We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Panams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Panams
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Used trip advisor to book this hotel and it is as good as the reviews suggest. Friendly reception where there is always free coffee and a glass of red wine in the evening. Lovely room with good fittings which all worked and nice breakfast in the morning. The only downside its not that well known by cab drivers/easy to find (and no map on the back of the business card)
Would recommend if you want to avoid the misery of large international chain hotels but want similarly good facilities

Room Tip: room 10 has a jacuzzi but also road facing so some traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOPSPURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    50
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
108
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
breda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

After looking at all the reviews i thought it would be great, but that was not the case. The room is great, but the staff not really friendly and not helpful. Also the breakfast was not good. So not worth 140 dollars a night. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celinejansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Panams lived up to the reviews. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were roomy and luxurious. Breakfast was adequate and beautifully presented. The construction work next door could have been a problem but we were tourists in the city and up and about early anyway. The complimentary bottles of water and coffee from the downstairs coffee machine was great as was the free wireless for your BYO laptop or there is a computer/printer downstairs that you can use. The spa bath was fantastico - comfortable and clean and bath salts were included. Location was good and taxi's generally costed about $4 to get just about anywhere in the city, including Albrook Shopping Centre which is huge. Make sure you agree on a price before getting in.

Book Panams - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: When the construction is finished next door ask for a room at the back to avoid the road traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjedwardss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

My partner and I are suckers for a modern stylish vibe and the interiors did not disappoint. This was a quick one night stay on the way to Bocas Del Toro. I researched quite a bit and The Panams seemed to fit what I was looking to set the tone for our first night on vacation. Rooms are large, the rain shower and bathroom is very cool as is the rest of the room. Wifi worked perfectly and was free and unlocked.

Breakfast was included in our rate. They have a small restaurant downstairs, breakfast was coffee, juice, a big plate of fruit, toast and jelly. Enough to get us to lunch.

As previous posts state the cabs have a hard time in Panama. We were taken to El Panama Hotel first, I kept questioning the driver and he said, "there is only ONE Panama Hotel" with confidence. We drove up and i knew this was no boutique hotel. After much discussion with a security guard we headed back out into traffic to find Panams. My suggestion, get the "reference points" from the hotel directly and give that to the cab driver. Our driver looked at the address and it meant nothing to him, the front desk told us he needed reference points.

There is a building under construction next door, our room was next to construction. Not a problem as we got up at 6AM. Could be an issue for a late sleeper so ask about this if you stay soon. The sound of progress did not bother me though!

Would I stay at the Panams again, YES!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summit4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Me and my wife arrived at Panama City (Aug 26, 2011) and we went to The Panams by taxi. We were a little bit worried. The driver wasn´t sure about the adress. It wasn´t easy to find the hotel. But The Panams is well-located. The problems are the taxi drivers in Panama City, not the location of the hotel. End of problems. All the rest was great, specially the staff.
Reynaldo e Ariana, the owners, are fantastic and will help you in many aspects. We stay there for four days and everytthing works very well. Last but not least: the city is great to whom loves history, culture, shopping and nature.Have a nice stay at The Panams!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamboril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Had à great time in the Panama. Friendly staff, they really help you out with finding good pk's Es' to go to in the city. Casco viejo is a nice walk along the boulevard right at the pacific. Great, especially for couples who appreciate some luxury! We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at The Panam's Hotel Boutique, which became my home while staying in Panama City. I chose this hotel mainly based upon the previous reviews here on Trip Advisor, as I was unsure about the location as this property is a new addition since my last visit in 2007. First of all, the prior reviews are 100% accurate. I will add only one more comment to the previous, that is that they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome here - like part of the family. The room was super luxurious and the price very economical. The location is the established mostly residential neighborhood of Bella Vista which is a centralized location but a relatively quiet part of town. The location is not too difficult to explain to locals because it is located a block away from a well known landmark- the old Bella Vista Theater on Via Espana. Giving taxi drivers directions to this hotel hotel became an opportunity to practice Spanish.

Reinaldo is very knowledgeable and helpful, as previous review attest. His team is also very courteous and attentive. I was impressed by the attention to detail that was put into the furnishing and decor. The basic room could almost pass for a small apartment and came with a mini refrigerator. The aforementioned comments about the Jacuzzi, L'Occitane products, and rain shower all ring true.

Like many new business have their growing pains, this one is no exception. As evident by the multiple phone jacks in the room where I stayed- I could tell that in-room phone service is on the way. This- however - should not cast a shadow on the entire experience, the hotel allows guests to make free local calls from the lobby. I hesitate to mention that because the internet service (wi-fi) that many hotels charge extra for is included at the basic room rate (I requested and received a discount) and more than offsets. In future visits, I will purchase a pre-paid cell phone to use in country. They are cheap ($15-$20) and far better than using pay phones, which require a continual feeding to keep from being cut off. A minor point that seems to have been overlooked is having pens and stationery in the room, but that is minor because I had a supply of both since I was doing research.

Overall, a tremendous value. Anything that is not within walking distance is an inexpensive ($3-$5) taxi ride away. I now feel as though I have found a second home in Panama City, I highly recommend the Panam's Hotel Boutique.

Room Tip: Ask if a discounted rate is available, contact hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#67 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Miramar Panama
InterContinental Miramar Panama
#43 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panams

Property: The Panams
Address: Calle 42, Num 22 - Bellavista | Between Vía España Avenue and Justo Arosemena Avenue, Panama City 0833, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Boutique Hotel, bars and restaurants nearby, airport shuttle services, massage services in the room, personal shopper, assist to tourist activities, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Panams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Panams Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing