We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, centrally located for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Managua
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views, centrally located for business travelers”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice amenities, good breakfast, nice views, spacious rooms. The hotel is new and with a modern design, but don't look too close or you'll start seeing beyond the facade.

We were able to walk to a few restaurants nearby, it is centrally located, but you will need a cab if you want to go to Casco Viejo or the canal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karnitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    904
    242
    100
    90
See reviews for
594
796
119
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alliston
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights during the weekend. We found the service to be poor, perhaps it was because of Panamian time and no one is in a rush to do anything. Word of advise, walk three blocks and buy 56 cent beer versus the $3.75 beers at the hotel. There's a grocery store with booze and everything you need right behind the hotel. Anything purchased at the hotel is a complete rip off. Use your feet if you want to save money. English is extremely limited and it is challenging to communicate. The exception is Lorenzo in the sushi bar - he is the absolute exception to the entire hotel. He made us feel at home and even went over and above to purchase my husband a Denver Broncos hat for the Superbowl. He is outstanding !

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mekk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riu 4 nights and were not disappointed with the rooms. They were clean and well decorated. The buffet breakfast that is served downstairs is to die for. My only disappointment with our stay is that this hotel is located in the financial district so it was far removed from the attractions we came to see. We ended up having to hire a taxi to take us places when we would rather have walked.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansje55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Staff at the front desk was professional and pleasant to deal with. The lobby is very attractive. The rooms are excellent, and some have good views of the city and bay. Color schemes in the rooms were great. Room was spacious. Bed was comfortable. Shower was good. Bathroom was very cute with two sinks. Great room layout. Terrific cleanliness. Free WIFI was great.

Breakfast had a wide selection, but it was very chaotic. There are not nearly enough workers to clear the tables, offer coffee, and direct guests.

There was a table for a concierge, who wasn't ever present during our stay. This would have helped us greatly to find a restaurant in Panama City. It's not easy venturing out on your own, since you will need to take a cab almost everywhere. Crossing the street in front of the hotel is difficult, and there are few stoplights in the city. It is also not easy to wonder around

Pool area was small for the size of the hotel but attractive. The bar by the pool was good. The bar inside is also great and had plenty of people there when we went on a weekday night.

We would stay here again but would also look into hotels on Calle Uruguay or in El Cangrejo. This hotel is pricey, but you get a lot for the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Friends and I stayed at the Hotel Riu in late January 2014 for five days. There were three of us, so we got a large bed and a pull-out sofa bed, which was comfortable. The pool area is relaxing and a nice place to grab a drink or dinner. There is no hot tub, unfortunately.

The free breakfast buffet is impressive - fruit, eggs, salad bar, rice, beans, bacon, several fruit juices. Waiters serve coffee and water and it can be hard to get their attention.

Other visitors have written about the mildew odor. I noticed that on the 11th floor but did not smell it on the 8th floor, where we spent our last night. Our first room had a great shower with a shower head on the ceiling. Our second room had the same shower head but it didn't work.

Tip: If you stay here and want to hail a taxi, walk a block away from the hotel to do it. That will save you several dollars on your fare.

I'd stay here again but I'd ask for a new room if there was a mildew smell or a broken shower head. For $150 a night, it was a good deal.

Room Tip: If you notice a mildew smell - which I experienced on the 11th floor - ask for a different floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodsprite44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Enjoyed my 12 night stay at the Hotel Riu Plaza in Panama. This is a large modern hotel with room floors divided into two sections, floors 7 thru 20 and express elevators for rooms 21 and up. I was on a higher floor (23) so traffic noise was non existent although I can’t even say this would be an issue on the lower floors as the windows are sealed.

My room was clean and comfortably laid out with all the necessities. The rooms have black out drapes and the air-conditioning worked well. Comfortable large bathrooms with double sink and bath with rain soaker shower head plus additional separate shower wand. Room has mini fridge and coffee maker. Wifi signal in room was strong. Comfortable bed with good linens.

Service through out the hotel was good from the bell desk & housekeeping right thru to the pool attendant. The breakfast buffet is impressive. Location is central and a variety of restaurants and take out places within walking distance. Nice pool and pool side bar service, amazingly serene setting given that your in the middle of the city.

Gym & Spa on 6th Floor. Did not use the spa but did make use of the gym which is small but sufficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall-689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

excellent hotel in the middle of the busy business district. great pool and pool side serving. the best breakfast in Panama. spacious rooms. kind service. sometimes a bit slow. What else can one ask for?

Room Tip: room service is very slow the restaurant is very expensive. never order a wine there. a glass will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank av3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 114 in Panama City
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing