We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 5 star option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2011

among the 5 star option in panama, RIU is the one I would recommend.
1) On the price, it is slightly lower than comarable hotels.
2° on the city views it is very good on the south side.
3) on the breakfast it is by far number 1
4) on the maid service (2 times a day, very discreet) I say very very good.
5) 1 bad point: it is located on calle 50 ...this is one of the worst street to drive a rush hour ... and rush hour in panama can last from 4 pm to 8pm ...
6) other minus: why RIU is pushing the airconditionning so cold? even when you turn of the ac in your room, because the all building is so cold, you are cold in your own room ...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jere_O_comptoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed mid-October for 4 nights. My room was nicely decorated and clean. However, the room and entire hotel was extremely cold, you could feel the cold air blowing with no relief. I set my room temp at 82 degrees, but it never warmed up. The second night I awoke choking from the musty smell of the room. After talking with the front desk, we arranged for a humidifier to be placed in the room, but I had to call two more times in order to receive it. The room's electric only ran while your room key was inserted in a reader at the door, so the humidifier only ran the brief times I was in the room. That said, I emptied the humidifier after only one day. The humidify and musty air was obviously at an unhealthy level. Anyone with asthma or respiratory issues should not stay here... Unfortunate, because meeting rooms, restaurant and rooms were so cold that they were extremely uncomfortable. If you're staying here, bring warm clothes, pjs, sweaters and ask for extra blankets at check-in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qtfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

During a 3 night stay I found this hotel to be nice but not elegant. The rooms are large and nicely appointed, although the shower head in the ceiling was placed off-center so that you got wet every time you turned it on. Food in the restaurants was good, especially the breakfast buffet. staff was friendly and helpful. a goos choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

good: amazing breakfast buffet, nice pool for laps, friendly and helpful staff, large rooms

bad: most rooms smell musty and moldy, especially those btwn the 17th and 24th floors, expensive

Room Tip: 7-11th floors seem less moldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank class4plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

From the checkin service I had an issue with. I stayed yesterday october 10th and 11th and the night audit preferred talking on the phone than checkin us in right away he made us watch him talk on the phone.
We reserved a king size bed but we got 2 doubles for a couple...i mean come on thats what happens whn your on the phone and no looking at the reservation correctly.
So me and my partner had to fit in one double size bed ouldnt sleep at all.
The sheets on the bed were too tucked in it looked like we were in a burrito.
The sink never drained and the elevators were to slow and we were on the 32nd floor.
More than 2 flaws come on this cant be a 5star hotel.
I am in the hospitality industry so I did get these complaints, I hope you can impove such things because any h in my country I want or it to be superb!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a beautiful new property located in center of the banking district of Panama City. The rooms were well decorated and state of the art. The service was good, the food was excellent. Definitely this property has a nice modern contemporary feel. There is a bar and restaurant located adjacent to the pool and another bar and restaurant in the spacious lobby area. My room was on a high floor and there were issues with humidity and the air conditioning. Every time I would set a temperature it would automatically reset after two minutes to 68 and I could not turn it off. I felt the humidity was far too high and it seemed moldy. I am in Panama frequently however I do not plan to return to the Hotel Riu Panama Plaza until I am sure that air conditioning and de-humidification issues have been corrected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptHMSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is in a top location, it looks like a Vegas hotel, very big. The rooms were not that luxury. Free wi fi and a very nice breakfast. Not much else to day. It is OKm but for US 170 maybe you can find something better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie7fR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#34 of 115 in Panama City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,307 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $92 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Splitty, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing