We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit noisy but lots of fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Clementinas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A bit noisy but lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for place for one night. it is right next to a police station, one side is the great area where lots of renovations are taking place; other side is considered to be very dangerous. Hotel is very safe. In the morning you can hear the policemen talk loudly, but other than that is is really a nice property with big one bed room apartments with kitchen etc.
Breakfast was quite good. There are no elevators in this place so if you cannot climb stairs, do not stay here! Having said that I really liked the neighborhood. We were able to walk around and see old buildings and churches.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nishendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review! The old town can be a little noisy, but it's filled with the unique energy and spirit of a neighborhood in transition, which is home to a truly diverse community of locals, expats, artists, musicians, and more. We're so pleased you enjoyed it, and your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    85
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
219
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had dinner here last month, food was excellent, had the sea bass ceviche with passion fruit which was simply divine and the sauteed prawns which was superb but too much to finish. Service was excellent. Great little spot I would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We're so pleased you enjoyed our signature ceviche with passionfruit! With so many great ceviches in Panama, we're always thrilled with the positive response ours gets. And thank you for the nice words about our service. I'll make sure I pass that along to the staff!

Best regards,

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great hotel for a small family. On the edge of the old city, so there is some flavor out the balcony at night-- but in a positive way. We really liked staying here and taking day trips to other parts of the city-- we were glad the entire time that we chose this as our base. The rooms are wonderful. Huge. Comfortable, while still connected historically to the building. Bed mattresses were good. The kitchen was relatively large-- full-sized fridge. Spotlessly clean. Roof balcony. Front and back balcony in the room. But, the hotel front desk service was the best part. Extremely helpful-- helped us move in with our kids and baggage, recommended wonderful restaurants, and his contacts with taxi drivers were super-- just good people. I felt very comfortable and well taken care of. Even had good cable stations on the tv for 4 and 5 year olds... We would absolutely stay here for a couple of nights again-- without a doubt.

Room Tip: Room 1-- there is no elevator. It was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much, on behalf of our entire staff, for your kind words regarding your stay with us. We could not be happier that you liked your rooms and, even better, we pleased with the service from our reception/concierge staff. We sincerely hope you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Unfortunately we spent only one nicht in this beautiful hotel, but we enjoyed this little time very much. The staff ist very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, large and luxurious (the shower ist like wow!!) and have balconies. One can see that there is/was love for the details.
We had our dinner in the restaurant because it was very nice and inviting. And besides, lots of people recommended it on Tripadvisor :-)
It was very delightful, the food tasted really good and you just have to taste the chocolat fondant!
For breakfast we had the French toast mit maple syrup and we very rarely had better one!
Thank you for this pleasant stay and if we are coming back to Panama City we will definately stay at this place!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and they all have balconies/Windows to the street where it can be louder in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junsan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the food also! The french toast for breakfast is definitely a guest favorite. We look forward to hosting you again, should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Loved this stylish property on the edge of Panama City's old town. The owners are actively involved in the social and economic development of the historic quarter and it shows in their passion and knowledge of the old city.
The free guide produced by the hotel left in the room is intelligently written and unlocks some of the treasures of the area.

The property keeps alive some of the local history and has a period style and atmosphere capturing the elegance of French turn of century of the century Panama together with American, and Latin touches.

The old town remains in places dilapidated but it is safe and a pleasure to explore on foot. Not only is there a visible police presence on most blocks the local people are friendly and welcoming so you feel at home.

Our suite was like a large vintage apartment. High ceilings, hardwood floors, panelled double doors, ceiling fans. Large living room with sofa and dining table, a small kitchen and stocked fridge and guest room with lovely bathroom with interesting tiles.

Carolina and her team including Miguel and Marvin are excellent; welcoming, natural and friendly.

The restaurant is very good and is where guests enjoy an a la carte breakfast.

Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Andrew,

What a lovely review of our hotel. Thank you so very much for the thoughtful and incredibly kind words regarding not just the hotel, but the staff and neighborhood -- all things about which we are incredibly proud. We remember you both very well, and very fondly. On behalf of all of us here at Las Clementinas, we hope you return some day.

Safe travels,

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel successfully developed and installed its own style, its own character. Rooms are very well-appointed and tastefully equipped, at least the one we had. Needless to say that our room was very clean. Breakfast was ok. You quite likely like the restaurant. Its location in the heart of Casco Viejo is excellent if you want to explore the most exciting part of Panama City.
The neighborhood is quite lively. You can expect some night life around, which also means that it can get a little(!) bit noisy. However, if you close windows you can enjoy a calm night.
Staff was very professional and helpful!!!
In any case, Las Clementinas is a very good alternative to the streamlined hotels you usually find in this town.
The hotel is located just opposite a police station. You find police all over Casco Viajo. It made me scratch my head, how many police it takes to turn a neighborhood into a secure area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your stay with us. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your room and the staff and service.

Like you, we believe this is a much more interesting part of town to stay in when visiting the city. New Panama, while incredibly beautiful, is much like any other big city. Whereas here in the Casco, we believe you will get a richer cultural experience. And also, like you, we often scratch our heads at all the police around, but in the end better too many than too few! And by and large they are a helpful group of young men.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Not much to add to Emma L and Flying Socks' excellent and comprehensive reviews...
The Casco Viejo is definitely the place to stay in Panama City and it's lovely to see so many of its building being renovated in their original style; do yourself a favour and stay away from the newer part of the city.
Las Clementinas itself? In no particular order: old, classic,cosy, simple, clean, friendly, comfortable, bright, plus friendly service, seriously excellent food and a plant-filled patio/terrace with wrought iron furniture. The price tag may seem a little high, but remember that there are only a handful of rooms (which are huge as they include a lounge, kitchen and spacious bathroom). Breakfast is included and possibly the best I've ever had; even what they modestly called the 'continental bead basket'. Dinner didn't disappoint either and it's hardly surprisingly that Clementinas has been voted one of the best restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IzaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Wow, wonderful thoughts thank you! We so appreciate your time in writing about our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your breakfast here! I think it's one of the best breakfasts in town, too. We certainly hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#44 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#61 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#47 of 116 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Property: Las Clementinas Hotel
Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing