We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Amenities and Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Riu Plaza.

Positives:
-friendly, bilingual staff at 1.5 year old hotel
-grand lobby with seating areas and bar to meet with friends or business associates
-amazing buffet breakfast to suit every taste
-clean, modern, attractive, large rooms with city views
-beautiful pool with bar
-complimentary gym with modern equipment
-location on Calle 50 easily accessible

Negative:
-our original suite had large ceiling stains from water leakage and a very strong smell of mold. They sent a valet up with new keys to a suite 1 floor up which was perfect with no odor.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip and was not disappointed. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is plentiful and the espresso bar is great. On top of it the service is very professional. But the amazing things is the restaurant, i just loved it. The only minus I would add is that it is so large scale that the amount of people around was bit too much at times, but this did not affect the overall quality of the place

Room Tip: choose a room facing away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudiobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, clean, stylish and overall amazing! We stayed two nights on our family trip to Panama. The rooms are so comfortable with great beds, linens, pillows and a beautiful bathroom. Sparkling clean. There is a pull out couch that folds into a very comfortable bed that accommodated our two kids perfectly. The breakfast buffet is to die for!! I have never seen so much amazing food in my life. It's like the Disney World of breakfast buffets! My kids were so excited. After the food here, the rest of our meals in Panama were quite frankly a let-down. The apples at the check in area were a bonus as we arrived late both times and they were cold and delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Enjoyed my eight night stay at this beautiful hotel. Breakfast was great with a large and varied selection of food. The room was comfortable, classy and spacious. The pool was a pleasant place to relax. The service was good but was not able to get two messages in a timely manner. The Tastes Restaurant in the hotel lives up to its name; I highly recommend it. I was there for a conference and stayed an extra four nights to sight see and am glad I did.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Riu Panama City on a business trip and found the architecture and decor warm and inviting, the service good and the food options/selection outstanding.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank MNFisherman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here with my husband for 5 days.

The hotel is very nice, everything is new. The fitness center is small but nobody is ever there, so I was able to enjoy my time there. You have also a sauna that can be use in case for free.

The swimming pool area is quite nice, with a bar and a restaurant, and it is not allow to smoke there, a big plus for us.

But the best thing this hotel has, is the breakfast, GREAT for vegetarians! As it has nuts and lots of cereal and fruits. It has it all. The best breakfast EVER!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Riu Plaza and have only good things to say. The rooms are large and very clean, the fitness center is well equipped though I thought it was strange that they don't have free weights and no exercice ball.The swimming pool is top notch with friendly staff , great menu and a nice area if you want to rest, read or sun tan. The breakfast is exactly what people wrote about: AWESOME!!!
The only thing I would not book again would be the executive level because you have to stay in the lounge to enjoy wine and food. If you want to be outside(which we always wanted to be) then you have to pay for your drinks and food so I thought it wasn't worth the extra. Overall great stay and you should not hesitate to book it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchoiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 116 in Panama City
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#15 of 116 in Panama City
1,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $100 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Panama is located in the heart of the banking and business district of Panama City and very close to most attractive entertainment and shopping centers. Only 250m from the luxurious "Soho Mall" Panama and Tocumen International Airport (PTY) is approx. 21 km away. It is ideal for both leisure and business travel. The 644 modern designed and lovingly decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi offer maximum comfort and relaxation and in our 23 stylish and modern conference rooms you can successfully organize your events, meetings. Relax at the Renova Spa or get in shape in the gym. 1 outdoor pool. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking station at our buffet restaurant, an á la carte restaurant, as well as 2 bars. Crown Level Executive lounge service free for guests staying in Executive rooms and Suites as well as hotel guests holding RIU Class Gold and RIU Class Diamond cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing