We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embera Village Tours & More
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Embera Village Tours & More
from $195.00
More Info
from $215.00
More Info
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe ride chagres river an adventure dry season dugout waterfall culture motorized outboard hardwork
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 320 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Anne Gordon and this tour to the Embera Puru village in Chagres National Park. We had some ethical reservations about doing this type of tour, and we picked this one specifically because Anne is part of the community. And this was very clear when we visited the tribe. Anne is clearly an important part of their community and they welcomed her like family. We also felt very welcome when we visited. We had lots of down time to walk around, chat with people, and swim in the river. Anne has such a wealth of knowledge about the history and culture of the Embera people and we feel very lucky to have learned so much about them. This was truly a once in a lifetime opportunity and the highlight of our trip to Panama. Thank you Anne!!

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank karleyd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed the small community tour and their welcoming party. The native explained somewhat about the tribes history and culture. Several dances were performed and we were then allowed to walk around a small area or shop for some of their crafts . It's a very small area ( less than a basketball court ) in size.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank IrishCueTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

A motorized ride in a dug-out canoe to get to the Embera Village along the river banks of the Chagres National Park was an adventure by itself. The Emberas were very welcoming. The village Chief shared with us in his own Embera language basic information about the tribe - its customs, traditions, and family/daily life. Traditional dances, music, handcrafted items, traditional food and clothings were all part of our short Embera immersion experience.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Lulu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

Is amazing how with less of one hour of driving you can be so deep in our aborigines culture, we past a excellent day whit the members of the tribe, eating fish and fried plantains. Full recommended.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank NormanWood23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

This tour proved to be a true highlight of our stay in Panama. Anne was fantastic - she picked us up right on time at our hotel and was a fount of knowledge about the Embrera people and about Panama. She keeps her groups small and the resulting tour is intimate and revelatory. Her community - and it is hers as she is married to one of the Embrera - is warm and welcoming. This is an extraordinary experience and well worth the expense for those who want to introduce their children to the wider world.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Travel804543
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews