We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Standard and very cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #37 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very large rooms, actually real suites with large living rooms, good service, very stylish.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zlatko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 420 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. As others have said, more like an apartment than a hotel. The staff was great. Professional, polite and very helpful with anything we needed. Take advantage of their arranging your pick up from the airport. (Charged $40 even though the website said it would be included).Getting through PC traffic is an adventure in and of itself, but the driver we had grabed us right outside of Customs and away we went. They also arranged a 1/2 day Tour of the Miraflores Locks and a drive through PC with Miguel who did an outstanding job ($110). Little communication gap in that we had asked to had the arrangements made, but were unable to confirm that they had been made. Part of the "charm". Casco Viejo is wonderful if you are into history and regentrification. As you walk through Casco, you can feel the history oozing into your pours. We watched a wedding in a church (La Merced) from 1688, we eat at a couple of nice restaurants on Plaza Bolivar, and really enjoyed meeting people from all around the world. The sangria just seemed to be made better by it all! The hotel is an awesome respit from the hustle, bustle, and grime of the city. A police station is across the street which provides safety and some interesting early morning cheers. Have a drink on the rooftop. You see the entire breadth of PC transition. The restaurant was very good and breakfast is included with your room. Las Clementinas was the perfect way to start our time in Panama.

Room Tip: Higher floors (#5 & 6) have better views, but no elevator. Only 6 rooms in total
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkeesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, Owner at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thanks for the kind words!

Regarding the free airport pick up, it's included with stays of three nights or more. If you stayed with us at least three nights, please email Maria (reservations@lasclementinas.com) and she'll make sure the charge is reversed.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Las Clemetinas is a one of a kind boutique hotel located in the historic Casco Viejo neighborhood of Panama City. This is not your stale corporate hotel, but rather, an inspiring alternative. Location can’t be beat. The staff was phenomenal and well trained ready to assist in any capacity. My room was perfect—very large, nice work space (large table), good internet connection (free), fantastic linens and thread counts. I found solace in the morning hanging out in the well shaded garden—nothing like it in Casco. I got a lot of use out of my space which was well worth the money. I nearly moved into the hotel.

Room Tip: You don't need a business center, you have a huge suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTCFIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Las Clementinas and are glad we did. The building was restored to perfection and the room was gorgeous and cozy. I won't repeat what others have said about the neighborhood -- it is a place in mid-transition with extreme polarities of poverty and gentrification.

But that is not the reason for the 4 vs. 5 stars. While the service was gracious and friendly, it would have been helpful to have had more concierge-like guidance on activities and dining options. They do provide a book with some neighborhood suggestions, but it isn't deep enough to make an informed decision. When asked for deeper guidance/recommendations there was really none on offer. Just sort of a list of canned options with no texture.

This is not deter from our experience in the hotel, but it prevented it from exceeding our expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, Owner at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thank you for the great review, Ollymom!

The comment about our concierges is well deserved. Both are new to the neighborhood and need to get a feel for all of the restaurants, shops and bars. They're getting better every day and should have it down in a few weeks. The manager or one of the owners is almost always in the hotel to help, so we'll make sure that they lean on us a bit more to help guests while they're learning the ropes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This small hotel is a perfect place to stay if you want to get away from the downtown big hotels. It's located in old Panama City which is becoming a "hot spot" to visit. Some buildings have been revamped while others are still crumbling, but all in all, a fun place to stay a couple of nights. The bar/restaurant located on ground floor has great atmosphere, food, wine and wait staff. They serve a great hamburger! All the employees were very helpful in getting a taxi for you or recommending activities for a days outing. An added bonus, the hotel is located next to the police station so there are always many policemen around "in training." Gave me an extra feeling of security.

Room Tip: Old building with no elevator...rooms 1 & 2 are on second floor while rooms 3 & 4 are on 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent 8 nights here and I concur with most of the raves, I don't want to be redundant. Its all good and though we thoroughly enjoyed chamber #3 I don't think there is a bad unit in the place. Though having the warm hospitality of the staff is great and the restaurant is certainly a big plus, for me the joy of having an apartment with kitchen is the best - feeling like you are actually living there is priceless.

One thing that not many comment on here is the extreme contrasts that exist in the Casco Viejo, it is a mix of everything: ruins, poverty, wealth like nothing I've ever experienced but I doubt that it is for everyone. The momentum here, in terms of restoration underway, on virtually every block is jaw dropping.

We did many day trips to beach areas nearby (20 minutes) and also went to Coranado (1 hour) as well as exploring the city just minutes away. Its an exciting country.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: as said before if climbing stairs is an issue book on the lowest floor but you must, even if it mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequentflyer98121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed at this lovely boutique hotel with a girlfriend for 2 nights after returning from San Blas. I truelly enjoyed being able to have an authentic experience in this vibrant nieghborhood in transition.Our days and nights were filled with historic sights,excellent dining and great gallery shopping. We walked everywhere in Casco never feeling unsafe or at risk.Once our days adventures were complete coming back to Las Clemintinas for a hand crafted basil martini prepared by bartender extrodinair Eddy and jazz piano performed by the dining manager we decided that a return trip with our family was in order! I must say that the staff especially Martin and Maria should be commended for jobs well done.This Hotel is a Must Stay kind of place.

Room Tip: Be sure and check out the roof top in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 115 in Panama City
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#24 of 115 in Panama City
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#61 of 115 in Panama City
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#66 of 115 in Panama City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B | Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $125 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing