We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfy, superb location! Amazing hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, comfy, superb location! Amazing hosts!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed three nights in Casa Sucre. Conveniently located in the heart of Casco Viejo on the corner opposite Tantalo hotel / rooftop bar. Excellent renovated/restored old building.

The hosts, Alyce and Richard, are very helpful in planning day trips, making delicious breakfasts and making you feel comfortable in their Inn. Small dog, Abisha, very nice and highly energetic... Very sweet! The hosts are just so nice, really interested in their guests instead of just being polite. They also give you your privacy so no need to talk if you dont want to.

Rooms were nicely decorated and good in size. Nice balcony to have a cigarette with an Abuelo. All was very clean.

If you want to stay here as a couple you are making a very good choice. Excellent value for money!

@Alyce, thanx for the mug. Every now and then we think of the good time we had in Panama ( and your place offcourse;-)) while having a coffee!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingJulianNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
79
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We're two gay women who needed a home away from home in Panama City for 2 weeks, and Rich and Alyce certainly provided that! The food was great, and they went above and beyond to make our trip a memorable one--giving suggestions, preparing special meals and vegetarian breakfasts, and generally being fantastic hosts. By the end, we felt like family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwilkins07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casasucre1, Owner at Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your time with us and the great toy for our pet Yorkie, Abisha. We look forward to your return to Panama, Casco Viejo and Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

At the last minute, because of a travel mix-up, a friend and I were without lodging in Panama City. Casa Sucre was recommended to us by another hotel. It was the best recommendation we ever received. The owners, Alyce and Richard, along with their staff - Tomas and Maya - did everything to make us welcome, gave us great information about places to visit while in Panama City, and were a delight to get to know. The apartment that we had was comfortable, with a private entrance, good air conditioning, and terrific beds. And, the breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family and I were only in Casco Viejo for one night, but our stay at Casa Sucre was lovely. Alyce & Rich were very kind and helpful - especially since we did not arrive until around 10pm. Casa Sucre is a beautiful facility and comfortable - and the breakfast was fabulous! Good location too - we walked to Plaza Bolivar for dinner after we arrived. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briannaandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic vacation in Panama. One of our stops was Panama City where we were treated to a wonderful experience at Casa Sucre in Casco Viejo. Having arrived late because of a flight delay we were greeted by the owner with a heart-felt "Welcome home! We've been worried about you." Accommodations were beautifully decorated and clean. Our room had a balcony that overlooked a busy intersection and that just added to the experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms can be a bit noisy. The apartments on the lower level were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at the hotel. The location is perfect - its safe, conveniently located and the building is an old restored one and looks beautiful. The rooms were clean, albeit a bit small. The breakfast was good as well. The reason the hotel gets 5 stars, however, is because of the people managing it. These were some of the nicest people I have seen in all my travels. They woke up at 5 AM to cook us breakfast when we had to leave for an early tour. We went for an overnight trip outside of Panama city and left our car with the staff. They moved the car to a safer parking spot at night for us. And all of that with a smile! I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

One warning though - There is a rooftop bar across from the hotel and it plays loud music on Weekends till late at night. We had no issues with that, but people travelling with families should take note.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston,TX USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Alyce was indeed a very good host, the breakfasts were superb and the location is safe and convenient for the Casco Viejo area - near the Presidental Palace, good restaurants and the fish market a couple blocks away. The quibbles: We had street level rooms. Street urchins were a constant evening presence outside our street exit door, talking, leaning against our door. Our bedroom opened into the quadrangle so by closing our bedroom door the sound level was manageable but only by turning up the TV could you drown out the street noise. The property is old and quaint. What isn't quaint is the Ikea like low end press board dressers with drawers that didn't work. The room safe was locked. Repeated requests to get it opened were always cheerfully acknowledged with a promise to have Tomas take care of it; six days and it never did get opened. Speaking of Tomas, the driver and handyman, we were so impressed and grateful on our arrival when Alyce had him take us to a USA style supermarket to stock our kitchens. He drove us there and waited while we shopped - $6 per couple, very reasonable. However we were shocked at the $50 price to take us to the ferry. A trip the locals assured us would be a fourth of that price. On top of that the car broke down in the area adjacent to Casco Viejo where you are warned to never walk and the taxis roll up their windows as they speed through. We quit using Tomas and hired another local driver. Casa Sucre is still recommended but do know that there are differences in the quality of the rooms and ASK for details on any arrangements made for you.

Room Tip: The street access rooms are noisy but have full kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#60 of 114 in Panama City
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#32 of 114 in Panama City
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#34 of 114 in Panama City
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 114 in Panama City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 8 y Ave B, Casco Viejo, Panama City 64063, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwest Hospitality in the Middle of the Americas and a Home Cooked Breakfast to Start Your Day! Located in the historic Casco Viejo neighborhood of San Felipe, Panama, Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel is a renovated 1873 five bedroom three apartment guest house for those visiting our historic city. With its unique architectural history, picturesque buildings, cathedrals and churches, ruins, museums, varied and diverse cultures, and gourmet restaurants, guests of Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel will have the best of the city waiting just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing