We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embera Village Tours & More
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Embera Village Tours & More
from $195.00
More Info
from $215.00
More Info
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe ride chagres river an adventure dry season dugout waterfall culture motorized outboard hardwork
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 320 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2017

A motorized ride in a dug-out canoe to get to the Embera Village along the river banks of the Chagres National Park was an adventure by itself. The Emberas were very welcoming. The village Chief shared with us in his own Embera language basic information about the tribe - its customs, traditions, and family/daily life. Traditional dances, music, handcrafted items, traditional food and clothings were all part of our short Embera immersion experience.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Lulu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

Is amazing how with less of one hour of driving you can be so deep in our aborigines culture, we past a excellent day whit the members of the tribe, eating fish and fried plantains. Full recommended.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank NormanWood23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

This tour proved to be a true highlight of our stay in Panama. Anne was fantastic - she picked us up right on time at our hotel and was a fount of knowledge about the Embrera people and about Panama. She keeps her groups small and the resulting tour is intimate and revelatory. Her community - and it is hers as she is married to one of the Embrera - is warm and welcoming. This is an extraordinary experience and well worth the expense for those who want to introduce their children to the wider world.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Travel804543
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

On March 10th, my wife and I took the Embera Village Tour, on March 13th, we did snorkeling and historic Portobelo tour, and on March 14th we did a customized Panama City Tour. All three tours Jorge was our guide. At Embera, the warmth of the villagers was evident as they welcomed us and shared a glimpse of their lives with us. Others have commented how good freshly caught Tiplapia is, and we agree. Snorkeling on the Atlantic side near a small island was enchanting. We had the place to ourselves. Lunch was great and we had plantains prepared as a flat, thin, large pancake style and I wish I had some now. On the City tour, we took in the Miraflores locks of the Panama Canal, and made stops wherever we requested. We visited the old city, and the original city ruins, and got to complete our shopping list for items to bring home.

Jorge was great to tour with, although I think he may have been conspiring to prevent me from having a Balboa beer (another brand was his preferred :-)

We would work with these folks again and again and highly recommend them.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Such an amazing experience to go by canoe to the village taken by a member of the tribe. They made us very welcome, cooked us a meal served in a leaf, showed us how they make their craft work and colored the materials with natural things. We were given time to wonder around the village and see their houses. They also demonstrated their dances and invited us to join in.

I loved every minute of it and I hope that with people from the outside world going in it does not change their way of life as it is wonderful.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank 4Locals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews