We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel located on a nice and quiet neighborhood.(Obarrio)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel
Ranked #87 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
toronto
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice hotel located on a nice and quiet neighborhood.(Obarrio)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have to say that the hotel have potential because the rooms are excellent, with a lot of spacious and the beds are really comfortable. Breakfast is good and fresh. The location of this hotel is awesome, you have a lot of places to shop and dine around the corner, or just taking a taxi for the value of $3 you can go to any place that you want.(Better walk a little bit far from the hotel if not is going to cost you more)
The issues... principally the staff, really slow, don't have any kind of maintenance service during the night time, the curtains (black out) used to fall down really easy, and them your only choice is complain to be relocated to another room if this happen during the night, (can cost you some inconvenience and maybe 30 min of wait), Another issue is that for the conditions of the room i can be sure that they don't clean the floor often. Anyway I will stay there again on my next trip and i would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building smell better, no so humid. Rooms with king bed are really spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jssossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for the time you spend on rating and giving us your reviews. We highly appreciate your important comments, which are having a follow up, in order to improve our service every time.

We hope to have you or your family and friends back as our distinguished guests.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    93
    61
    30
    24
See reviews for
49
66
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the Wyndham Garden as part of a group of 20 or so people that were there to run the Panama Half Marathon. I really have no complaints I can think of and Id glady stay here again, perhaps next year for the half marathon. The rooms were great, showers, toilets, beds, everything was top notch. Breakfast was very good, the staff was helpful, all in all, no complaints.

Room Tip: Stayed at room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWinnito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your important event. Please contact us in your next visit to our city: we will be very glad to have you back.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

After spending 11 days in Panama, including 3 nights at the very well reviewed Hotel Toscana Inn, my wife and I concluded our final two days with a stay at the Wyndham in Obarrio.

We found the rooms to be excellent. Large with comfortable beds, impressive bathrooms, stunning shower pressure (a very nice thing after almost 2 weeks in a hot climate), they really met exactly what we wanted. The wi-fi access was the fastest I saw in Panama.The marble floors really carry sound, so expect to hear people in the hallway. We didn't note any loud noises after 9pm though.

The location is good. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance, as well as the Rey supermarket. Via Espana is one block away, it has lots of public transportation and taxis on it.

The staff's English was decent, except for the overnight staff.

I have one bone to pick with the hotel. Our flight left early in the morning, so we had the front desk call a taxi (I ended up having to explain what we needed in Spanish). The guy who picked us up was driving a minivan that wasn't marked as a taxi. In all of our trips using taxis (probably more than 15), I never got in one. Because of our limited time, I went ahead and went with him. Once at the airport, he tried to charge THIRTY DOLLARS for the trip from Obarrio to Tocumen. That's WAY outside any reasonable rate. He threw a little fit when I offered him $15 and started complaining. In, Spanish, I kept telling him, "I'm not a stupid white guy" and he finally dropped his objections. I ended up giving him an extra $5, but I now regret that.

Anyway, I hold the hotel responsible for this as I entrusted that they'd set me up with a reliable, legitimate driver to the airport. It wasn't a good way to cap off my vacation. The Wyndham really should only work with reputable folks, and should feel OK telling foreigners what to expect to pay for a given taxi ride.

Finally, $2.50 for a can of Coke from the mini-bar is absolutely ridiculous...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciate your time and dedication by reviewing your last stay. We will like you to know that your important comments are being followed up.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us on your next visit to Panama City: we will be honored if we can serve you, with the engagement of offering you the excellent service and quality you deserve.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The location is just perfect, not too close yet not too far from the epi-center. Obarrio is a nice and quiet neighborhood with easy access to the main highways and business area. From the very beginning we felt welcomed and comfortable. The hotel staff was professional yet friendly and courteous, especially the kitchen and restaurant staff. I was mostly impressed with those staff members who were of Cuna ancestry because of their friendly demeanor and obvious desire to to their job well and promptly. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with nice and clean modern rooms, free internet and free breakfast every day, serving fresh fruits and a killer coffee. Although it does not have a pool/spa it has a pretty good exercise room. The cost of the hotel stay was equitable or better. We stayed eight days. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my family and friends and will definitely stay there again..

Room Tip: We always stay in lower floor when we travel, in case we have to use the stairs. Again found the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLadyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest:

Moved by your grateful comments, we confirm our commitment with our guests by offering our best smile and a comfortable and cozy stay.

In your next visit to our city, please feel free to contact us and give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is right beside a synagogue in Obarrio neighborhood.
Its very quiet neighborhood and is away from the fuzz and the buzz of Panama (that means away from casinos and prostitutes)
The hotel itself is very simple, renovated, rooms are comfortable, perfect size (not too small, not too big). It has free Internet (super fast) Breakfast and its ok for the first two days. After that it gets bad because of the low variety. at least they serve fresh fruit everyday and coffee is strong and black- not the watery ones we get from other hotels in North America.
The problem I had with this hotel is that the doors are very thin hence you hear everything people say and do in the corridor. Also the elevator is veeery small and slow, so prefer to use the stairs during peak hours.
Overall a good experience as the borough is calm (three great restaurants around) and its away from the "sins" of Panama City- if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our vacation group of six arrived to hotel at 11:30 am and was told we couldn't get an early check-in. So, we stored our luggage and went to a museum and one of the malls. Came back at 3 pm to check-in and was told by the same desk clerk, Paul, that we had to wait a few minutes. UNACCEPTABLE! We all got checked in after demanding that Paul complete checking all six of us in (4 rooms) instead of trying to service two women behind us. In my room, the sheets had not been changed on one of the beds. I asked the housekeeping lady on the floor to change thhe bed linen. She said she changed the linen despite me showing her the debris and hair. Managerial staff somewhat responsive to my dissatisfaction after 2 hours. No washcloths, not enough towels, safe had to have batteries replaced, breakfast crappy, loud marble floors that needed cleaniing, toilet too close to wall, tiny lobby, unprofessional staff, wake-up call 15 min late, tv shut off every 20 min, and no swimmiing pool. Yeah, i won't be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maac1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Central location just a couple of blocks off the beaten path - which makes it quiet. Limited parking for about a dozen cars. Rooms are spacious/modern and breakfast includes cereal, fruits, eggs & meat. Agree with previous comments that the staff needs to learn more about hotel operations. They do get overwhelmed very quick.

Room Tip: Allow extra time for checkout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCB-Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro
#69 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Panama Centro
Ramada Panama Centro
#64 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#53 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#55 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel

Property: Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel
Address: 58th Street Obarrio, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an urban escape in the heart of downtown Panama City at the Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel. Convenient location in bustling downtown allos both business an pleasure travelers to relax after taking in all Panama City has to offer. Get energized at the 24 hour fitness center complete with everything needed to keep up a work out routine. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Garden Panama City features 12 floors of 70 spacious guest rooms designed to provide perfect nights sleep. Each room features 32 inch flat TVs, complementary WI FI acces, hairdryer and iron an ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing