We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panama City in one great day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barefoot Panama

Barefoot Panama
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
Monkey Island and Indian Village Tour from Panama City
Ranked #2 of 153 Tours in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BarefootPanama is a top notch tour company offering the best in service, quality and value.
Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Panama City in one great day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The guide was fun and knowledgeable and the guide knew exactly when and where to be to use our time efficiently. I would highly recommend this tour and company!

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina081982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Timing is everything! Glad you had a great tour.. see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    87
    29
    11
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time with tour guides Kevin and Jeff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Barefoot Panama and its excursions were chosen by Manhattanmom (my cousin).

Our first day consisted of a tour of the Miraflores visitors' center and locks just outside Panama City. This was an amazing feat of engineering. There was a large lineup to buy tickets but Kevin (Obrien) prepurchased our tickets so we saved a lot of time. We then climbed Ancon Hill with a beautiful view of Casco Viejo and Panama City. Following that, we had lunch near Casco Viejo at a cute and very reasonably priced restaurant with great food (suggested by Kevin) on Isla Naos (I think) on the beautiful scenic Amador Causeway.

After lunch, we toured Casco Viejo, the old city, which is slowly being rejuvenated. Lots of culture and history. By late afternoon, we drove to the Gamboa Rainforest Resort at the Panama Canal, a beautiful area of Panama.

The following day, we were picked up by Jeff (Thompson) and driven to a boat that cruised the Panama Canal next to the large tour ships and ocean tankers. We felt how small we were. Our tour included Monkey Island which was a disappointment as we found only one well-fed monkey which didn't seem very interested in climbing down onto our boat for more food. However, finally he did. One piece of advice - try to be the first boat there that day to feed a famished monkey. He liked peanuts in the shell. We skipped lunch and went to an Indian (from Columbia) village which was a real treat. We were given a short lecture by the head of the village on how they build their houses, what they eat and what they use for medicinal purposes. This was a great experience.

The following day, Kevin booked us on a large boat, which included lunch and drinks, that descended the locks and dropped us off at the Amador Causeway. We took a taxi to Casco Viejo where we toured the old city in more detail.

Our second to last excursion was up in the mountains to El Valle de Anton which was a highlight. The weather was cooler and much less humid. Jeff suggested bicycling up to El Macho, a beautiful natural waterfall and trecking through the forest. Following this, we bicycled to La Pintada, a Pre-Colombian mysterious petroglyph. Lastly, we drove to Nispero Gardens and Zoo (Home of the rare “golden frog” and exotic birds). We arrived back in Panama City well into the evening and we really enjoyed this excursion with Jeff.

Our final excurson was a new year's eve boat ride on the Isla Morada from the Amador Causeway to the bay of Panama to see the new year's eve's fireworks. The boat was built in 1912 and had carried such famous people as Steve McQueen, John Wayne, Errol Flynn, James Garner as well as Al Capone who used the boat to smuggle alcohol during prohibition.

All in all, every excursion was very well organized and extremely punctual. Our hats off to Kevin and Jeff for a wonderful time in Panama.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank True B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks. we love what we do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Well organized and interest tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

When we made the decision to go to Panama, we started checking out various guides on trip advisor and happened to come across Barefoot Panama. I emailed them and within 24 hours, received a response from Kevin O'Brien. Between Kevin and the Frommer's guide to Panama, we put together a really nice 11 days in Panama. We arrived in Panama City on the 21st of December and based on Kevin's recommendation, spent the first night in Casco Viejo just to get a feel of the historic district of Panama. The next morning, we took a 7:00 AM flight to Boquete (Kevin made all the airline reservations for us) and spent two days there. He also arranged for our tours through Boquete Outdoor Adventures (an excellent company to work with). He arranged for our land transportation to Bocas Del Toro (we stayed there for two days) as well as our flight back to Panama City from Bocas Town. The next day, he picked us up early in the morning for a tour of Panama City. He delivers his tour in a very entertaining way and kept up our interest throughout the day. The only negative was that there were 11 of us in the van and we were the last ones to be picked up so we sat in the very back of the van where it was quite warm. After a couple of stops, we rotated so we then moved to the front where it was cooler.

In the late afternoon, he drove us to Gamboa where we spent two nights at the Gamboa Rainforest Reserve. Once in Gamboa, Jeff Thompson, one of his guides, took over. Jeff is a really nice guy who wanted to make sure that we all got the most out of our visit to the rainforest. We went bird watching early in the morning on our own at 6:30 and met up with Jeff at 9:30 after breakfast. We toured Lake Gatun with him and visited the Embera village which was the highlight of our afternoon. The next day, Kevin met us at 8:00 AM at our hotel so he could take our suitcases back to our hotel in Panama City while we all went on a partial transit tour of the Panama Canal (also arranged by Kevin). It was particularly nice of him to take our bags because he knew that after docking in Panama City, we wanted to go to the Canal Museum to see the Gauguin exhibit (I highly recommend it). This worked out great for us because we didn't have to carry our bags with us to the museum before heading back to the hotel. The following day, Jeff took over again and took us to El Valle de Anton where we spent a truly wonderful day in the highlands. If you are looking for some private tours that are well organized, you can't go wrong with Barefoot Panama.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks a lot for the reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for Panama tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My folks and I booked three tours with Barefoot Panama - 1) Panama City 2) Panama Canal transit 3) Monkey Island + Indian Village. All three were terrific. Kevin was our guide for the first and the third and we really enjoyed his explanations and honest take on life in Panama. For any tours you might be considering in Panama, look no further - Kevin is the man!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRoundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for the review! Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“San Blas Two Days with the Kuna Indians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I contacted Barefoot Travel by email to arrange a trip to the Kuna Yala area of Panama before leaving for Panama. Kevin was really responsive and quickly arranged the trip which included flight and accommodation.
Everything worked perfectly and the Lodge (Yandup) which he booked was fantastic.
Barefoot made this trip easy for me to do. Thanks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks
San Blas is great
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Panama also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Barefoot Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing