We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Good, Some Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Panama City
Ranked #70 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some Good, Some Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I spent 3 nights at The Wyndam Garden last week.
The Good:
1) The rooms are very large, nice and clean. The hotel itself is new so the rooms reflect that. The bathroom is also large with a nice big shower.
2) The staff was fantastic. Most of them spoke English or at least helped find someone on staff that did.
3) The rate of $113 a night is reasonable compared to some of the other brand names in the city.
The Bad:
1) The restaurant area is less that desirable. They crammed it into a small space not meant for food service. Despite the fact that the breakfast was free, I couldn't get myself to eat it the third morning. It was exactly the same runny eggs, warm yogurt and under cooked potatoes. The napkins they give you are cocktail napkins. The salt shakers were all empty.
2) The gym was really bad. They don't have towels to use while you are working out. They don't have any sanitary wipes to clean the machines when you are done using them. Considering the hotel isn't even two years old the two treadmills were in really bad shape. One of them makes a horrible noise when its moving and the other one only operates at slow speeds.
3) The gym is located in the back corner. In the moring the buffett is set up along the back wall. This requires you to walk though the buffet line to enter and exit the gym. No big deal when you are going to the gym and are clean. On the other hand, after you are done working out and sweaty, walking through the buffett is very unsanitary.
4) The location of the hotel is not great if you like to walk to restaurants or shops. Some of the other hotels are closer to more of the action.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCENTS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    68
    35
    25
See reviews for
60
74
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Spent two nights at the Wyndham Garden in Panama City, Panama Dec. 19th-21st.
The hotel is centrally located and seems newly renovated. The Reception Desk had 1 or 2 people who spoke English and were helpful.
The rooms are very nice and well appointed. My daughter's room was huge.
The breakfast was included but I suggest you get there early as supplies run out and things can get cold.
I got a deal on the rate through Priceline and we were very happy with the hotel. Free wifi and they did supply a password.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and there was a door to the outside in the hall which gave you some sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

My family of 5 stayed 2 nights in the Wyndham Garden Hotel in the Obarrio area of Panama City. As we had early, 5 am, events each morning, we did not get to try the free breakfast buffet.

The good:
rooms are huge
Quiet neighborhood
Free breakfast

The not so good:
hallways are tiled, and you can hear people in the hallways at all hours
Hotel is new, so no cabs knew where it was
The staff spoke only Spanish, and were not very helpful
They did not follow through with a requested wake up call
No pool, small workout room

This hotel has potential to be very good. A little sound proofing of the doors, and a focus on customer service by the staff are recommended. As a reasonably priced place to sleep, it was solid.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

On the plus side the desk clerk spoke English and the room was clean. But there was no coffee for the in room coffee maker and no password given for the wifi. The location is safe, if uninteresting. Stay here only if you get an amazing deal.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our room was less than appealing. Air conditioner was leaking behind the wall making the wall moist, there were drip marks above the bed, the shower head leaked and the walls above the shower were missing drywall and pealing.
We were told that breakfast was from 0630 until 0730 yet the buffet wasn't set up until 0715.
Very poor experience

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikein03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Hotel is in a quiet area of Panama City. Restaurant small and uninteresting. Rooms comfortable but had problems with the air conditioning and also NO plug sink which was a hassle.

Staff at front desk friendly and do speak English. No pool or garden area so sitting outside is out.

One thing we have found about Panama ....NO banks cash USD travellers cheques and we spent most of the day hunting down a place that did cash t/c. The Western Union Office does for a 10% fee and a long wait.

I would prefer staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel which is much more up to date and has more amenities.

Room Tip: All tile floors in the hallways so noisy at night when people come home late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tebo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed only one night. We got a spacious room on the second floor. Our room was well- furnished and bathroom was very clean. Safe location. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Free internet.

People working at the front desk didn't speak English and they were not helpful when it came to answering our questions about the city, buses etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siechnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ramada Panama Centro Via Argentina
0.4 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#54 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Panama City

Property: Wyndham Garden Panama City
Address: 10 58th Street, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Panama City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an urban escape in the heart of downtown Panama City at the Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel. Convenient location in bustling downtown allos both business an pleasure travelers to relax after taking in all Panama City has to offer. Get energized at the 24 hour fitness center complete with everything needed to keep up a work out routine. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Garden Panama City features 12 floors of 70 spacious guest rooms designed to provide perfect nights sleep. Each room features 32 inch flat TVs, complementary WI FI acces, hairdryer and iron an ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing