We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #34 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We loved Las Clementinas from the moment we arrived in our room. It had the feel of a comfortable apartment plus three balconies along with more than sufficient air conditioning, ceiling fans and strong wifi. The atmosphere of the place is very much of a part with the Casco Viejo--old fashioned subdued lighting throughout, unrenovated stairwell, voices in the street, regulars in the downstairs cafe.
The staff was very, very helpful, and so were their contacts. We booked an early cab to go to the canal tour. The driver committed to be there when we returned and was. He also was on the spot the next day for our too soon return to the airport.
Overall, this place made us feel connected to its place, something that you can't make happen out of a cookbook. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuillermoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We just loved that you said you felt connected to the place. Helping our guests feel connected, not just to the hotel, but to the neighborhood and to the country, is everything we strive for. Casco, and what is happening here, is an ongoing story. We think making our guests feel a part of that story makes for a better holiday experience -- and better memories in the end. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 420 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I know there are nothing but rave reviews about Las Clementinas: believe them! This place is fabulous! The location in Casco Viejo is ideal, the rooms are huge and so, so comfortable and the roof top is the most amazing place to enjoy the views - better than any others written up! The restaurant served the best food we had in 9 days - and believe me we had fabulous meals! Miguel and Marvin have to be two of the most helpful managers and did so much to make our trip perfect! When we had a slight problem with a no-show driver, which was not at all their fault, they went out of their way to address the issue. Can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torontoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hello and thank you for your wonderful review! I know myself and the entire staff felt just awful about the situation with the no-show driver. We could not be happier that upon your return, your experience with us met your expectations, and those which we as a whole strive to give our guests. Marvin and Miguel are just amazing, I agree! Thank you and happy New Year to you and your lovely family! Regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Las Clementinas is a little cozy hotel in tne Casco viejo de Panama, it is a very luxuriious place with the best of services, the location is perfect in Casco Viejo, the old part of Panama. Las Clementinas is the best option for an experienced traveller that want to know Panama and its culture, maybe it is not the best option for a business trip, but it is the best option if you have an open mind and good taste.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fernando1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

"The best option if you have an open mind and good taste." This has got to be one of the very best comments we've received, and very high praise indeed. Thank you so very much for the lovely words! Regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family and I ate dinner here in Feb. 2013 during our vacation to Panama. Since my parents treated my husband and I to this trip, we wanted to take them out to a "nice" dinner. We chose Las Clementinas and were not disappointed. My parents still rave about the ceviche we had, and my husband still talks about the paella! The drinks were delicious -- there are tons of interesting cocktails -- and the food is fabulous. The overall vibe is trendy. The area is a bit sketchy from what I understand, though, so be careful walking at night. Highly recommend -- just order a cab.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBrady723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hello and Happy New Year! Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're really thrilled to hear you enjoyed our signature ceviche with passion fruit, and the vibe of our lovely restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Highest marks for this lovely boutique hotel in Casco Viejo. The staff are welcoming and accomodating.
We stayed on the 3rd floor with views of the city and water. A large seating and dining area and very adequate kitchen. The bed and bath are smaller but very comfortable. The decor is understated and authentic. Excellent location in the old quarter which is being renovated. Easy access to shops and restaurants and the historic sights. Breakfasts were excellent and generous. Dont miss the restaurant for dinner (separate review)

Room Tip: Third floor for the views. There is no lift but the stairs are easy to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Happy holidays and thank you for taking the time to write! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially the breakfasts. I'm very partial to our breakfast, and think it's probably one of the best in the city. We wish you a very happy 2014 and hope you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I took my girlfriend here for dinner and we had a great time. We didn't stay at the hotel, we just had dinner and a few drinks but it was great to see. The bar & restaurant area is pretty small, which I think adds to the charm of Casco Antiguo, so I'd recommend calling ahead for reservations. The service was very good and the cocktails were great. I had a delicious cheeseburger and she had a steak that she thought was good but not amazing. After dinner we headed up to the roof to check out the views looking back upon Panama City, I'd recommend that too if you have your camera with you! A good spot to eat dinner in Casco Viejo if you want to get out of the downtown scene for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We're so glad you liked our hamburger! It really is considered one of the best one's in the city. We hope you come again with your girlfriend so that we can have another opportunity to impress her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I couldn't ask for a nicer hotel. Our rooms (we stayed there twice while in Panama) were immaculate, simply & beautifully decorated, and exceptionally comfortable. The "rooms" are actually set up like a small apartment with a small kitchen & living room in addition to the bedroom & bath. We could have stayed there for a month! And did wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel staff was great - friendly, and very helpful. The restaurant is very good. After fishing on Lake Gatun one afternoon, we brought our catch back to the hotel & the chef prepared us an amazing meal with our fish, including the best ceviche I have ever had.
This was my first time in Casco Antiguo & when we arrived at Las Clementinas I was feeling uncomfortable with the adjacent neighborhood & the police station next door. But, we quickly fell in love with the area: it's diversity, energy, and historic charm. Las Clementinas very much adds to the charm.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb too many stairs, ask for a room on the first level. We stayed in two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Your review really made us all smile -- especially our Chef when we read the review to him. Best ceviche ever is certainly high praise! We could not be more thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and, as importantly, got to know and appreciate our wonderful, diverse and exciting neighborhood. We hope you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 115 in Panama City
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#26 of 115 in Panama City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#60 of 115 in Panama City
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#65 of 115 in Panama City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B | Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $127 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing