your time here easy and fun. The rooms are private, the space is clean(Catchi is always cleaning!) and the neighbourhood is clean and green and safe. I have seen so many amazing birds, and animals just looking in the garden here...there is a nice little park out side the door, and Amador causeway is walking distance.Cerro Ancon is right outside the door... All parts of the city are within a 3 dollar cab ride
Ciro is fun and so friendly and knows loads about Panama city and where to go and what to do.
It is really been a pleasure to stay here and I will miss them when Im gone for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukiblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#6 of 114 in Panama City
1,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
1.4 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 114 in Panama City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
458 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 114 in Panama City
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamraka Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamraka Homestay

Property: Jamraka Homestay
Address: 1532B Calabash Street | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jamraka Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamraka Homestay Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing