We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, beautiful rooms, one staff annoyance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Panama City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Panama City
Ranked #70 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Seattle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, beautiful rooms, one staff annoyance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

After spending 11 days in Panama, including 3 nights at the very well reviewed Hotel Toscana Inn, my wife and I concluded our final two days with a stay at the Wyndham in Obarrio.

We found the rooms to be excellent. Large with comfortable beds, impressive bathrooms, stunning shower pressure (a very nice thing after almost 2 weeks in a hot climate), they really met exactly what we wanted. The wi-fi access was the fastest I saw in Panama.The marble floors really carry sound, so expect to hear people in the hallway. We didn't note any loud noises after 9pm though.

The location is good. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance, as well as the Rey supermarket. Via Espana is one block away, it has lots of public transportation and taxis on it.

The staff's English was decent, except for the overnight staff.

I have one bone to pick with the hotel. Our flight left early in the morning, so we had the front desk call a taxi (I ended up having to explain what we needed in Spanish). The guy who picked us up was driving a minivan that wasn't marked as a taxi. In all of our trips using taxis (probably more than 15), I never got in one. Because of our limited time, I went ahead and went with him. Once at the airport, he tried to charge THIRTY DOLLARS for the trip from Obarrio to Tocumen. That's WAY outside any reasonable rate. He threw a little fit when I offered him $15 and started complaining. In, Spanish, I kept telling him, "I'm not a stupid white guy" and he finally dropped his objections. I ended up giving him an extra $5, but I now regret that.

Anyway, I hold the hotel responsible for this as I entrusted that they'd set me up with a reliable, legitimate driver to the airport. It wasn't a good way to cap off my vacation. The Wyndham really should only work with reputable folks, and should feel OK telling foreigners what to expect to pay for a given taxi ride.

Finally, $2.50 for a can of Coke from the mini-bar is absolutely ridiculous...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciate your time and dedication by reviewing your last stay. We will like you to know that your important comments are being followed up.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us on your next visit to Panama City: we will be honored if we can serve you, with the engagement of offering you the excellent service and quality you deserve.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    99
    62
    31
    24
See reviews for
55
67
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The location is just perfect, not too close yet not too far from the epi-center. Obarrio is a nice and quiet neighborhood with easy access to the main highways and business area. From the very beginning we felt welcomed and comfortable. The hotel staff was professional yet friendly and courteous, especially the kitchen and restaurant staff. I was mostly impressed with those staff members who were of Cuna ancestry because of their friendly demeanor and obvious desire to to their job well and promptly. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with nice and clean modern rooms, free internet and free breakfast every day, serving fresh fruits and a killer coffee. Although it does not have a pool/spa it has a pretty good exercise room. The cost of the hotel stay was equitable or better. We stayed eight days. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my family and friends and will definitely stay there again..

Room Tip: We always stay in lower floor when we travel, in case we have to use the stairs. Again found the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLadyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest:

Moved by your grateful comments, we confirm our commitment with our guests by offering our best smile and a comfortable and cozy stay.

In your next visit to our city, please feel free to contact us and give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is right beside a synagogue in Obarrio neighborhood.
Its very quiet neighborhood and is away from the fuzz and the buzz of Panama (that means away from casinos and prostitutes)
The hotel itself is very simple, renovated, rooms are comfortable, perfect size (not too small, not too big). It has free Internet (super fast) Breakfast and its ok for the first two days. After that it gets bad because of the low variety. at least they serve fresh fruit everyday and coffee is strong and black- not the watery ones we get from other hotels in North America.
The problem I had with this hotel is that the doors are very thin hence you hear everything people say and do in the corridor. Also the elevator is veeery small and slow, so prefer to use the stairs during peak hours.
Overall a good experience as the borough is calm (three great restaurants around) and its away from the "sins" of Panama City- if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our vacation group of six arrived to hotel at 11:30 am and was told we couldn't get an early check-in. So, we stored our luggage and went to a museum and one of the malls. Came back at 3 pm to check-in and was told by the same desk clerk, Paul, that we had to wait a few minutes. UNACCEPTABLE! We all got checked in after demanding that Paul complete checking all six of us in (4 rooms) instead of trying to service two women behind us. In my room, the sheets had not been changed on one of the beds. I asked the housekeeping lady on the floor to change thhe bed linen. She said she changed the linen despite me showing her the debris and hair. Managerial staff somewhat responsive to my dissatisfaction after 2 hours. No washcloths, not enough towels, safe had to have batteries replaced, breakfast crappy, loud marble floors that needed cleaniing, toilet too close to wall, tiny lobby, unprofessional staff, wake-up call 15 min late, tv shut off every 20 min, and no swimmiing pool. Yeah, i won't be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maac1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Central location just a couple of blocks off the beaten path - which makes it quiet. Limited parking for about a dozen cars. Rooms are spacious/modern and breakfast includes cereal, fruits, eggs & meat. Agree with previous comments that the staff needs to learn more about hotel operations. They do get overwhelmed very quick.

Room Tip: Allow extra time for checkout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCB-Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel is a small hotel in a nice residential neighborhood, with some nice local restaurants, a pharmacy, and some small shopping in walking distance. Not in a central tourist area. Everything nicel but the staff needs to learn more about hotel operations. Yes, they could not find our reservations. Yes, they gave away our room after our first night, bringing new guests in while we were sleeping at 10pm. They got mad at us for being in our room, and had no clue that we had prepaid for two days, not one.
Only complaint about the room itself is that they use the green, eco, room key in a slot to keep the lights on. Not normally a problem, but it also controls the room air conditioner, which means you have to either leave a key, or come back to a hot room every time. I don't think that saves electricity. Room was modern and nice. All marble floors in room and hall are a bit noisy.
I would stay here again if it was simply a launching point for a tour or other stay. Comfortable.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are not the same in each room, we had an "open" bathroom. Kind of neat for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andypayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We chose this hotel, despite the mixed reviews, because of its proximity to the synagogue, which is right next door. Interestingly, some of the complaints that we read about, have not been resolved............although for sure the toaster would have been easy to rectify. Yes, the toaster doesn't work well and it apparently hasn't for months. If you or I were running a hotel I'm sure we'd correct an inexpensive item like a toaster promptly! They haven't and it speaks legions about their attitude. You can toast two pieces at a time. If you want to toast four you need to stand there and hold the switch down. Annoying and no big deal but should be fixed. More upsetting is that the stairways are used for storage. Blankets and linens and larger and more cumbersome items like mattresses as well. No problem if you take the elevator but in case of an emergency evacuation this is extremely dangerous. I pointed this out to the management and they did remove some of the mattresses but it seems that using the stairways for storage is just the way they do business. Back to the breakfast: the clean flatware is set down on a placemat which is reused over and over. Not very sanitary. Also, in the bedrooms there are throw pillows on the bed which is very unsanitary as well. The staff is friendly but essentially non English speaking. I'm not a chauvinist but Wyndham is an American chain so one would expect some English speaking personnel. Our first day there was no soap in our room. There was also no safe which was a long standing problem. It took three days of requests to finally get a safe which was light enough for one of the female housekeepers to carry in so, therefore, pretty useless as a safe. Anyone could carry it out. On the positives: our room was clean, towels were thick and the bed was tolerable (if you like a hard mattress). The neighborhood was safe, but not very interesting or picturesque. Two computers in the lobby were free and useful since I was traveling with only a Blackberry.

Room Tip: Hotel is noisy throughout. The doors to the rooms have too much space on the bottom. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro
#78 of 115 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.6 mi away
Ramada Panama Centro Via Argentina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#15 of 115 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#52 of 115 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Panama City

Property: Wyndham Garden Panama City
Address: 58th Street Obarrio, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Panama City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an urban escape in the heart of downtown Panama City at the Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel. Convenient location in bustling downtown allos both business an pleasure travelers to relax after taking in all Panama City has to offer. Get energized at the 24 hour fitness center complete with everything needed to keep up a work out routine. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Garden Panama City features 12 floors of 70 spacious guest rooms designed to provide perfect nights sleep. Each room features 32 inch flat TVs, complementary WI FI acces, hairdryer and iron an ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Garden Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing