We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool boutique hotel...great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #34 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

An excellent choice if you are staying in Casco Viejo for a few nights. After a very long travel day from California, this was a very soft landing. The rooms are huge, quite nice and full of charm. Breakfast is spot on. The bar is cozy and serves a damn good mojito. Most of all the staff is incredibly warm, helpful and full of great recommendations. They helped make dinner reservations and gave us great tips about the area. There is a groovy booklet in your room full of info about the area as well. We really like everything about Las Clementinas and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacksonkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, but more so that you found our staff helpful and warm. It's what I know we all strive for here, so it's great to see that it came across. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Las Clementinas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed there now two times and will stay another time in 10 days. I just love the place. Only 6 suites (2 on each floor). No elevator, as it is a listed classic building - but the most friendly staff will take care of luggage and any other need. Stunning views from every room over the skyline of Panama City and the old town. Even more so on the roof terrace. Take a drink with you before sunset and enjoy the views. Nice little garden for relax or sipping your favourite cocktail. The rooms are spectacular. A lot of niece accessories and old books on Panama and the old town. Comfortable beds. Only the AC makes a lot of noise. The locarion is ideal to explore the city by foot. Valet parking available. Book well in advance, especially for weekends.
Excellent restaurant too - separate review

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Rooms 5 and 6 have even better views, but you have more steps to climb....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranzinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. It's very comprehensive and hopefully gives people a sense of what our hotel is like. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again when next in Panama!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had 3 of the 6 rooms in this lovely boutique hotel and all of us absolutely loved it! The staff went out of their way to ensure our satisfaction. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and very cool from the afternoon sun. They had great recommendations for restaurants and places to shop. Maria made special arrangements on our last night to have a private dinner in the garden with some local musicians from the Jazz Academy. What a way to end our vacation! I can't say enough great things about this hotel. If you want a real taste of Panama while being comfortable in the heart of the old town...this is the place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodpeckerllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hello there and thank you for your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and found our staff helpful -- I know all of us work really hard to make sure our guests have an amazing time here. I'm so happy to hear you loved the jazz musicians! I agree they are just great, and having them play here is a great way to support our local jazz community which has some amazing kids just starting out. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A really welcoming place - just 6 suites of rooms above an excellent cafe/restaurant right in the heart of the Casco Antiguo, with very friendly, helpful staff. Our suite (No 2) was very comfortably furnished, and had a full kitchen off the lounge, as well as a good bedroom, shower room and 3 sets of French windows to a wrapround first floor balcony overlooking the plaza where the local police have a sundown flag-lowering ceremony. Great to sit there and watch the life of the neighbourhood (it gets going about 7am, so you might want to bring your earplugs!)
The cafe opens on to the plaza, so again, a good spot for peoplewatching at breakfast time, but it can get a bit busy in the evenings so a good choice is to dine in the little jungly garden behind Reception - half a dozen tables in among the trees, and the food is excellent. Sea bass, prawns and steak done in interesting ways, as well as some good vegetarian options, and a wine list with reasonably priced Chilean and Argentinian choices (they'll keep the bottle for you to finish next evening).
There's no lift, but it's worth climbing up to the roof terrace for a spectacular view of the downtown skyline, contrasting with the fascinating colonial architecture of the Casco Antiguo.
All over the old town, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, huge amounts of renovation and reconstruction are going on, so in 5 years' time everyone will be flocking to it to stay in boutique hotels and crowd out the pavement cafes, so my advice is 'Come soon, before it gets too crowded!'

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

What a wonderful and comprehensive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed your time in Casco. It is, indeed, growing fast! It's always nice to see guests who take the growing pains in stride. We definitely do try to be a little oasis for our guests, and are so pleased you were liked with our rooms, staff and food. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you're looking for a bit of luxury and don't want to stay in a commercial high rise this is the place for you. The staff are very nice and helpful with anything you need. My husband left his hat at a restaurant and Marvin went out at 10PM to get it for him. The food in the restaurant is good and they have a small vibrant bar scene at night. We used Las Clementinas as our base between excursions and they stored our extra luggage which made it much easier for us. The accomodations are spacious one bedroom suites decorated with antiques and modern furnishings. The views from the balconies are beautiful, mind you that only 20% of Casco Viejo has been restored so you're also looking at the crumbling buildings as well as the beautifull skyline. There are quite a few great little restaurants within walking I distance and it is perfectly to walk to them.

Room Tip: #5 has the best views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moriarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Ms. Moriarty, thank you for writing your lovely review, and for staying with us while you traveled around the region. It was a genuine pleasure to have you and your husband with us, and I know the staff thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you, again, for your kind words. We hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Las Clementinas for one week at the end of January 2013. It was a wonderful place - great staff, comfortable, warm and inviting. The room is beautiful, as is the view.
The hotel is in the old part of the city which is ungoing massive renovations. While our first impression was that the there was a lot of work to be done in the neighborhood, our lasting impression is the the location was second to none. The area has so much to see and do - great places to dine, to shop, etc. We are sure that it will be incredible once it is completed.
The staff at the hotel is so friendly and so helpful - they arranged two day trips for us that were the highlights of our trip.
We would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We liked #5 room on the top floor - incredible view and a beautiful room (but there is no elevator).
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. It's so nice to see someone who appreciates the beauty of our old city, even while it is in transition, as you say. We do hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Las Clementinas with three other couples for three nights. Airport pickups were efficiently arranged by the hotel in advance through Miguel at the front desk. He also arranged for a Casco Antigua tour in the hotel's open air cart, a full day City and Miraflores Locks tour and for a van to transfer us to Colon to join our Windstar cruise. And this was all before we arrived at this lovely, warm and friendly hotel! We just picked up the phone in the U.S. and asked for Miguel. He took care of everything.
The other staff, including Carolina, Maria, Marvin and the rest made us feel right at home. One evening we asked to have drinks served on the rooftop terrace. No problem. What a view! Probably the best in the City.
The rooms were as you see on their website and the beds comfortable. The neighborhood is in transition, but we always felt safe. The breakfasts(included) and the one dinner we had in were excellent. We also ate lunch and dinners in several exceptional restaurants recommended by the staff within walking distance. Three Perfect Days.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PelagicBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

What a great review! We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your three days with us. Miguel, I know, is always a favorite with our guests and he really does go the extra mile. I'm sure he will be so happy with your mention of him in your review. As are we all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#61 of 115 in Panama City
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#52 of 115 in Panama City
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#27 of 115 in Panama City
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#65 of 115 in Panama City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B | Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $129 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing