We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Ranked #29 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a good hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel back in December 2012. As HHonors Gold member, free wifi and breakfast were provided upon checkin. The breakfast buffet was really, really good with various food options. Far better than DTs I've stayed in the US. It took us around 30min from Panama airport (PTY) to the hotel by an authorized taxi. Highly recommend the hotel to HHonors elite members.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_MIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    541
    190
    68
    55
See reviews for
327
343
118
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great hotel experience and very similar to stays at other Hilton Doubletree hotels. The hotel is very family friendly, and tourist friendly. I also found the hotel well located, in a safe area and great transportation available any time I needed to go anywhere. The best parts had to be the great internet access and cold AC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I want to start by stating that this is a nice hotel where a bunch of inconveniences ruined the experience. For starters, I had my key get deprogrammed 5 times in two days and insinuating that I kept putting it near my cell phone and that it was my fault was not the way to handle the situation. As you can imagine that having to go back to the front desk got tiresome after the 2nd time.

I also had no hot water when I checked in and was fortunate enough to realize that evening upon check-in and not when I went to take a shower in the morning.

The most annoying was making the mistake of asking the bartender if there were restaurants in walking distance. The bartender proceeded to tell me the nearest restaurants were at Albrook Mall a 15 minute cab ride away which I unfortunately believed. On my cab ride back I uncovered that the street parallel to the hotel had about 6 restaurants. To say I wasn't happy about that was an understatement.

The overall indifference of the staff was annoying and no apologies for the inconveniences will assure I never return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

When we arrive The font office was excellent ,will go the extra mile to please us,incredible service all the employees act very professionals, I will recommend this hotel ,even the taxis service really good ,what can i tell no complains,the traffic did not bathos me. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS, MN, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Traveling as a Mission Save a Smile doing dentistry for the indigenous people of the Embera Puru, it is necessary to travel with a substantial amount of equipment..The storage and handling of these cases and supplies has been absolutely satisfactory with the staff at the Double Tree, and it is done with a smile on their faces.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, clean room and very positive experience. Had some challenges with Internet access but got resolved quickly. Great walking location to many good resturants. The room was good size for the price I was paying and clean. Since I was on the 5th floor; I had nice and quite experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shahrouz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Location is great. The rest about this hotel is average. The reception is never sure whether your room key is going to work. Exhausted from the day trip, with my rolling luggage, from the distant conner of the 3rd floor (that is where they sent me upon check-in) I had to go all the way down back to the reception to exchange the key. The swipe card they gave me at check-in did not unlock the door. Imagine my frustration? I was mad, and lost an appetite for a welcome cookie they give to newly arrived guests. Had to leave their cookie at the reception. Sorry it was not welcoming. The AC of the room is noisy like a plane engine. The furniture is tasteless. The bathroom wall got an enormous crack. I hope the building is not collapsing here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolf A, General Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate your candid feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. I can assure you that your comments have been reviewed in our Management Committee in order to take proper action to make sure the issues are corrected. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and comments like yours help us identify areas that need improvements. We do apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay and assure your concerns will be addressed. I do hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the future if your travels do bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Wolf Alexandroich
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Panama
wolf.alexandrovich@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 114 in Panama City
1,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 114 in Panama City
763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#18 of 114 in Panama City
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#38 of 114 in Panama City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City

Property: DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Address: Via Espana & Federico Boyd Ave, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a room at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Panama City - El Carmen, where a friendly staff member is waiting to greet you with a freshly baked, chocolate chip cookie. The central location of this Panama City hotel makes it ideal for business travelers and guests on vacation. Attend conferences in the financial district, or enjoy the fine Central American dining and excellent shopping centers situated within walking distance.Each spacious guest room at our Panama City hotel features a 37-inch TV, minibar, and luxurious plush-top bed with five jumbo hypo-allergenic pillows. Families on vacation can enjoy the additional space that comes with a suite. Use the complimentary high-speed internet access to stay in touch with the office or to plan your day. Accessible rooms are available for guests who require modified amenities. Relax in the rooftop pool and whirlpool, unwind in the Spa, or exercise in the fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Panama City Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing