We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly Misleading...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkey Lodge Panama
Ranked #2 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

In all my years of family travels to central america, this was the most uncomfortable place to stay and is way overpriced for what is offered. This place is uphill from the midst of the slums in the area.

I have had less mosquito bites in the rain forest than I did in the room. I would have preferred if Fabrice had turned us down instead of placing 2 extra cots in a room that is barely enough for a double bed, knowing that it would be extremely inconvenient for a family of 4. The bathroom was tiny with sparsely running water and the aircondition did not work. We spent two nights there and could not wait to leave.

The monkey's are kept in a large yard fenced in and they are well taken care. If you have never taken a jungle tour than you may find the tour entertaining, however the whole day tour was probably the most expensive ($120) per person and all it contains is boat ride towards the canal with a brief stop to see the capuchin monkeys in the wild who are conditioned to come to your boat to pick some banana and peanuts (which is probably not part of their standard diet). The hike in the forest was uneventful with very little to see in terms of flora or fauna. The included lunch was also somewhat disappointing.

The best part of staying in the Monkey Lodge was meeting some wonderful tourists from Sweden and The Netherlands. Its a pity we could not exchange contacts as we really enjoyed our talks with them.

If you do not have your own rental car you will be stuck with nothing to do. This place is not serene and quiet to relax as you can actually hear the traffic below the lodge. It's too close to the town to be in the midst of jungle and adjoining area is more of a slum.

Sad to say that it was a disappointment. I even hate to write anything negative but my experience forces me to be honest. This place may be good for those who want to stay close to the city and have their own vehicles. I am hopeful that the owners will continue to improve their service and think of these as constructive criticism. They should seriously not rent out the Lulu Lodge.

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy sleeping in a tiny room with iron bars and a monkey cage as your morning view, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Machupichutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeylodge, Propriétaire at Monkey Lodge Panama, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We live at Monkey Lodge and take pride in our house and in what our guests think of their stay. It is true that our place is on the top of a hill. We chose it specifically for this reason. The idea of Monkey Lodge is a retreat away from the city. It is located 20 minutes from the city so we do not hear the city noises nor are we near a slum.

We have had visitors from all over the world stay at Monkey Lodge. As you mentioned, you were here with visitors from other countries . We are happy that you enjoyed meeting them and conversing with them. That is the type of atmosphere our home offers to our guests. The majority of our visitors have loved the food. We did the best we could to accommodate you, even cooking specifically for your diet.

Our Canal Tour is a favorite of most visitors to Monkey Lodge, and many who come to Panama and only take the tour. Most clients love to see the monkeys visit the boat, and most clients enjoy the variety of flora and fauna. We wish that you had chosen one of our many other tours that would have been more to your liking.

We pride ourselves on our slice of heaven and the special attention we give to our customers and we appreciate feedback from our clients to improve our services. We hope that our current and future clients see our passion in our home, Monkey Lodge, and we hope that one day you will return to Panama and enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 213 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Bad road to reach the lodge but when you get tnere it's worth it. Nice cabins. Very low waterprsure for the showers. Beautifull pool and nice social area. Dinner is a bit small for the price but good in quality. The owners are friendly and french so english and spanish is not the first language! They also do tours we didn't join them. It's logged in between two high ways so not real quiet at night. If you haven't got much time and you want a rainforrest experience thos is the clossest you will get near Panama city.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Although Monkey Lodge looks like a wonderful place to stay, I would advise everyone to be very careful when booking there. Although it's my fault as I obviously didn't pay enough attention to the cancellation policy when I booked (typically if you give sufficient notice you're not charged), tunfortunately my husband fell ill and we had to cancel the booking (I gave 34 days notice!!) and we got charged for the full booking! This wasn't trivial either, almost $500... Lesson learned, be warned!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lnormand43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeylodge, Propriétaire at Monkey Lodge Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes désolé de ce désagrément, mais comme vous le dites dans votre commentaire, vous n'avez pas lu la police de cancelation.
La chambre a etait reservé le 2 Juin 2013, elle a donc etait bloqué pendant six mois, la reservation etait du 27 au 31 décembre, periode de Fêtes et haute saison, Malheureusement nous n'avons que 4 chambres et nous sommes dans l'obligation d'avoir cette police de cancelation qui est écrite sur notre site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Monkey Lodge and if we could give this place a 10 star rating we would! Fabrice and Sabrina, the owners, are wonderful people who take great care in seeing that their guests feel part of the family. We enjoyed Sabrina's meals (folks who have complained about being isolated have totally missed the point---you're way out of the city and in a jungle feel-- so enjoy it and let her cook for you and if you want to go to the city for dinner one night, you can...(it is honestly much more expensive to do that than to dine at Monkey Lodge.)

We went on three tours with Fabrice and they were all worth every single penny! We went on the Caribbean Tour, which was awesome! Swimming in the mangrove was an amazing experience and our 7 year old loved Fabrice's playfulness and helping him gain confidence in swimming. We also did the most amazing canal tour. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute but absolutely loved hiking through the jungle and seeing a family of howler monkeys. On our last full day we relaxed at the most wonderful islands off the coast of Panama, in San Blas.

Thank you to Fabrice, Sabrina, Max and everyone else who made our first trip to Panama magical!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'll be brief, my wife and I travel the world and this lodge is world class...jungle style! The accommodations are in keeping with the jungle theme as are the gardens and pool. Fabrice has strong customer service skills and his son Max is a very nice young man with good boat driving skills. DO NOT miss their canal tour by boat! Sabrina's cooking at dinner's is must do treat. Enjoying the monkeys at the lodge and wild in the canal islands is so special.
If you in Panama, this lodge is a must, ensure you stay long enough to really enjoy it to its full potential.
Thank you Fabrice, Sabrina and Max.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, The Monkey room is a little more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKubara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My girlfriend Anya and I travelled to Panama from London over Easter 2013 but have been slow to write this review. We started our stay in Panama at the Monkey Lodge and loved the place. Fabrice and Sabrina were very flexible and welcoming. We got the bus from Panama bus station and, despite not speaking any Spanish, were helped by locals to get off the bus at the end of the road to the lodge. A taxi is probably easier but the bus was an experience and cost next to nothing.

Not having a car meant that we were slightly stranded at the lodge but Sabrina's cooking was excellent. It is more expensive than local places but it was excellent international/French cuisine and worth the price. I would recommend having your own car in order to explore but we didn't and were very happy relaxing in the lodge gardens watching hummingbirds and the resident monkeys.

We stayed in the room within the monkey enclosure which meant that we had the monkeys peering in at us as we stayed within our 'cage'. Playing with the monkeys was an experience and as one is not keen on women, an experience just for men!

We took the Canal tour with Fabrice which was a great way to see and explore the canal by boat. Fabrice has a detailed knowledge of the area and is especially good at finding local wildlife. The highlight was feeding a wild baby Capuchin monkey by hand from the boat!

We stayed 3 days and as we hadn't booked anywhere to go on to, Fabrice and Sabrina stayed up late helping us to find places in the San Blas Islands. Eventually they helped us stay at their friends hotel in Panama city which was a good launch point for the rest of our trip. The
Lodge is definitely recommended for a couple of nights at the start or end of your trip. Great food, great gardens and great hosts. Thanks to Fabrice and Sabrina for helping us with our onward journey!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We've been at Monkey Lodge for 3 nights. We were picked up in Panama City by Max, our chauffeur, and were charmly welcomed by Fabrice and Sabrina. The hotel is about 30 minutes away from Panama city and is situated in the forest. The cabanas are very comfortable and we also enjoyed the pool. The highlight of our stay was the canal tour with Max. I would say that this tour is a must. We went on a boat in the canal and then stopped at the monkey island where we saw and fed monkeys in the boat. Then we stopped and had a walk in the jungle to see an old american army base. We had a nice lunch and went kayacking and had a swim in a beautiful natural pool. Should we have stayed longer, we would have tried some other tours.
We would recommand this place for those who want to see a little more of the country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0see_Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
5.3 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#24 of 115 in Panama City
959 reviews
21.8 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
644 reviews
14.9 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#37 of 115 in Panama City
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
657 reviews
11.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,204 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Lodge Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Lodge Panama

Address: Carretera Madden | Puente Roque, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: $108 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Lodge Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Lodge is an authentic paradise, located at 20 minutes from Panama City Center, and 10 minutes from the Panama Chanel and neighbor to Soberania National Park.Monkey Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast with four cabins with all the amenities and comfort (refrigerators with drinks, safety box, privet bathroom and air condition on three of them). Furthermore, one of our cabins is located inside the monkey habitat, therefore all monkey lovers will be in close contact with these friendly and funny animals.While in Monkey Lodge, if you want it, you could be as close to monkey life as your will ever dream to spend unforgettable moments, knowing each monkey's personality, and their lifestyle.We also have a magnificent rainforest tropical garden, with an unmatched vegetation full of a enormous variety of flowers and birds, all located nearby our beautiful pool where you can rest and refresh all surround of these amazing place.In order to wake up your senses, we serve a delicious food in front of the garden and poolMonkey Lodge is not only a Bed & Breakfast, we are a travel agency and truism operator, therefore we are completely qualified to arrange, guide and make you holiday and tour as an exclusively experience, and warranty you an unforgettable vacation . We offer different travel offers so you can choose the one or ones that match your requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Monkey Lodge Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Lodge Panama Hotel Panama City
Monkey Lodge Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing