We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but Noisy!”
Review of The Panams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Panams
Ranked #67 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful but Noisy!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First impressions of this hotel are gorgeous- very beautifully designed and great decor. We loved the look of the room and the shower- extremely modern and cool. In the lobby area, there is a sitting room for coffee etc. and the staff is very gracious.

The problem comes when you try to fall asleep- the entire hotel is made of stone, cement, metal (no carpeting or anything else to soften the noise) so you can hear a pin drop anywhere in the hotel. You can hear people walking down the hallways, doors opening and closing, suitcases rolling. Stay here, just not without earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    50
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
108
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Chose this hotel based on reviews.

Positives:

The service is exceptionally helpful and warm. Each staff was most helpful and interested in making our stay and outings as pleasant and effortless as possible. They took the time to review restaurants with us, get taxis and negotiate with them on our behalf, printed maps for us, gave us some tips on language and pricing, brought us food for free on our late night arrival.

The rooms were very clean, spacious, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom really well configured with a huge shower. The furniture and decoration were modern and selected with taste.

Free wifi and decent speed.

Negatives:

Luckily we had a room on the first floor facing the court side ( not the three lane busy street). It can get a bit noisy, but that is the city, so not the hotel's fault. Take note they are currently building new condos right behind the hotel and you can hear some noise. But they are a few weeks from completion.

The bath is the bedroom was beautiful and inviting but not functional.

Overall we highly recommend this hotel and booking in advance will get you a better pricing at 120$ / night which is very decent for the location and quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISAandCHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a very neat, well designed, and classy small hotel. The rooms are huge with a special walled in area for luggage. The showers are great (all glass walls). The front desk was excellent and very helpful. I stayed here only one night between flights but I would stay here again and recommend it highly to anyone. There are only 11 rooms and I easily made a booking by Internet on the day I landed.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a lovely little hotel in the heart of Panama City! We always try to stay at "local" hotels while traveling rather than American chain hotels and we weren't disappointed! The free wine and cookies were a wonderful touch and we spent several evenings drinking wine in the front lounge area and plotting our next day in the city. The staff was full of suggestions for experiencing their city and were very helpful with dining options. On our last morning we were leaving at 5am for Allbrook airport and the staff ensured that we had a full breakfast along with piping hot coffee to set us on our way! We were especially impressed that there was freshly made bread (still warm!).
I would strongly strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We recently spent 5 very comfortable nights at the Panams. I had read all the reviews and it was everything that everyone said. Very chic, beautiful rooms with a fabulous shower. I always made sure I grabbed a cookie and glass of tea whenever we came back to our room. Very nice touch for a weary traveller. There's also wine and coffee. We also enjoyed their breakfast buffet every morning. The staff were truly friendly and attentive. It helps that it is a small hotel and there aren't hundreds of people to take care of. We prefer a smaller hotel and this one was perfect for us. It was also centrally located to a lot of attractions that we went to. If you want something a little different than a standard hotel, give the Panams a try, you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loka1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were going to stay in Trump Towers, but decided to try something different and were pleasantly surprised. The service was wonderful, very attentive and keen to help. Nice touches included a breakfast menu (part of the room rate) with just about every type of breakfast you could imagine (cheeses, cereal, condiments, breads, yoghurts, fruits) and free wine, ice-tea and coffee on tap all day.
The rooms are spacious, stylish and a great bathroom. The location is great - 5 mins to waterfront and then you can walk 15 minutes one way to Casa Viejo or 15 minutes the other way to modern malls on a pleasant sea front path.
Whilst it is very stylish, I did think the jacuzzi in the bedroom was a tad weird, but I imagine some people love it. Even if you don't, the room is massive, so it doesn't get in the way at all.

This is definitely where I would stay if I returned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Panams is perfectly situated between Panamá Viejo and the main shopping districts, and is a $3 taxi ride to these major attractions. It is also in short walking distance to a supermarket, a pharmacy, and a truly decent Indian restaurant.
The hotel is new, lavishly decorated, and well equipped. The lobby sets the overall tone with with a warm, modern ambiance, with loads of art, great furniture, complimentary coffee and wine. The owners definitely hired a talented designer as the decoration and overall themes blend harmoniously throughout the hotel The level of detail and finishing touches is astounding. Our room was well equipped with a desk and work area, and a spacious livingroom-bedroom area that also had a jacuzzi tub. The bed and linens were of very high quality, and the sleep that we got at the Panams reinforced the idea that we needed to buy a better bed for our home. It was refreshing. The huge bathroom has a massive shower area with an overhead rain head and a frosted glass window that produced a soft glow that was so beautiful in the slate tile bathroom that I shot a couple of photos of my wife that looked like they came out of a photo studio (I am a pro photographer).
The staff is the real asset in a hotel like this, and did not disappoint. The receptionists are bilingual, friendly, informative, and always happy to see you. It was a genuine pleasure to return to the warm greetings of this truly wonderful staff.
Breakfast is very well appointed with eggs, juice, panini, yoghurt, and just about anything else that you could possibly desire.
As a current hotel owner, I paid attention to every detail of amenity and service looking to learn something, or reflect on my own hotels strengths or shortcomings, and left the Panams feeling that it was likely one of the best values that I have ever seen. It defines the reason that you choose a boutique hotel over a cold, lifeless corporate tower. Very impressive indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotel-Pasatiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
1.5 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 114 in Panama City
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#66 of 114 in Panama City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#34 of 114 in Panama City
416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panams

Property: The Panams
Address: Calle 42, Num 22 - Bellavista | Between Vía España Avenue and Justo Arosemena Avenue, Panama City 0833, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Boutique Hotel, bars and restaurants nearby, airport shuttle services, massage services in the room, personal shopper, assist to tourist activities, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Panams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Panams Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing