We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embera Village Tours & More
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Embera Village Tours & More
from $195.00
More Info
from $215.00
More Info
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
252
43
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe ride chagres river an adventure dry season dugout waterfall culture motorized outboard hardwork
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 320 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2017

This was a remote, quaint and wonderful little village. We spent a delightful afternoon with the villagers! They prepared a wonderful lunch and entertained us with some dancing, encouraging us to join in! The children were especially enchanting!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank cre8gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Wonderful visit to one of the Embera tribes in Panama. Friends and I drove to a pick up point in Gamboa, and were picked up in a hollowed out log boat by the natives. 30 minutes up the river to their tribe's home. They put us with an english speaking tribal member, and we had a traditional lunch prepared in front of us of fresh caught in the river Tilapia and plantains served in a fresh cut palm leaf bowl. We brought gifts of bags of rice and candy. We were shown their weaving, how they dye the palm leaves, and many carvings. Then a tour of the plants used by the medicine man. Native dances which we were invited to join in on, and of course a look at their wares for sale. Don't miss this for a true Panama experience as these people live as they have always for hundreds of years.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank CoffeeGuyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Took a wooden Canoe with a motor to the village. The had goods for sale and did a traditional dance but best of all were how adorable the kids were. My friends got henna tattoos there but our tour didn't offer the op. We listened to an hour lecture on for weaving process. This Was a bit too long for Americans attention span. Try to do a tour that does the village but it's not the only stop of the day.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Travel2Escape45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne G, Owner at Embera Village Tours & More, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Thank you for your review of your visit to the Embera village. However, this page is for the company Embera Village Tours and based on your review and photos, you did not go on our tour, but visited another Embera village with another company. It appears that you went to one of the closer villages and our tours visit a more remote and traditional village where you always have the option of having a jagua fruit dye tattoo if you wish. The presentation in the village we go to is fascinating and covers the Embera history, culture, how they live, style of dress and how they make their crafts and lasts about 30-40 minutes, longer if there are many questions from the visitors. The only complaint we ever hear on our tours is that nobody ever wants to leave the village at the end of the tour! :) I am happy you enjoyed your visit to the Embera village.

Sincerely,
Anne Gordon de Barrigon
Embera friend and family member
Owner, Embera Village Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the best tours we have ever taken! Our guide was very good. We were taken to their village on the Gaton River in a dugout canoe powered by two young Embera men. It turned out one of the men was the chief. While on the river we stopped and fed plantains to the monkeys. The Embera people are such gentle people and we're so welcoming to us. They live in thatch roof houses which are open to the air to reduce heat. The medicine man of the village showed us all the various plants they use for medicinal purposes which we found extremely interesting. For lunch we were served fresh caught Talapia fried in a wonderful batter with fried plantains and fresh pineapple - delicious!! The people danced their ceremonial dances for us and then drew us all in to dance with them. Their tame cockatoo landed on my arm and talked to me! We also got "tattoos" made from a vegetable dye which washed off after two weeks.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Olene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016

If you are in Panama and you can get to visit the Embera, give it a go - you'll have a blast.

Anne, our guide who is married to an Embera member from the village that you visit is a really informative. How much closer can you get to the ins and outs of customs and tribal ways than someone who is married to one? And because of this she does such a great job at answering all your questions.

The dug out canoe trip is fun in itself and as you turn the river corners you come up onto the tribe after about 20 minutes. They welcome you with drums and invite you into their village. You learn about how they make baskets and they cook you lunch. Then they put on a dancing show for you and offer you their wares.

It was an awesome experience and one I will never forget.

This tour is a must.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 88Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews