We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Ranked #29 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location downtown”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed on the 4th floor and had a great view of the beautiful white Church across the road. The room was average; everything worked. We ordered room service one rainy night (estimated time 25 minutes) and had to call when we didn't get it for over an hour. They gave us some excuse about change in shifts and gave us a free small wine bottle and small dessert to compensate. We did not try the hotel restaurant. In general, choices for vegetarians are (not surprisingly) very limited in this country. The hotel is located within walking distance of the waterfront park and downtown shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabbaticalvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    538
    189
    68
    54
See reviews for
326
342
116
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

restaurant staff so rude I would never stay here again. Happened on 2 separate occasions. I was quite disappointed having enjoyed other Double Tree locations. Other aspects were average. Room was clean and pleasant

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolf A, General Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Penny N,

Thank you so much for your review. I understand that you had a disappointing experience with some of our staff members and that they were not able to provide you with the attentive service you deserve. I can assure you this is very unusual and I have personally spoken to our staff regarding your comments. We make every effort to respect our guests and I truly apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your room.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again so we can prove that the proper actions have been taken.

Sincerely,

Wolf Alexandrovich
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great hotel in great location convenient to shopping, banking, restaurants and local attractions. Many stores (shopping), restaurants and bars at walking distance. Try TreScalini Italian restaurant, Beirut or Casa del Marisco all within walking distance. Breakfast at the hotel is great but the cookies are the best !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank Satis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

As a Diamond level HH member (160+ nights this year alone), I'm familiar with Hilton's high standards and excellent service--both of which were glaringly absent at this hotel. We hit a snag in our travel plans, ending up in PTY so we called HH for last minute reservation using HH points; reservation agent was great. Not so much help from anyone once we arrived at hotel. 3 ppl working at front desk, chatting among themselves when we arrived; not one stopped to greet us, let alone offer to help us, until I interrupted to ask to check-in. Standard for Diamond members is some type of room upgrade so we asked if upgrade is available. The desk agent was annoyed that I asked and assured me the upgrade was already processed. Room was fine enough, but can't imagine the assigned room before the upgrade cuz the room provided was standard king with broken sliding closet doors, only 5 minutes of internet at a time, no washcloths in the bathroom, grit/sand on tile floors, and the door to the hallway didn't close all the way without slamming. Desk agent said the he'd send a fridge to our room--never happened. First knock from housekeeping was at 7:47am (UNaccepabtle); 2nd knock was 8:30 (DND sign fell
off knob). Maids in hallway very loud early in the am. Cancelled the 2nd night and left as soon as we could, but not before paying too much for cappuccino, which we coached
the attendant on making. Bellman was a mess. Only helpful person was girl at desk during checkout named Keysha. Final insult: in-house driver gouged us for short 4.5km ride to rental car pickup so we could am-scray!!!! (Tip:
demand metered taxi.) Sorry, Hilton, this Doubletree isn't worthy of Hilton brand.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebunnyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolf A, General Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear ebunnyg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton Honors Diamond Member we sincerely appreciate your business. Our main priority is for our guests to feel welcome and have comfortable stay. I do however understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with and that you had some issues with your benefits being applied. Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize if we fell below your expectations. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

Again I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Wolf Alexandrovich
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Panama City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I spent one glorious night at this property and found the service to be on par with the Mandarin Oriental! As one example, I needed to have my bags transferred to another Hilton property so I could tour during the day and not double back to get my luggage........the manager personally ensured my bags were delivered safe and sound to the other property The full breakfast was delicious,my room was huge and the welcome cocktail was much appreciated. Definitely a good value. I spoke with another person that told me of a similar priced hotel (the Bristol) and from his description, it did not come close to my experience. I am sorry I did not spend my entire time with doubletree. I would highly recommend a stay at this property.

Room Tip: Go for the Jr Suite. It's huge and well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were 3 visiting for 3 night stay in beautiful Panama City. We stayed in a double suite which is handicapped accessible. The shower leaked over the floor in the room, but was because the water pressure coming out of the spout is so strong. The staff was very accommodating to assist me up and down the handicapped ramp and during the rain picked me up in the wheelchair to bring me up the steps. The hotel was very clean & provided a nice buffet breakfast included in the price. The pool is very nice, but the hot tub is still under repairs. There is some road noise due to the construction of the metro station in front, but the noise does not bother one to sleep. It is certainly worthwhile to stay here. The hotel is in a good location and taxi is readily available. It is close to shopping, supermarket and Catholic Church. On my next trip I will be staying here. Muchas gracias por su atencion!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I only stayed one night at the Doubletree. Hotel staff was nice, room was clean and spacious.
I had issues with wifi on the 2nd floor, when it worked it was great, but finding the perfect spot in my room was challenging. The hotel has a tour desk that provided suggestions and tours. There is currently construction going on near the hotel, so walking around was little challenging. There were several restaurants within walking distance. Overall not a bad choice for a one night stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycityf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 114 in Panama City
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 114 in Panama City
755 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#18 of 114 in Panama City
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#39 of 114 in Panama City
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City

Property: DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Address: Via Espana & Federico Boyd Ave, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a room at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Panama City - El Carmen, where a friendly staff member is waiting to greet you with a freshly baked, chocolate chip cookie. The central location of this Panama City hotel makes it ideal for business travelers and guests on vacation. Attend conferences in the financial district, or enjoy the fine Central American dining and excellent shopping centers situated within walking distance.Each spacious guest room at our Panama City hotel features a 37-inch TV, minibar, and luxurious plush-top bed with five jumbo hypo-allergenic pillows. Families on vacation can enjoy the additional space that comes with a suite. Use the complimentary high-speed internet access to stay in touch with the office or to plan your day. Accessible rooms are available for guests who require modified amenities. Relax in the rooftop pool and whirlpool, unwind in the Spa, or exercise in the fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Panama City Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing