We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panama's hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkey Lodge Panama
Ranked #3 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Panama's hidden gem”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My 4 nights at Monkey Lodge was full of wonderful experiences, from the day trips, all so different and memorable to the wonderful hospitality of Fabrice, Sabrina, Rudy and Max.
I went with high expectations and the reality exceeded them. Sabrina is a wonderful cook and each meal was beautifully presented.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeleNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    47
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
50
106
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This great little family business has got it all together! The property is beautiful and secluded, the rooms are very nice (the nicest we encountered in Panama) and the family is wonderful. Fabrice and the boys speak very good English (as well as French and Spanish) and will make sure your stay is memorable. Rudy showed us around the city one day, and Fabrice and Max took us on a jungle boat excursion another day. Sabrina prepares delicious breakfasts and dinners (if you want) and is a delight to be around. My daughter loved playing with the monkeys on the property, especially Lilly, the baby.

It's a little far from downtown Panama City, but if you're OK with that, give the Monkey Lodge a try.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6944Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I almost don’t want to write how great the Monkey Lodge is, because I want to go back and have it be exactly the same – and not have to fight for a reservation. Our couple nights here were our favorite in Panama. The French family that owns and operates the small facility is incredibly friendly, the grounds are clean and rustic, with a small pool and a great gazebo with such comfortable hammocks for lounging.

The friendly monkeys, though, are the highlight. There is a baby monkey who just wants to play, and an older but small capuchin who also likes games but less often. They are the absolute cutest things ever.

We termed Fabrice (an owner) “Indiana Jacques” because he’s like the French Indiana Jones. He took us on a full day tour on the Canal, to Monkey Island, to where the US Army had a radio outpost during WWII, to an island where “indigenous” Panamanians who trained US astronauts in survival skills lived, and then up a river/creek by climbing rocks. It was our favorite day in Panama and Fabrice makes everything an adventure. Five stars!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Monkey Lodge and loved it! We traveled in Panama for 2 weeks and this was the most unique Bed & Breakfast/ Hotel we have ever stayed at. Fabrice & Sabrina have a beautiful home and they take you in like family. We always felt comfortable, safe, and in friendly company around Fabrice and his family. His English is ok, but he mainly speaks Spanish and French.

The 3 cabanas are clean and very comfortable. You can swim in the pool and play with the monkeys. If you are an animal lover, you will want to prepare to spend a couple hours playing with Papaya & Lili - I could write a paragraph about each of them. They are very fun.

Fabrice is very knowledgeable and offers a variety of tours of the canal, city, and some other adventures like San Blas. We had him take us out on his boat for a trip to Monkey Island which was a good deal. We also did his San Blas tour later in our trip.

The Monkey Lodge is definitely on the outskirts of Panama City (about a 20 minute drive from the airport). This was the only drawback to staying there, but Fabrice can arrange his taxi driver Orlando to drive you to any part of the city you want...Orlando is very helpful and dedicated to Fabrice. His taxi rides can be a little bit pricey but overall worth the personal service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlitosMarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Jungle setting, rustic bungalows, nice pool, great people. Difficult to find, call first for directions or let them arrange an airport pickup for you. You'll feel like personal friends of Fabrice and Sabrina, the French owners, they treat you so well. Breakfast is very good (great coffee, fresh juice and fruit, crepes, omlettes!) and they also offer an optional dinner with wine for $15 (getting to/from the lodge is difficult after dark, there are no lights nor signs and the driveway is steep, so staying in for dinner makes sense.. and the food was excellent). The monkeys frolic around and let you hold them (they took our bathing suits left on the porch at night, owners tracked them down for us). Great location for touring the Panama Canal and nearby Panama City. Bungalows are rustic, cute and welcoming. We brought our own wine and snacks for a poolside happy hour, there are no stores nearby whatsoever. This little B&B (three bungalows) has a great vibe and warm feeling, you'll feel like you are deep in the jungle even though the freeway and bustling city is only about 20-25 minutes away. The only improvement we could suggest would be upgrading the driveway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDLFL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Monkey Lodge for a week. The location is perfect and owners Fabrice, Sabrina and their sons Rudi and Max were amazing hosts. Being able to interact with the monkeys was a unique experience. Fabrice took us on excursions to Panama City, surfing, snorkeling and on an overnight stay on a beaufiful island in San Blas. Sabrina cooked delicious breakfasts and dinners which were served with music and candlelight on the patio in the rain forest. We will be talking about this vacation for years to come.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My better half and I spent 11 days with the Gateo family, their extended family "adopted monkeys" (and not in cages!!!) met some of their friends and other travelers alike :) and we had the time of our lives :) :) :) We are in our 60's and my husband has some health issues so, when we reserved the 10 day special I wanted to make sure it was understood that we had to make some changes to the itinarery. No problem there at all!!!!!!!! Fabrice and Sabrina were more than accomodating in every way! For right now I am posting a short trip report, but will post a more detailed ... a little a day since I have to go back to work... plus lots of pics. Thank you Nancy for translating ... I do think of you and thank you and your family for a wonderful time... and thank you " Gateos" for a great vacation :) :) :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krispykraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.5 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#32 of 114 in Panama City
1,172 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 114 in Panama City
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
10.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#44 of 114 in Panama City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Lodge Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Lodge Panama

Property: Monkey Lodge Panama
Address: Carretera Madden | Puente Roque, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Lodge Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Lodge is an authentic paradise, located at 20 minutes from Panama City Center, and 10 minutes from the Panama Chanel and neighbor to Soberania National Park.Monkey Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast with four cabins with all the amenities and comfort (refrigerators with drinks, safety box, privet bathroom and air condition on three of them). Furthermore, one of our cabins is located inside the monkey habitat, therefore all monkey lovers will be in close contact with these friendly and funny animals.While in Monkey Lodge, if you want it, you could be as close to monkey life as your will ever dream to spend unforgettable moments, knowing each monkey's personality, and their lifestyle.We also have a magnificent rainforest tropical garden, with an unmatched vegetation full of a enormous variety of flowers and birds, all located nearby our beautiful pool where you can rest and refresh all surround of these amazing place.In order to wake up your senses, we serve a delicious food in front of the garden and poolMonkey Lodge is not only a Bed & Breakfast, we are a travel agency and truism operator, therefore we are completely qualified to arrange, guide and make you holiday and tour as an exclusively experience, and warranty you an unforgettable vacation . We offer different travel offers so you can choose the one or ones that match your requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monkey Lodge Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Lodge Panama Hotel Panama City
Monkey Lodge Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing