We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embera Village Tours & More
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Embera Village Tours & More
from $195.00
More Info
from $215.00
More Info
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe ride chagres river an adventure dry season dugout waterfall culture motorized outboard hardwork
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 320 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2017

About 20 of us were driven to Chagres National Park and then boarded rustic dugout canoes for the journey to Embara Village, which took about 40 minutes. This in itself was a delightful voyage along a river and lake.
When we reached the village we were greeted by locals, bare breasted ladies and a male "band". It was charming. We spent time listening to the "chief", with encouragement to buy produce, before wandering the village and mingling with the Indians. They were clad in brilliantly coloured loin cloths or skirts and were incredibly "natural". I had feared a rather created village, but this was for real.
We shared lunch........ river fish and plantain chips. Fish was tasty but boney, and the plantain chips somewhat like cardboard. The youngs kids were wonderful, natural and relaxed. We viewed a few of their traditional dances, or rather circular processions with a bob and a turn. Not surprisingly we were asked to join them. It was fun.
We were dismayed when it was time to return down river once more.
I really enjoyed this visit and it left me with a lasting impression of delight.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank AlanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

We took the Embera Village Tour on March 13, 2017. To be very clear, we definitely booked with Anne Gordon's Embera Village Tours, where we dealt with Ellie. Initially, we were open to the experience, as a small group being transported to the village in a dug-out canoe, albeit powered by an outboard motor. We were greeted by the villagers upon arrival with ceremonial music and warmth. After being allowed to wander a bit and during the little talk by one of the chiefs, another group arrived to the same fanfare we received. Shortly after that, yet another even larger group arrived. These groups came with other tours (like Expedia, or some such tour) but we all came to the same village, had the same experiences and were given the same lunches (except these other groups were actually given water - and beer! - on their tours, whereas we were not). Pop! went the bubble - no longer did we feel we were being given special access into village life.

Initially we requested Anne Gordon but she was on extended break and were assigned a regular tour guide, I'll refer to him as K. Ellie assured us that all the tour guides were top notch. After our experience, I question her standards. K was a lovely fellow, but rather removed, disinterested and not very informative. He rarely initiated dialogue, and spoke mainly when he was translating from the Embera natives or answering our questions. In fact, we learned more from listening to the other tour guides when they talked to their groups than we learned from K. The only real entertainment we got from K was on the way back when he fell asleep in the canoe and almost fell out of the boat. Had it not been for my husband who was right behind him in the boat, K would have toppled into the water and probably capsized us all in the process. In the van ride back to our hotels, he snored loudly.

We think the village and villagers were legit, although we were never taken into any of their dwellings so there lingers doubt...if you choose to go, be prepared and don't worry about whether you take tour that's marketed as 'intimate' or 'authentic' versus one of the larger tours. You'll probably get the same experience either way. In fact, in a larger group, you may escape some of the pressure we got by the villagers to buy their handicrafts at their market. You'll find the same crafts at various locations in Panama, including the airport, at severely inflated prices, but hey, you'll have saved a ton by not taking the tour so it all evens out.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank GiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

I clicked that Margaret C:s comment helped me. And it did cos that made me really want to write this.
I think it is sad that people give a bad rewiew when they did not even go on this tour with this company and did not visit this village or People.
This is NOT a tourist trap. This is a beautiful experience and they are so genuine. 10 out of 10

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank bubblesandsquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

As part of our Panama tour we traveled to the Embera Indian village by boat, the only way to access it. The Embera Indians were very gracious during our visit. One of the Embera men explained their culture and history while our tour guide translated for us. They showed us how they make their artworks which were available to purchase. They then performed some ceremonial dances and invited some of our group to join in. This was an enjoyable and educational experience. During our March visit it was dry, thus no mosquitoes. It is of interest to learn that as they live in the Chagres National Park, they cannot hunt or cut down trees so the mainstays of their diet are fish and plantains and must make their wooden handicrafts from fallen trees.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time at this very isolated Embera Village. Jorge was a great and knowledgeable guide who had spent a lot of time with the tribe. We saw how they live- despite what other reviews indicate, this tribe lives there- they don't just show up to put on a show. Had lunch of local fish and fruit. They have beautiful baskets, carvings, and jewelry to sell. This helps keep the tribe alive. Plan to get wet on the dugout ride up river (plastic bag for your camera) and lots of sunscreen and water. People are very friendly and open. No problems taking photos or wandering around their village.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank burkeworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews