We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great hospitality and professionalism. A refined and exclusive atmosphere. Clean rooms and impeccable service. perhaps the best breakfast of my life, to try :)))) very welcoming also the pool and the dining fitnes ...
Rocco Lombardi

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lombardi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

rooms are beutifull and spacious very confortable beds good for the price best buffet breakfast and a very good location close to shoppings casinos and night life, recommended for business located in the financial district in panama

Room Tip: higher floors have the best view of the city
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miguel551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Riu Plaza is a modern building in Panama's banking district within walking distance to via Espana and close to calle Uruguay which has a liely night scene. The conents of the minibar are free the first time which is a very nice feature. Service at the front desk is efficient and friendly but what really makes me give this hotel a top rating is it's breakfast. Mind you that Riu is best known for its all imclusive hotels so the included breakfast buffet is similar in quality and variety as what you find on their beach hotels.

All in all the hotel is a great value, at a good location. The only caveat is that trafic in the area is terrible, but this is the case in most ofPanama city so just be patient...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was recommended for location comfort and food. Tastes Restaurant is excellent, the Breakfast room and lunch is sensational, great value when breakfast is included. A great selection of foods for all tastes including the vege. The room can be upwards of 32 floors with great views, make sure you ask for an ocean view. Bathrooms are well appointed and very clean with a Bath/shower combination twin basins etc. The bed, fantastic. Overall a great place to stay. A small criticism, I tried twice through reception and operator to book Tastes Restaurant for business dinner, they never answered the phone. I had to go direct to the Restaurant to book, the operator transferred the call and just let ring. Somewhat frustrating for a first class restaurant and hotel. What the dates of the wines you select, some are past the use by date, but you have to know your wines. I sent by Sav Blanc back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high ocean view room, make sure you are not in the last room of the corridor. The staff li...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmslocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently stayed for a short 4-day business trip. My company chose this hotel as it within walking distance from my office, so in my case location couldn't be better.

My first impression is that this hotel took a big effort in creating a designer's look. As I always say, It comes down to a matter of opinions (though it looks really well finished and it's obvious that they spent a lot of money in these designs, it's my personal opinion that the colors used --at least in the lobby and in my room-- do not help in creating an environment suitable for resting). Well, that's only my opinion anyway.

The room is nice, but it had too much purple everywhere. The bed was really good, and the room had all the amenities you expect in this type of hotel (like a hair dryer, iron, mini-bar, and security box). They even provide the first load of your mini-bar for free (I really appreciate having free drinking water).

Breakfast was nice and varied. Internet connection was OK (not too fast though) and stable.

The only problem I experienced was a bad odor in the corridor outside my room, which thank God didn't invade my room. (That means the room is well insulated from foul odors too). This situation lasted for my entire stay.

In summary: a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFeterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed many times in the Riu Plaza Panama, have had the pleasure to utilize most of their rooms from the standards all the way to the Penthouse suites. All their rooms offer comfortable amenities with more than helpful staff.

The hotel has one of the most impressive breakfast buffet I have ever seen in an non-all-inclusive hotel.

On the bad side the hotel had a major mold issue that was being resolved on the last visit I had to the hotel, and the illumination on the streets surrounding the hotel at night its not the most adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during a holiday trip, located on 20 minutes from the international airport of Tocumen if you go by the causeway, it may take four or five times as long if you will go thru the city itself where traffic is an absolute nightmare.
Really nothing much to complain about, nice, spacious and clean rooms with similair bathrooms as well. View from the large window in our room, looking over Panama city from the 27th floor, was stunning. It is located central on calle 50, on a walking distance to many restaurants nearby and it has a ATM and a Burgerking on the right corner and a KFC on its left corner. Had no reason to feel unsafe anyway in this part of the city, but security was also good for those concerned about it.
Breakfast included, very nice as well. Service fast en professional. Again, no complaints.

Room Tip: For those looking for a nice view over Panama City, ask a room on the upper floors somewhere between...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faustino_Asprilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#17 of 115 in Panama City
1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#30 of 115 in Panama City
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $92 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing