We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will never stay here !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monkey Lodge Panama
Ranked #2 of 80 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were recently staying in the area of this hotel and had engaged a driver to show us around. As I had read reviews of this hotel I asked him if he would take us there so we could get an impression for a future trip.

As another reviewer mentioned this property is at the top of a VERY steep hill which you must navigate after crossing a VERY narrow bridge. There is NOTHING in the area of this property so if you want to shop make sure you have some means of transport to get away from the hotel. On the positive side it is very close to the Panama-Colon expressway which would allow you to reach Colon in about 20 min.

When we reached the top of the hill we were greeted by a locked fence door with a bell. We rang the bell and finally a person, who seemed VERY annoyed that we had bothered her, came to the door and continually told us that only guests were allowed in and to be a guest YOUR MUST make a reservation on the internet !!

My driver and my wife who both speak Spanish TRIED to explain to this woman that we were simply there to check the place out as a reference for a future visit to Panama but she was having NO part of our explanation and again and again explained that unless we had made a reservation ON THE INTERNET we would not be allowed in.

Again, this situation WAS NOT one of miscommunication because my driver was a local Panamanian tour guide.

So bottom line, this is NOT a review of this property because we were literally driven away by this woman. It may be a the wonderful place to stay as many reviewers have said but I will never consider the place and my TOUR GUIDE has vowed to never recommend the place to any of his clients.

Maybe this review will help the management review their policy of NO ACCESS unless you made an internet reservation. This of course is a silly policy. The nearby hotel we were staying at was selected on the basis of a tour we took during our trip in 2004 so being able to view a property, at least in my case, got the hotel my business.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Ric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeylodge, Propriétaire at Monkey Lodge Panama, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much to mentioned the Monkey Lodge is not access free to preserve the tranquility of our guest, The guest love to stay around the pool without people come to visit.
If every body come first to visit we will be with lot of people in the lodge and is not our rules.
We are sure if you reserve a room in MONKEY LODGE you will don't like people come inside to visit and see you relaxing around the pool with your wife.
So before want to scupper an establishment with your bad comment, think about the customer's tranquility.

May be see you again!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 212 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

In all my years of family travels to central america, this was the most uncomfortable place to stay and is way overpriced for what is offered. This place is uphill from the midst of the slums in the area.

I have had less mosquito bites in the rain forest than I did in the room. I would have preferred if Fabrice had turned us down instead of placing 2 extra cots in a room that is barely enough for a double bed, knowing that it would be extremely inconvenient for a family of 4. The bathroom was tiny with sparsely running water and the aircondition did not work. We spent two nights there and could not wait to leave.

The monkey's are kept in a large yard fenced in and they are well taken care. If you have never taken a jungle tour than you may find the tour entertaining, however the whole day tour was probably the most expensive ($120) per person and all it contains is boat ride towards the canal with a brief stop to see the capuchin monkeys in the wild who are conditioned to come to your boat to pick some banana and peanuts (which is probably not part of their standard diet). The hike in the forest was uneventful with very little to see in terms of flora or fauna. The included lunch was also somewhat disappointing.

The best part of staying in the Monkey Lodge was meeting some wonderful tourists from Sweden and The Netherlands. Its a pity we could not exchange contacts as we really enjoyed our talks with them.

If you do not have your own rental car you will be stuck with nothing to do. This place is not serene and quiet to relax as you can actually hear the traffic below the lodge. It's too close to the town to be in the midst of jungle and adjoining area is more of a slum.

Sad to say that it was a disappointment. I even hate to write anything negative but my experience forces me to be honest. This place may be good for those who want to stay close to the city and have their own vehicles. I am hopeful that the owners will continue to improve their service and think of these as constructive criticism. They should seriously not rent out the Lulu Lodge.

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy sleeping in a tiny room with iron bars and a monkey cage as your morning view, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Machupichutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeylodge, Propriétaire at Monkey Lodge Panama, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We live at Monkey Lodge and take pride in our house and in what our guests think of their stay. It is true that our place is on the top of a hill. We chose it specifically for this reason. The idea of Monkey Lodge is a retreat away from the city. It is located 20 minutes from the city so we do not hear the city noises nor are we near a slum.

We have had visitors from all over the world stay at Monkey Lodge. As you mentioned, you were here with visitors from other countries . We are happy that you enjoyed meeting them and conversing with them. That is the type of atmosphere our home offers to our guests. The majority of our visitors have loved the food. We did the best we could to accommodate you, even cooking specifically for your diet.

Our Canal Tour is a favorite of most visitors to Monkey Lodge, and many who come to Panama and only take the tour. Most clients love to see the monkeys visit the boat, and most clients enjoy the variety of flora and fauna. We wish that you had chosen one of our many other tours that would have been more to your liking.

We pride ourselves on our slice of heaven and the special attention we give to our customers and we appreciate feedback from our clients to improve our services. We hope that our current and future clients see our passion in our home, Monkey Lodge, and we hope that one day you will return to Panama and enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Bad road to reach the lodge but when you get tnere it's worth it. Nice cabins. Very low waterprsure for the showers. Beautifull pool and nice social area. Dinner is a bit small for the price but good in quality. The owners are friendly and french so english and spanish is not the first language! They also do tours we didn't join them. It's logged in between two high ways so not real quiet at night. If you haven't got much time and you want a rainforrest experience thos is the clossest you will get near Panama city.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Although Monkey Lodge looks like a wonderful place to stay, I would advise everyone to be very careful when booking there. Although it's my fault as I obviously didn't pay enough attention to the cancellation policy when I booked (typically if you give sufficient notice you're not charged), tunfortunately my husband fell ill and we had to cancel the booking (I gave 34 days notice!!) and we got charged for the full booking! This wasn't trivial either, almost $500... Lesson learned, be warned!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lnormand43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeylodge, Propriétaire at Monkey Lodge Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes désolé de ce désagrément, mais comme vous le dites dans votre commentaire, vous n'avez pas lu la police de cancelation.
La chambre a etait reservé le 2 Juin 2013, elle a donc etait bloqué pendant six mois, la reservation etait du 27 au 31 décembre, periode de Fêtes et haute saison, Malheureusement nous n'avons que 4 chambres et nous sommes dans l'obligation d'avoir cette police de cancelation qui est écrite sur notre site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Monkey Lodge and if we could give this place a 10 star rating we would! Fabrice and Sabrina, the owners, are wonderful people who take great care in seeing that their guests feel part of the family. We enjoyed Sabrina's meals (folks who have complained about being isolated have totally missed the point---you're way out of the city and in a jungle feel-- so enjoy it and let her cook for you and if you want to go to the city for dinner one night, you can...(it is honestly much more expensive to do that than to dine at Monkey Lodge.)

We went on three tours with Fabrice and they were all worth every single penny! We went on the Caribbean Tour, which was awesome! Swimming in the mangrove was an amazing experience and our 7 year old loved Fabrice's playfulness and helping him gain confidence in swimming. We also did the most amazing canal tour. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute but absolutely loved hiking through the jungle and seeing a family of howler monkeys. On our last full day we relaxed at the most wonderful islands off the coast of Panama, in San Blas.

Thank you to Fabrice, Sabrina, Max and everyone else who made our first trip to Panama magical!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'll be brief, my wife and I travel the world and this lodge is world class...jungle style! The accommodations are in keeping with the jungle theme as are the gardens and pool. Fabrice has strong customer service skills and his son Max is a very nice young man with good boat driving skills. DO NOT miss their canal tour by boat! Sabrina's cooking at dinner's is must do treat. Enjoying the monkeys at the lodge and wild in the canal islands is so special.
If you in Panama, this lodge is a must, ensure you stay long enough to really enjoy it to its full potential.
Thank you Fabrice, Sabrina and Max.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, The Monkey room is a little more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKubara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My girlfriend Anya and I travelled to Panama from London over Easter 2013 but have been slow to write this review. We started our stay in Panama at the Monkey Lodge and loved the place. Fabrice and Sabrina were very flexible and welcoming. We got the bus from Panama bus station and, despite not speaking any Spanish, were helped by locals to get off the bus at the end of the road to the lodge. A taxi is probably easier but the bus was an experience and cost next to nothing.

Not having a car meant that we were slightly stranded at the lodge but Sabrina's cooking was excellent. It is more expensive than local places but it was excellent international/French cuisine and worth the price. I would recommend having your own car in order to explore but we didn't and were very happy relaxing in the lodge gardens watching hummingbirds and the resident monkeys.

We stayed in the room within the monkey enclosure which meant that we had the monkeys peering in at us as we stayed within our 'cage'. Playing with the monkeys was an experience and as one is not keen on women, an experience just for men!

We took the Canal tour with Fabrice which was a great way to see and explore the canal by boat. Fabrice has a detailed knowledge of the area and is especially good at finding local wildlife. The highlight was feeding a wild baby Capuchin monkey by hand from the boat!

We stayed 3 days and as we hadn't booked anywhere to go on to, Fabrice and Sabrina stayed up late helping us to find places in the San Blas Islands. Eventually they helped us stay at their friends hotel in Panama city which was a good launch point for the rest of our trip. The
Lodge is definitely recommended for a couple of nights at the start or end of your trip. Great food, great gardens and great hosts. Thanks to Fabrice and Sabrina for helping us with our onward journey!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
5.3 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
944 reviews
14.9 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#35 of 115 in Panama City
1,207 reviews
11.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
11.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 115 in Panama City
1,190 reviews
12.4 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Lodge Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Lodge Panama

Address: Carretera Madden | Puente Roque, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: $96 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Lodge Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Lodge is an authentic paradise, located at 20 minutes from Panama City Center, and 10 minutes from the Panama Chanel and neighbor to Soberania National Park.Monkey Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast with four cabins with all the amenities and comfort (refrigerators with drinks, safety box, privet bathroom and air condition on three of them). Furthermore, one of our cabins is located inside the monkey habitat, therefore all monkey lovers will be in close contact with these friendly and funny animals.While in Monkey Lodge, if you want it, you could be as close to monkey life as your will ever dream to spend unforgettable moments, knowing each monkey's personality, and their lifestyle.We also have a magnificent rainforest tropical garden, with an unmatched vegetation full of a enormous variety of flowers and birds, all located nearby our beautiful pool where you can rest and refresh all surround of these amazing place.In order to wake up your senses, we serve a delicious food in front of the garden and poolMonkey Lodge is not only a Bed & Breakfast, we are a travel agency and truism operator, therefore we are completely qualified to arrange, guide and make you holiday and tour as an exclusively experience, and warranty you an unforgettable vacation . We offer different travel offers so you can choose the one or ones that match your requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Monkey Lodge Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Lodge Panama Hotel Panama City
Monkey Lodge Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing