We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and Loud” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santana
Ranked #55 of 85 Panama City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple and Loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel was more like a hostel. It was very stark inside. The room was $40USD/night. Check out is at 12pm but you can pay an extra $10USD and check out at 8pm. The front desk doesn't speak a lot of English. You can sign up for tours but beware of the poor English translations. We signed up for a tour to San Blas. I recommend the tour (and stay on Tony's island) but know that it's not a one day tour. The lady told us it was a one day tour. The jeep picks you up promptly which is nice. The place was very loud. We stayed right next to the bar so didn't get good sleep at all. The music was very loud and I could hear everything happening in the halls. The room is simple with a bed, some sheets and that's it. Don't forget to ask for towels because they are not in there initially. Overall, it was OK. The area is extremely dangerous. The cabs don't even like the area. Make sure all money is put away before leaving, especially at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel04marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    9
    8
    16
See reviews for
8
28
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Make sure you find a hotel inside in the city. They are MUCH nicer and safer. We chose Hotel Santana due to it's location. We thought it would be nice to stay close to the Casco Veijo....a more historic community. We were wrong! The first night, we arrived about 10:30 at night. So it hard to see the surrounding area. But the prostitutes and shady activites were very obvious. We were told not to leave the hotal after it got dark. There are no places within walking distance to eat or shop. But a taxi ride from the airport was very reasonable. It cost $30 for 2 people. We arrived at the hotel and went in. The lobby and front area are very plain, but very clean. The hotal staff wasn't very friendly. They were young and more interested in playing! We finally got a room on the second floor. There are no elevators. You have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs. (The hotel has 2 floors.) The room was VERY SMALL. There were 2 beds in the shape of an "L". There wasn't any other room left. And being a girl, I travel with a lot of stuff! I had to use the second bed as storage. The AC in the room worked, but wasn't great. The tv did not work when I first turned it on. It finally started working after about 30 minutes. But no cable. We got 4 stations- all in Spanish. There were spots on the TV to plug in a DVD player. So I highly suggest (no matter where you stay) to bring a DVD player and movies. I got my bathroom items out and went in the bathroom. It's tiny, with no storage. I had to pile all the stuff up in the floor. The shower is small and not wheel chair friendly. But the water pressure is awesome! There isn't a shelf to sit soap or shampoo on. You have to use the floor or back of the toilet. I opted for the toilet! There are also no towells provided. Everything was very basic and minimal. When it was time to go to bed....it was impossible. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything that is going on. The hotel staff sat up front playing and goofing around all night. It sounded like they were in the room with you. You couldn't sleep thru it. Then, the next morning you could hear nonstop traffic and cars honking. We got up a 6 to leave for a tour. We walked outside the hotel and waited for a driver to pick us up. It was very awkward. We didn't want to move from the front door. The area is horrible and in really bad condition. The people stare at you and make cat calls. We packed our bags, and moved to the Marriott! So we suggest that you definitely stay inside the Panama City area. It's safer, lots more food choices, and top ammenitites. The plus side to Hotel Santana was the free wi-fi and it was very clean. Other than that, we were not happy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Staci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Some friends of mine booked a package on line and ended up in the Hotel Santana. It was very difficult for me to find, and when i called them for help the person at the desk was not at all helpful. But worst of all was the neighborhood. THis hotel is in one of the absolute worst, most dangerous, dirtiest neighborhoods in Panama City.

Room Tip: pick a room in another hotel in another neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxMapache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutlingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

As others have mentioned before this "Hotel" is more like a Hostel. Therefore you have quite a lot of noise, even in the evening when they play loud music in the lobby. The rooms are very basic and a bit dirty. I had a bag of chips under my bed and a lot of hair on my sheets. The area around this hostel is supposed to be the most dangerous part of town, not even taxi drivers or food deliveries want to drive there. I had several taxi drivers deny driving me there. In addition some of the staff is quite rude and has no idea what service means. Indeed this is a very cheap place, but there are many reasons for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

this place is really more like a hostel, not a hotel. The music was loud in the hotel, and there is lots of noise. The room was very basic with nothing included, just a bed with a sheet. the area is very bad around the hotel,very dangerous according to several locals. i did not feel safe outside the hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for eight days in August of 2010. It was clean, quiet, and the staff was very friendly. Some people here on this site say that the neighborhood is bad, but I walked all over at night and had no problems nor did I feel like I was in danger.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sepahunt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here on our last night before taking a flight back home the next morning. Hotel is a few blocks North of the Casco Viejo neighborhood, just outside of the areas heavily patrolled by police.

Pros: Friendly hotel staff, clean rooms, close(ish) to Casco Viejo

Cons: Noisy (from guests in the common areas), shady neighborhood (every cab we took mentioned that we should be staying here), everyone (including hotel staff) recommended not going out past 9pm.

Would not recommend for anyone not completely comfortable with walking around in shady areas (unless you plan on spending your time in the hotel).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.3 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#46 of 116 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#61 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#31 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Nuratti
Hotel Casa Nuratti
#80 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Calle C | Santa Ana, Panama City 4424, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santana 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel; clean and trendy, 24 hour reception and security, great service for only 29.00$ a night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santana Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing