We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour - Would Recommend It!”
Review of Barefoot Panama

Barefoot Panama
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Panama City's Top Tour
Ranked #12 of 175 Tours in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BarefootPanama is a top notch tour company offering the best in service, quality and value.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family of four took the Monkey Island & Indian Village tour with Kevin last week and had a great day! Kevin is very informative and made the tour interesting - he is easy to talk to and we learned a lot about Panama, it's people, culture, and government. We enjoyed being out on Lake Gatun, visiting the Embera Village and trying to spot the wildlife on the in the areas around the lake. Kevin quickly responded to our questions/emails prior to booking the tour, as well as reconfirming the plans the evening before we were to meet. All in all, a lot of fun and a great way to spend a day during your visit to Panama City! I think whichever tour you choose to book with Barefoot Panama, you will be pleased!

1  Thank jpfnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

We are good, aren't "we"!
Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"indian village"
in 82 reviews
"city tour"
in 133 reviews
"caribbean adventure"
in 27 reviews
"el valle"
in 68 reviews
"zip lining"
in 51 reviews
"kevin o'brien"
in 21 reviews
"historic train"
in 20 reviews
"great tour"
in 68 reviews
"santa catalina"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 63 reviews
"food tour"
in 13 reviews
"walking tour of casco viejo"
in 14 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 33 reviews
"tour company"
in 39 reviews
"miraflores locks"
in 64 reviews
"lake gatun"
in 35 reviews
"old town"
in 51 reviews
Filter

950 - 954 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked our tour of Panama City and the Panama Canal through the website directly and got an immediate confirmation from Kevin. The booking process was easy and quick.

Once all was confirmed, we received a reminder of our trip along with the pick up time at our hotel.

Kevin met us at our hotel at the specified time and the tour began on time.

There were only 6 people in our tour group, so the tour felt like it was a private tour which we really like.

Kevin the tour guide is an unconventional guide. He is honest, forthright and outgoing who shares his personal experiences and offers insight as to each location on the tour.

He knew the best places to travel at the appropriate times-i.e it was raining in the morning so he though it best to go to the Miraflores Locks which are under cover and has an indoor museum and movie theatre. Also by going to the canal first, we beat all of the crowds and got front row seats to see the ship passing through the canal.

Kevin new the best place to go for lunch that was in a great relaxing location, was very reasonably prices and offered great seafood options.

The afternoon was spent visiting Casco Viejo that Kevin knew inside and out. Since he is a local who lives in the area, he knew all of the best places to visit and offered insight as to the history of the old city and told us great historic details as well as offered some amusing personal stories.

The price of the tour is a great bargain for all that you get and I would highly recommend booking Barefoot Panama Tours the next time you are going to Panama!

1  Thank dfc9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Awesome! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is an EXCELLENT tour company! We had taken a couple of other tours through our hotel and were very underwhelmed. I found this company and booked a day tour to go snorkeling and they were fabulous. The guides are American, so they speak english (which was a huge problem on our other tours). The responded quickly to our request to for booking, the tour was very well planned and our guide had an answer for every question I had. I wish we had taken one of their week long tours across Panama because I think we would have had a much better trip.

Thank REKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

I hope you stay longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

On our recent return home to Chicago from Brazil, we had the opportunity to spend a 12 hour layover during the day in Panama City (vs. a 9hr overnight one in Miami). We had always wanted to see the locks and Panama City in general, so we chose this option and were well rewarded with our full-day tour by Kevin at Barefoot. He picked us up at the airport and arrived early (we had arrived really early!) and took us on a wonderful tour of the city and the old American base . We stopped for a nice breakfast and then proceeded to the locks where he paid for us and then let us explore on our own for about an hour and a half, while he watched the backpacks and all our carryon stuff! Then we headed out to a nature/ wildlife area that was on the water, where we then stopped for a really terrific lunch with view of the skyline. Afterwards, we went to see what I would call old Panama City and a stroll around the waterfront there, before he dropped us off at our gate at the airport for the last leg of our return journey home. Great Day!!! Kevin was prompt, super knowledgeable about Panama City, the building boom there, the politics, the history, tourism and traveling in Central America. His choices for breakfast, lunch, and ice cream snack were terrific and in different, interesting areas of the city. On top of everything else, he was lots of fun. What a great way to spend a layover - all four in our party really enjoyed the day and as we recount our trip to Argentina/Brazil, Panama City is a highlight! Thanks Kevin!

Thank Debora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

That was a really nice review. Thank you. Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had an excellent time on the Indain Village & Monkey Island tour with our guide from Barefoot Panama. We arranged the trip on short notice, and Kevin was very accommodating with the schedule. Guide was prompt, knowledgeable, and took care of everything. Wish we'd had the time to check out some of the other tours (kayaking or multidays), but oh well. Always next time!

2  Thank peezd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks! we hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Panama also viewed

 

Been to Barefoot Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing