We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No running water, working toilet, or owner present!”

Panama Hostel by Luis
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panama Hostel by Luis
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No running water, working toilet, or owner present!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived in Panama City and needed to spend one night before traveling to the San Blas islands the next day. We told the owner we would be arriving at 11pm, and because of minor flight delays we ended up arriving at 11:30pm (and we didn't carry a cell phone). The owner left. He also took with him the keys to the private room we had reserved. Luckily I speak Spanish and could negotiate with some other residents for us to stay in the 8 bunk bed room for the same price.

The room was TERRIBLE. I have traveled and stayed in many hostels, but all of them were way better that this place. There was no running water in this building, and the toilets didn't work. You could go outside to the hose for water. Also, the top bunk that we were given was directly below an A/C unit that blew freezing cold air on our feet the entire night. I was shivering. Especially since there was only an itchy thin sheet to cover us.

Summary: HORRIBLE. DON'T GO HERE.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
1
23
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jinotega, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Panama by Luis had nice and helpful staff, but reception was left unattended quite frequently as the place was very busy and somewhat understaffed, so you ended up waiting around a lot. The reception/common area was nice though with books, sofa, large TV, wifi, 1 computer, air con etc. You can also leave bags there after checkout.

Dorm rooms reasonable price at $13, though there are no large lockers for rucksacks and the tiny ones they offered for valuables were mostly broken. We had to go to the supermarket and buy our own padlock to be able to use a tiny locker in reception just for our phones and passports. Not impressed.

The private room was much nicer though also somewhat pricey at $42 (with shared bathroom). My overall impresson was that there were not enough toilets and showers for all. The 1 downstairs toilet being in a room with the shower meant long waiting times to use the loo! Which I would estimate was for 8 - 10 people.

The best thing perhaps was that the area was very safe to walk around at night and the hostel is close to a large 24 hour supermarket. Buses pass towards the city centre frequently and it is easy to get to the centre (10mins roughly). It is also convenient for the airport as it is close to the motorway at the entrance to the city. They can also arrange tours to the San Blas islands which is recommended.

Overall a decent, basic but underwhelming place to stay. Have been in many nicer and cosier hostels in Nicaragua!!

Room Tip: If you are a couple and have to opt for the dorms, there is a dorm with a little side room with 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La Bastilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2012

They lost our booking to san blas, all the prices They mentioned were wrong. They strike up 30 dollars for that services. THE room was ok, except THE aircon, it sounded like à airplane taking of.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robedop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you're on a tight budget. The staff here are very helpful, kind and welcoming. This hostel is in a very safe part of the city and is wijon walking distance of a laundrymat and a 24 hour supermarket. I stayed in the dorm rooms with other travelers, so the room got messy from time to time. This definitely isn't the Hilton, but it is a great value for your money and an overall wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darias82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Good price, a/c in the rooms, bathroom was okay..could have been a little cleaner, but i've seen worse. it was nice to be able to leave our bags in the common area after check out. lockers were a bonus. the area is safe, and close to a grocery store. no complaints, a basic place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree87_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Panama by Luis offer decent rooms and breakfast (two pancakes and coffee) and is located just 5-10 minutes from downtown in a safe area. But, as many places in Panama, it's not cheap comparing to what you get.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxosammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medellin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Different with party hostal were only western backpacker go. There, backpackers go, but they are differents, ready to share panamenian moment with Luis and his friendly staff os Omar and the others. It is not a big hostel, no big kichen etc.. but we just feel at home, no stress, safe district not in the down town but just 25cents by bus and 20min to go there and the best : good people. But the best part of the city sometime is when we come back in the luis home, with good people, barbecue, vino or ron and sharing moment with the venezuelian, panamanian or colombian people and the western backpacker we are too. At the end, it's a pain to go because it was so friendly and so good moment sharing with the staff who are more like host and friends you visit for holidays. If you are ready to go out of the beaten track (I mean out of the big backpacker hostel) choose this hostel you will always meet good people: It is like a house and you will have fun

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alescJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Panama
Sheraton Grand Panama
#47 of 114 in Panama City
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Panama
Aloft Panama
#33 of 114 in Panama City
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.9 mi away
Posada Casa Real
Posada Casa Real
#30 of 78 in Panama City
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Dreams San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Hostel by Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Hostel by Luis

Property: Panama Hostel by Luis
Address: Coco del Mar, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Panama Hostel by Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hostel By Luis Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing