We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible custumer care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible custumer care”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we stayed at riu plaza at 21.7 till 22.7.
We arrived on 21.7 on 5am from bocas and the front desk attendant told us that we look tired so she would do an early check in for uscfor no addiyyional cost.

We went to sleep and when woke up decided we would stay for two more nights.
Then we went to the front desk and to our surprise they wanted to charge us for two nights becouse of the early check in.
We had to speak with two managers and after a phone call they made to the front desk attendant they agreed it wasnt our fault.


Wr had to spend two hours explainibg them and convincing two managers to call the front desk to ask her that she let us do early check in for free.

After that they didnt even try to compencate us or appollogize properly.

This hottel costs like all the big ones like hard rock and etc..
But the service is terrible.

They didnt even take our luggage when we checked in and we had ro carry them by ourselves even when there were 5 men that were doing nothing and just luaghing among themselves.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danidino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary.

We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content.

Please be assured that we have shared your comments with the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

With our best wishes we remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    904
    242
    100
    90
See reviews for
594
796
119
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in the Riu for 5 weeks while working in Panama City. It was one of 4 hotels I stayed in over the course of scouts prior to arrival and by far my favorite.

The rooms are comfortable with plenty of room to spread out during long stays. Lovely mattress - after long days of work it was always easy to drift off to peaceful sleep.

What was downright outstanding at the Riu was the food. Their breakfast buffet is amazing with so many fresh options being made right in front of you. And the fruit! Oh the fruit. Everything you know and love so sweet and ripe and then all these new types to explore and enjoy. Their lunch buffet was equally outstanding and again, it's all made right in front of you so it's always done to perfection. No hockey puck pieces of meat or items dried out from heat lamps. Be sure to try the restaurant by the pool for dinner. For about a dollar more than the KFC next to the hotel, you can get Chicken Mignottes wrapped in bacon infused with herbs that just melt in your mouth. There was not one thing I ate at the pool restaurant that I can complain about and all for incredibly reasonable prices.

When it comes time to venture out for food, you are a short walk from a central restaurant area. Italian, Mediterranean (never ate so much hummus in my life as I did in Panama), American Bistro, Sushi and well Hooters. Oddly enough, I don't recommend the Hooters even if you are a Hooters fan.

The lobby bar was a nice place to hang out and they do this Flamenco dance night that provides beautiful people watching. Sidle up for a Panama Beer and shot of Abuello and take in the flicks and kicks that seem choreographed but are all spontaneous and mesmerizing.

Staff here is attentive which can be a complaint of travelers in Panama. The front desk in particular has to be as WARNING: Do not put your hotel key card in your wallet or near credit cards or cell phones. It deactivates incredibly easily and you need the card to access your floor. Can't tell you how many times I went on elevator rides up and down, my card not working, at the mercy of guests on other floors calling the elevator.

I'll be reviewing the other places I stayed if you're curious about comparisons but simply put, if traveling to Panama the Riu provides comfort, is centrally located walking distance to nightlife and restaurants and easily accessed by cars should you want to head to Casco Viejo or elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stay on the executive floors. They're just a tiny bit more costly, but well worth it in amenities. Extra snacks, extra quiet, and access to the lounge downstairs. The pool is nice, and quiet despite being right on the main street. Close to almost everything, although the hotel in Punta Pacifica by a MAJOR brand name (Big Hair the Trumps ALL) still beats this place hands down. While it's still a bargain because of competition, stay in Punta Pacifica...for sure!

Room Tip: Stay on the executive levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiveez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are large and well decorated (but its a tast isue). Very clean and well kept. Breckfast was super. Lage varaity of choise. Location is in the center of the city. Near a large mall. There are nice resterants near the hotel. I used taxi and I dont know if public transportation is near.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My company organized an event at Hotel Riu. We're USA based attending to the Energy Industry in Central America. Our event was for 350 attendees. We organized: shipment of our materials to the event, airport pick ups, hotel rooms for our staff, conference hall w/ catering for our 2 days Conference, Cocktail parties each evening and drop off conference equipments to FedEx post event.

Right away we noticed that they were not able to assist us in English. So Google Translate came handy for our side. They did not bother to use Google Translate. They continue communicating in English. Sorry but not expected from a 5 Star Hotel. Once we arrived we noticed the presence of mildew (as the odor was unbereable) in the conference hall. We enquired and they attempted to eliminate the odor the prior day of our conference. We later found out that the room floaded a month before and since then they had the mildew problem. We are paying a considerable amount for our event and this service was simply not acceptable. Our hotel rooms also had problem with mildew. The power of the room operates with a card so that when you enter your room you put your card and the power comes on... so all day long while we were at our event our room got stuffy and warm. Sooo when arriving surprise! there was the odor again. Now we had odor in the conference room and our hotel room! Hence one of my colleagues got ill with lung issues and had to check out and change hotel. When she told the front desk the reason she was checking out (mildew) they didnt care nor apologize. She had to see a Doctor once returned to the USA as her lung was in poor shape. We received complains from the people attending the conference that the line to check in was loooooong. That it took an hour to check in. There were only 2 attendands at the front desk. Of course some of the people attending also complained about the funny smell at the conference room. After the conference (Friday evening) we left our equipments in the luggage room. Hotel Riu was to schedule FedEx to pick up our equipments and ship them to us in the USA. This process took 3 WEEKS! We called, emailed and NADA! No one has taken the responsibility to call FedEx. Once I called and demanded that the issue be resolved today not mañana, is when they finally scheduled the FedEx pick up. The sad thing is that the staff blammed FedEx for the confusion and did not take responsibility for their lack of action. We use FedEx constantly and they alway log any movement. They had no record of our equipments as no one has made contact. So based on the horrid experience at Hotel Riu Panama City, we will not be returning there next year or ever. Their title of "5 star" needs to be reviewed as it's misleading.

Room Tip: Read reviews before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GNPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

IF YOU DON'T WANT TO GET SICK STAY AWAY FROM HOTEL RIU!

The company I work for held a conference at the Riu. As the event coordinator I planned and implemented this conference. The second I stepped through the front door at the Riu I was immediately met with the smell of mildew. Later that day I found out that the space we were having the conference in had a flood a month before and they didnt replace the carpet or anything, they just sprayed good smelling stuff to cover it up. This hotel is all about cutting corners and wont replace carpet when it floods due to the cost.

My sleeping rooms also had a horrible mildew smell. Their way of getting rid of the mildew smell in the sleeping rooms is to force the A/C so cold at night and you cannot even control it despite there being a control box in each room. I made many, many trips to the store on the first floor and was constantly on sinus medication just so that I could make it through the day. The mildew/mold was so toxic to me I felt so sick and that I just needed to get out of the hotel. I decided to go to the Sheraton the last night just so that I could feel at least a little better. I went to the front desk at Riu and told them I wanted to check out early due to the mildew and that it is making me so sick, and the front desk employee didnt event apologize or say anything. He just processed my early check out and that was it. Once I got back to the States, I found out that I developed a sinus infection and bronchitis from the mildew/mold in the hotel.

The thing that really makes me mad is that they advertise themselves as a 5 star hotel. This is by far the worst hotel I have EVER stayed at!

Please listen to me as I did not listen to the fellow tripadvisors before going here. I should have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary.

We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content.

Regarding the issue of mold, we would like to inform you that after your visit a major investment has been made in the hotel's air-conditioning and purification system which guarantees a maximum level of comfort in the rooms and communal areas, as well as excellent air quality throughout the hotel.

Please be assured that we have shared your comments with the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

With our best wishes we remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one week. Since the first day it was a pleasure to be here. The room was awesome, big bed, everthing clean and a great view from my window. About the food it was OK. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was buffet.

I recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advillacorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 114 in Panama City
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing